15 Feb: Teasel (AT) : AM 133 | Fed 214 - 3 u | +1 274 | +2 229 | +4 151 +6 124 | +8 189 | PM 247

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris & Teasel

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/14-feb-teasel-am-322-2-288-5-5-344-pm-423.173135/

Teasel surprised me with a blue AMPS of 133 after a red PMPS last night. This is not an unusual thing for Teasel if you look at his SS data with ProZinc. I guess his bounce cleared last night - on a night when a migraine claimed me so it was early to bed and no overnight alarms.

I opted to feed him because there likely would have been a long stall to get him high enough to shoot. If you experienced people see this soon and suggest giving a lower dose late I can work with that and adjust the schedule backward in 15 minute increments over the next few cycles.

I don't know yet how to work with the depot in these circumstances. Does this low mean that a dose decrease is in order and if so, how much? I do know that a no shot means I start the TR cycle count over again.
 
With TR you will work your way to shooting anything over 50. Teasel doesn't earn a reduction until he goes under 50. If you are home today, with plenty of strips, HC food and can monitor shoot the 3 units. You'll want to get a +1 & +2.

ETA: Reductions are earned when he goes under 68 and you would work your way shooting anything over 68 because of the AT Meter. Please disregard the reference to 50 above which is for a human meter and what was used in the protocol.
 
With TR you will work your way to shooting anything over 50. Teasel doesn't earn a reduction until he goes under 50. If you are home today, with plenty of strips, HC food and can monitor shoot the 3 units. You'll want to get a +1 & +2.

ETA: Reductions are earned when he goes under 68 and you would work your way shooting anything over 68 because of the AT Meter. Please disregard the reference to 50 above which is for a human meter and what was used in the protocol.
Thanks, Karen. As you saw, I fed him. I have all the supplies on hand so I'll go test him again right now and give him 3 u. Will test at +1 and +2.

I feel like a total newbie again. :confused:
 
Looks like he was on his way up. Getting the +1 and +2 will give an idea of where his cycle is going today :) I expect a bounce since he came down from the 400's. Does he have food at night? Just curious on you feeding schedule.
 
Looks like he was on his way up. Getting the +1 and +2 will give an idea of where his cycle is going today :) I expect a bounce since he came down from the 400's. Does he have food at night? Just curious on you feeding schedule.
He's fed a snack at my usual bedtime which is +3 relative to PM shot. I have three cats who are fed different food in separate rooms on a schedule: AM breakfast/small lunch/PM dinner and, for Teasel, bedtime snack. Teasel's sister needs a hypoallergenic diet so I can't do free feeding or use a timed feeder that she can get into.
 
I'm Doodles auto-feeder so understand that. Even with him high last night getting the +3 before bed is helpful. If he showed a decent drop I might have set an alarm overnight for another check and a snack to slow the drop. On a night with a migraine though, that may not have happened. o_O
 
I'm Doodles auto-feeder so understand that. Even with him high last night getting the +3 before bed is helpful. If he showed a decent drop I might have set an alarm overnight for another check and a snack to slow the drop. On a night with a migraine though, that may not have happened. o_O
Yes, I think the +3 snack is a good idea and I might have to try a +6 (or so) snack. A migraine puts all that on hold though. :blackeye: I'm not sure I could adopt this middle of the night snack as a routine though. My very poor balance makes stumbling around in a barely awake state risky. Have to put on my problem solving hat ...
 
Hey Kris, looks like Teasel was breaking a bounce with his blue start today and could be going into another one but a +2 will be helpful. Another good test for you to get would be a +11 if you are awake 1 hour before T/F/S. It will help you to know if the AM number is rising or still falling and help you to know if you should shoot.

The depot for the 3 units should be full by now so hoping you see some action from this dose.

ETA: hope your headache is gone.
 
Hey Kris, looks like Teasel was breaking a bounce with his blue start today and could be going into another one but a +2 will be helpful. Another good test for you to get would be a +11 if you are awake 1 hour before T/F/S. It will help you to know if the AM number is rising or still falling and help you to know if you should shoot.

The depot for the 3 units should be full by now so hoping you see some action from this dose.

ETA: hope your headache is gone.
Thanks, Bobbie! Yes, I can try for an AM +11. I'll have to ward off the attack of three very hungry cats to do it.

My migraines are very much controlled by atmospheric pressure changes and there have been a lot of ups and downs lately with snow storms, etc.
 
Good morning , Kris :)....praying the migraine stays gone ....those things are devilish:mad:....enjoy ur snowy day with ur fur babies :bighug:. I'm going to try to catch up on SS posting now that DM has gotten her first cortisone injection and is feeling good :):):bighug:
 
His BG is down. I debated giving a snack but I'd still like to collect some data about what happens without a food intervention as a sort of baseline. Then I can better assess the effect of feeding to steer when I do that.
 
collect some data about what happens without a food intervention
I really try to stick to my feeding schedule as well so I know what Doodles will likely do on a dose. Unless of course he's pulling a Doodle day and has to be steered. I like that +2 Teasel....head on down to the beach!
 
I see blue! Good job Teasel. Kris, when you get a +11 and you have hungry cat eyes on you, if you have any freeze dried treats ( no carbs) you could give a few of them to help satisfy them till AMPS. Maybe, that will keep them from stalking you for an hour.
 
animated-love-it-sign-image-0023.gif
Way to go Teasel!
 
I see blue! Good job Teasel. Kris, when you get a +11 and you have hungry cat eyes on you, if you have any freeze dried treats ( no carbs) you could give a few of them to help satisfy them till AMPS. Maybe, that will keep them from stalking you for an hour.
I have lots of freeze dried meat treats. It's Teasel's sister that makes it complicated because I can't deviate from her hypoallergenic diet. I'll figure something out ...
 
I just wanted to mention something. Since you are using an AT meter that 133 this morning might have been green if it was a human meter. Normal numbers on AT are believed to be 68-140.

Anytime you're asking for dosing etc. it's good to mention AT again because as you seen my earlier post...it's easily over looked. Also remember, the protocol was written using a human meter so if you feel like saving money and using the AT as a back up meter just make it clear on the SS. ;)

Nice +4 there Teasel.
 
I just wanted to mention something. Since you are using an AT meter that 133 this morning might have been green if it was a human meter. Normal numbers on AT are believed to be 68-140.

Anytime you're asking for dosing etc. it's good to mention AT again because as you seen my earlier post...it's easily over looked. Also remember, the protocol was written using a human meter so if you feel like saving money and using the AT as a back up meter just make it clear on the SS. ;)

Nice +4 there Teasel.
Thanks, Karen. I've added a notation about the AT meter in my thread title and will do that as long as I'm using that meter. :)
 
added a notation about the AT meter in my thread title and will do that as long as I'm using that meter
I wanted to respond quickly this morning and it was my own fault for not "slowing" it down for a minute so my mistake. Good idea though to add "AT" in the title. That's what I did when we were using it.

Looking good Teasel!
 
I would hold this dose for another day or two (8-10 cycles). If you don't see green or lower blues then there might be room for an increase.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top