? 157 pmps. No shot.!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Clark, Jun 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Charlie is 157 pmps. Even waiting 25 min. She needs to be above 200. Even then only a .25 im going to be safe and hold off.
     
  2. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    If she doesn't get to 200, skip tonight. If she's back over 200 tomorrow morning, just give 0.25U. :)
     
  3. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Yah. Sounds good.
     
  4. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I see from your SS notes that she was at 200 after eating last night so you decided to give her 0.25 u. Am I correct about that? How much later was her insulin shot because of this? It would be a good idea to add how long this delay was to your SS notes.
     
  5. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Wondering if you did get a before bed test after giving a dose on a food influenced number. Will check SS later :)
     
  6. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    185. Fed her in going to check again in 30. She at 1/2 can of ff. My pretty sure it will be high enough to give .25. seems like it really depends on her eating. Its like walking tightrope. But has to be done. .25 would be lowest I have given in morning. Unless all that food spikes back into mid 200's then I'll go with .5 and as always get +3+4 make sure not going to low.
     
  7. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Don't dose on a food influenced number, stick with the 0.25U :)
     
  8. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Ohhh. Ok. Thanks very much.
     
  9. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I agree. The dose decision has to be made according to the non-food influenced PS. Try 0.25 u.
     
  10. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    And.. only 194. After 30. Min.
     
  11. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    .25 or hold off and check to see how she died on her own.
     
  12. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Try to get her to eat a little more and stick with 0.25U. Check BG at +2
     
  13. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    171. Droped. No shot.
     
  14. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Ok so she is No Shot for today. Think you can get a +3 and +8 to see how she's doing on her own? :cat:
     
  15. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
  16. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    +3 169
     
  17. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Looking really good today considering a no shot this AM. She might well need a tiny dose to ease her well into remission. We can help with that. There are photos on FDMB of tiny doses in a syringe. :)
     
  18. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Tried to find it what is it under?
     
  19. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Try looking under "microdosing".
     
  20. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    I found a vet they have u- 40 divided into quarters. I could get it down to .125. I had taken me two days to find a vet they would order them in. Just want to help pancreas along. It all happened so fast.
     
  21. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    I have to use the u 100 and convert to microdose.
     
  22. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    That can work. The half unit mark on a U100 is equal to 0.2 u of Caninsulin. You could then eyeball 0.1 u.
     
  23. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Picked up u 100. The needle are shorter and smaller gauge 31. Guess that's the way it is when ur micro
     
  24. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Do these have half unit marks on them? They allow 0.2 u fractions.
     
  25. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Yes.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  26. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    +8 146.
     
  27. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Not bad for a NS today :)
     
  28. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    She is 169. Wait again 25 then check. What about micro dose?
     
  29. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    .10? Would be nice to get n some greens.
     
  30. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    You could try it. Get a +3 afterward.
     
  31. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Yah for sure. This morning she dropped after I fed her. I don't really want to dose if she comes down on her own.
     
  32. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    I wounder when there is no food for the pancreas to act on. It slows down to heal. Then when food comes in it starts breaking things down. Idk. Just a thought.
     
  33. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    People on here say that if BG drops after feeding it's a sign that the pancreas is working at least partially. There haven't been any green numbers since the 0.5 u dose. You could try 0.1 u but no shot is always an option if you're not comfortable with that.
     
  34. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    , she is at 200 now. I'll do the .1
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  35. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    The yellow last night night be from no shot in the AM and then only a tiny dose last night.
     
  36. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    She is 340 this morning. .5? Not sure what happened
     
  37. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Could still be a reaction to no shot/tiny dose yesterday. Yes, try the 0.5 u and monitor. If she hasn't dropped a lot at +2 you don't have to test hourly. Every two hours will give good info.
     
  38. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, she's bouncing today. No need for more tests. Keep the 0.5 u dose tonight, PMPS permitting.
     
  39. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Ok. Thanks.
     
  40. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    272. It came down. Even though it's spouse to be going the other way from the +6. Seems like bouncing.
     
  41. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    It's possible that the bounce is clearing already. You could give 0.5 u on a PS like this. You did that on June 25 AM when you had a similar PS.
     
  42. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    She dropped fast. Then ate around 11 last night then was back. Up. This morning .5 I think. confusing #'s. I read about the pancreas sputtering. Works then does not. Could the insulin be throwing off the pancreas. Lows and highs.
     
  43. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    She does not appear to spend much time on the trampoline :). She also likes the number 313 :p. You could draw up 0.5U and squirt out a drop, note it on SS as s0.5
     
  44. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    This tells me that her bounces don't last long and she's back to responding to the insulin. Those were nice numbers last night, even though she dropped early and fast. That can be a characteristic of Caninsulin's action. Yes, try 0.5 u this AM.

