12/9 Shasta AMPS=243 PMPS=281 +2.5=246 +4.5=244 +5.75=254

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deborah & Shasta

Very Active Member
12/8 Shasta

WCR: Most/some Ps in place. Appy is still an issue, but so much better when I hold her bowl for her. I'd do it all day long if I thought it would help. I know she's hungry because she's super obnoxious when it comes time for breffis and dinner, but then I put food in front of her and she literally sniffs it and either walks away or sits down and looks from her bowl to me and back to her bowl. Last night, she kept me awake for several hours while I was supposed to be sleeping. She just kept bugging me and bugging me and trying to crawl over me to chew on my iPhone Otter Box...that's her way of getting my attention when she wants food. She had food. It was horrible because I was getting so irritated and then I would get mad at myself for being irritated at my little, old lady. UGH!

@Amy&TrixieCat - I have not attempted syringe feeding. I guess it's about time I get a large syringe or two. Just when I think she's not really eating, she'll usually eat when I hold her bowl for her. :rolleyes:

@Anne & Zener GA (Liz) - Since about mid-October, she's been getting 8mg Cerenia (1/2 of a 16mg tablet); 1mg Cypro (1/4 of a 4mg tablet); 1mg - 2mg Ondansetron (1/4-1/2 of a 4mg tablet)...just recently upped it to 1/2 tablet. All given once a day in the morning.

Unrelated: Yesterday, my mom took sister's girl cat to vet for a continued mouth inflammation. The vet gave her Convenia. My sister got super upset with herself because while she has it written in her binder with the cat's info, she forgot to have it put into the vet's notes NOT to give Convenia. The vet's reasoning was that he wanted to give her an antibiotic that wouldn't cause her diarrhea and he knows how uncooperative she is with meds. Sister is keeping her fingers crossed that there are no complications. :(

Sending healthy vines to all our sugar kitties and their hoomins! Blessings!

~Deborah & Shasta


AMPS=243 (5% FF Chunky Chicken 1oz; Friskies Tuna & Chicken Pate; 18% FF Sliced Turkey)
+1=322
+2=235 (3% FF T&G 1oz, 13% FF Grilled Chicken in Gravy)

PMPS=281 (5% FF 1oz)
+2.5=246
+4.5=244
+5.75=254 (3% FF T&G 1oz)

Poo Pee tally
Pee piles - 4
Poo piles - 1 (am- long, stinky & multi-colored)
 
Last edited:
I'm sorry Shasta's appy is still off and she kept you awake last night. I hope it gets better soon.

Hopefully your sister's cat will be okay with the convenia. Several of my cats had it before I joined this board and none of them ever had a problem with it.

Sending prayers.
 
You probably know that I have to "plate hold" for Trixie these days, too. She'll eat a small amount without me doing that, but not nearly enough. It's very time-consuming and I have to plan a lot of things around it, but it does make a huge difference in how many calories she takes in. I do it several times in the morning before work, and pretty much all evening long until about 11:30. Ideally, she does best if I spread it out every 2.5 hours or so, but there are times (like work mornings) when I don't have the time to spread the feeding out so much. My GA civvie, Mario, had gotten the same way, too....it must be something in the way the senior kitty brain is wired.

Have a great day, Deborah! And eat up, Shasta!
 
I'm sorry Shasta's appy is still off and she kept you awake last night. I hope it gets better soon.

Hopefully your sister's cat will be okay with the convenia. Several of my cats had it before I joined this board and none of them ever had a problem with it.

Sending prayers.
 
Just for comparison, we gave ondansetron (1 mg) and cypro (started tiny, then increased to about 1 mg) twice a day, just before the AM and PM shot, so Zener would eat then. We gave cerenia (4 mg) 3 times per week. We upped that to 4 times per week later. He weighed about 11 or 12 lbs.

I hope Shasta is feeling better.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top