12/9 Pimp AMPS 291; +3 249; +6 263; PMPS 391; +3 300

Status
Not open for further replies.
Pimp, you need to follow the example they set for you buddy.
Oh heck no Pimp, don't do what Ivana did yesterday! Not unless you want your bean to get more instant grey hairs anyway. She had a great surf, just a bit too low for comfort. I was also watching The Smokey Show in-between Ivana's tests - pretty sure those two collaborated their shenanigans in order to keep the other kitties & beans attention on them. Scoundrels :eek:

Now Pimp, those yellows are nice, but blues are even nicer - why don't you do a nice gentle slide down for your bean, it will be appreciated I'm sure :)
 
This is the sixth cycle without a blue or green number. Dosecrease on the table for tomorrow AM.
ETA: I know he could still be bouncing from the last double digit.
 
Last edited:
Pimp is eating 90% (or more) wet food now. He only eats the young again if no one is there to put wet in his bowl. I'm home 75% of the time now, so we're going to a more aggressive method. Obviously I'm not following SLGS anymore or he would have gotten a reduction from the 70's last Thursday.
I'm thinking TR with .1-.15u dose changes and reductions at 60. Someone tell me this is a bad idea?

ETA: I don't feel the need to necessarily run him in "normal" (50-120) numbers all the time, so I won't do the thing where you increase if not spending the majority of their time there...but it would be nice to keep him in the green and blue.
 
Last edited:
I'm doing the same with Doodles. He failed so many reductions that we are almost back to where we started. I'm taking reductions at 50 now. He'll get a little YA if needed (he won't eat, IBD flare) otherwise that's it and I'm home 90% of the time to watch him. Others may feel different but wish you luck with what ever you choose to do:D
 
@Vyktors Mum
I consider you one of my mentors here, what do you think of my slightly less aggressive TR? I don't think I should go full out because of the dry food.
 
I feel like I'm in between tr and slgs, I test a lot (or rather did, it's gotten crazy in my world right now) but Snick gets a crunchy treat for test and shot.

Come on, Pimp.... Down to the blues and greens.
 
If he's still eating dry food, your only choice for a dosing method is Start Low Go Slow. Tight Reg requires all canned low carb or raw food. I'd discourage you from trying to modify things - insulin is a powerful hormone and each of those methods has safety protections built into it.

I always like to look back at the guidelines when i'm trying to figure out dosing. The SLGS sticky says:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours
Note
: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.

  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
  • As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but do decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change). Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.
Lather, Rinse, and Repeat!
It looks like his bounces are lasting 3 days - and today would be 3 days since his last green. I'd watch tonight and see what he gets to when he clears this bounce and use that nadir to decide what to do with the dose. I suspect you're going to be holding the 0.25u that you are currently giving him.

If you can get rid of the dry 100% then you could follow Tight Reg. If your goal is remission, following Tight Reg's guidelines - which would let you increase the current dose right now - would give Pimp a better chance at becoming diet-controlled. No way to know if that can happen, but he's got good blood sugar control on a tiny dose.
 
@julie & punkin (ga) I understand where you're coming from, but if we were strictly following SLGS he would be off insulin. I can't be reducing at all right now and I know this dose takes him under 90. I'm fine with that.
Really, really hoping these high numbers clear out tonight. I have woken up to beautiful preshots a few times now.
 
Can you get rid of the dry food? It sounds like he's not especially attached to it - and anything dry food can do, canned can do better. I think that solution would give you what you want.
 
I tried. Hustler won't eat the canned.
Pimp doesn't like the dry food, but I know he'll eat it if his BG gets low (or high!) It really doesn't seem to have much effect on his numbers. I've heard of one or two kitties going otj on young again, but some others it spikes like mad.
 
It's a tricky situation when you've got more than one cat, especially when one is a dry food addict. Have you seen the suggestions on www.catinfo.org for transitioning dry food addicts to canned? It's not a quick process if the cat is hard core! It's most important to keep them eating, of course, so if Hustler (hahaha on the Hustler and Pimp names) won't eat canned, and you can't transition him, then it has to be dry.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top