    She and you are doing well. It's still a case of accumulating data to learn how she responds in a variety of situations.
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  45. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    126 +5. on the 23rd she hadn't eaten as much. Might have been the low #'s the. See what her +6 and +8. How slow or quick she comes up.
     
  46. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Good so far.
     
  47. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Looks nice with all those blues :cool:
     
  48. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Yah. She is not as hungry and as hyper. She was high yesterday. I realized the last two nights I've been feeding her at night sometimes. She wakes me up. She is usually high when that happens. Going to giver asnack at 11 pm. Then wait till breakfast to feed again.
    I might have kept her #s higher buy feeding her. Do u feed at? night?
     
  49. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    My guy gets a bedtime snack but no food overnight.
     
  50. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    I'll keep her feeding the same even if she goes high.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  51. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Same here, Maury gets a snack that I call his Lunch between +3 and +5 , but he typically does not have food overnight :)
     
  52. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    182. Here I am again. On the edge. Wait 25 min. Check. And reduce to .25 if below no shot?
     
  53. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Did you feed already? When doing the Stalling technique you are supposed to NOT feed, wait 20-25 minutes, then retest to see if number is rising on it's own. What did you do 24 June PM cycle when she was at similar number?
     
  54. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Yes i did feed. I thought it was feed. See if It. comes up. But I never raised dose always lower if I did give a shot. I have it in.my notes I feed. Then if it came up I lowered the dose

    Ok so don't feed. Then test again.
     
  55. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    She is 207. After eating. Last time I reduced the dose to .25. or do u suggest. No shot?
     
  56. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    I think I have stalled. But she never came up. So I fed her. It came Then reduced dose. Idk.
     
  57. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    I would probably go with no shot unless you are confident in doing that 0.1U dose and get another test at +2 and no later than +3. Depending on that number you can get some sleep or know if you need another test.
     
  58. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    Not bad last night, just a mild yellow bounce but we're pretty sure she clears them decently quick ;)
     
  59. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, it can get a little anxiety-provoking when you have a low-ish PS. This is the sequence if/when it happens again - ie., you get a borderline PS that's not too far from the 200 guideline:
    1. Stall 20 minutes without feeding to see if BG will come up without food
    2. Retest.
    3. If at or over 200, shoot a slightly lower dose - how much lower is an educated guess based on SS data.
    4. If under 200, wait another 20 minutes without feeding.
    5. Retest.
    6. Repeat until you've stalled up to an hour if necessary.
    7. If BG doesn't get to 200, either opt for no shot or a very tiny dose if BG isn't too far from 200.
    A lot of what you do will be based on the BG patterns/history on your SS.
     
    Yong & Maury GA likes this.
  60. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    The numbers seem consistent. So far. If the remain the same in thinking no shot. If it drops her to low possible bounce? If there above 200. Small .1. I don't know much but it's seems like her pancreas is working more consistently.
     
  61. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    There's definitely something good going on. :) It would be good to try to get her into dark green numbers because that's where healing of the pancreas can get more momentum. It means lowering your "no shot" number below 200. You gave 0.10 u on a PS of 169 on the evening of June 26 so you could have tried that again this morning. On You're starting to accumulate enough data that your SS is becoming a useful reference for deciding on dose.

    Note: if you decide to stall and wait for the PS to come up before shooting, make sure you enter the final BG after stalling as the PS on your SS, not the low number that made you stall.
     
  62. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Ok. Thanks .1 iif she is in high 100's isn't going to send her into hypo I wouldnt think.
     
  63. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    160. Im not going to stall. I never had much success with it. .10 ?
     
  64. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    I think if you get an AMPS over 200, you shouldn't give more than 0.25U. The 0.5U dose has shown to be a little too much but I don't think her pancreas is 100% ready to go full-time.
     
  65. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    160 pmps. .10?
     
  66. Yong & Maury GA

    Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2017
    For tonight you can try the 0.1U again. Apologies, previous post was supposed to say for tomorrow morning ;)
     
  67. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Yah I went with .10
     
  68. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I like those greens but I think they were entered on the wrong date on your SS. Yesterday was June 29 and they're in the June 28 row. Good call to give only 0.1 u.
     
  69. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I see that you fixed your SS. If today's AMPS is similar to last night's PS, try 0.1 u again.
     
  70. Clark

    Clark Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    148. Im.going to hold off. On shot.
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  71. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Yes, do the stall/retest thing I outlined above. I'm leaving now but others will be around.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page