16/12 George george 38@+2.25; 56@2.5; 78@3.5; 78@3.75

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Gill & George, Dec 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Yesterdays Post

    Morning all, :coffee::coffee:

    amps 346 he is hungry and grumpy this morning, no drooling.

    Brought shot forward 15min, want to get back to pre stall schedule, had thought I could try for 30min this morning but it took me about that long to get his test done, he was hungry and agitated, so lots of tail swishing ear flicking shenanigans going on.

    Seems like it'll be a quiet day on the George front today, after yesterdays beautiful run of green and blue he has bounced halfway to the moon this morning had hoped he'd not bounce quite so high, but hey ho, seems like his panicky liver had other ideas.

    Time for me to put my patience pants on and get on with some Christmas shopping (bounces have their uses), and a bit of a rest for his ears.

    Wishing everyone pretty numbers and safe surfing

    Gill
     
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yup, bounces are opportunities for a pokie break and getting other things done. Happy shopping.
     
  3. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    LOL love that

    It's not a bounce:

    'Its a pokie break opportunity'
     
    sarahtee likes this.
  4. sarahtee

    sarahtee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    I'll have to remember that one :)
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  5. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Sheba still bounces a lot and that is when I do my shopping and socialising....and if it is at night..get a good night's sleep. They are also a good way to save on a few test strips.
     
  6. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Oops I answered in yesterday's condo but what I said was - plaque off is fine for diabetic kitties, just no good for hyperthyroid kitties - it's full of iodine. I use it for Vyktor.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  7. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Good way to look at it! :)
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  8. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Taking advantage of the bounce to get things done is always a good idea. I hope the bounce is a short one.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  9. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I'll get back to using it then, couldn't make upy mind if it was helping, but at least I felt I was doing something for his teeth he still has all of them, not bad for an old boy :rolleyes::cat::cat:
     
  10. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Home for late lunch, George is down to 218, must admit lower than I thought, he seems in a better mood, no tail swishing, ear flicking when testing.

    He's gobbled that up and now he is sleeping it off in his favorite place in the sun.
    If his bounce breaks, I'm guessing he'll keep me busy tonight.....
    Let see what the scoundrel has in store for me...:cat::cat::cat::cat:
     
  11. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    'Pokie Break' may be over for George, as I suspected with the 218 @+6 seems his bounce is breaking

    +9 156

    So if he follows the rule book I could see some action early on the pm cycle.

    Question though, as I stalled an hour I want to get back to the regular shooting times so this morning I brought forward by 15 minutes hoping to do that again this evening, assuming I get a number that I am happy shooting can I bring forward by 15 minutes, or would that be foolish?

    Thanks

    Gill
     
  12. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    It's safe to move the shot in 2 fifteen minutes increments per day or in one 30 minute increment per day.
     
    Andy & Pimp likes this.
  13. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    thanks Carla
    Even if the bounce is breaking? that was my only concern.
    (I tried to bring it forwrd 30minutes this morning but he was in a bit of a mood and wouldn't let me test him the b***er

    Let's see what his preshot is anyways, he may have other ideas.........
     
  14. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    As long as he's not really low, I don't think 15 minutes will make a difference.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  15. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    If he's really low I might end up stalling anyways
     
  16. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    15 minutes a shot is usually OK, maybe worry if he's low green.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  17. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    +11 @ 129
    He is still dropping, but don't think we will have a low green, but who knows;)
     
  18. Andy & Pimp

    Andy & Pimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Good luck with whatever decision you make, Gill.
    I think you will see green either way:)
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  19. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Was just reading Libby and Lucy's TR protocol myths debunked thread where she describes shooting a dropping number as a gift, perhaps George has decided to give me an early Christmas present;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2015
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  20. Andy & Pimp

    Andy & Pimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    I like the falling numbers now, too but boy were they scary at first!
     
    jayla-n-Drevon and Gill & George like this.
  21. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    PMPS +123

    I am shooting full dose, ready for a busy night. Wasn't expecting this so soon, hope I don't get more than I bargained for, what with his bounce just clearing and all.
    :)

    hoping we get a blue/green surf going tonight:D:cool::D:cool::D
     
  22. Andy & Pimp

    Andy & Pimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Ok George, you heard the instructions. Go to the lagoon, have a nice surf, and come back to the beach. There's no reason to go back wandering in the forest.
     
    sarahtee and Gill & George like this.
  23. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I'll get a +1, in the mean time I'll get on with dinner.
     
  24. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Good luck Gill, glad the bounce broke and glad he gave you that nice gift of a dropping number. ;)
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  25. Andy & Pimp

    Andy & Pimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Gill - on your SS you can add "@+13" to your units column yesterday morning, to reflect the 1 hr stall.

    ETA: personally I stack stall readings in the +11 column, and then there's just the preshot # @+13 or whatever. Either way is fine and shows what you did.
     
  26. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    +1 116
    Hmm next test at +2??

    ETA: yesterday he went up, seemed to get a food spike at +1, but still dropping, so maybe 30min (just thinking about his ears, not that he is complaining, he's pretty chilled at the moment on his blanket)

    I've added the @+13 to show shot stall in the units column, I guess although I had stacked the shots in the +11 column it wasnt clear when the amps had been, which when I look back at it in a couple of weeks would have got me thinking, when did I shoot?? Thanks
     
    Andy & Pimp likes this.
  27. Andy & Pimp

    Andy & Pimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Yup
     
  28. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Easy does it George!

    ounce breaking cycles can be more "exciting". If you see green at that +2, I'd give him a couple tsp snack of his regular food. That should compensate for the extra poke.

    Gill - could you update your subject line with the latest numbers. That helps us scanning for peeps whose kitties might need some eyes.
     
  29. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    As for the spreadsheet, I just note in the remarks if I move times up or down by less than 1/2 hour. And I have an example today of how you can note in the SS what the actual preshot time was and how long you stalled. I put the earlier tests in the +11 columns, and did a 2.8@+12.3 so I knew I stalled 20 minutes.
     
    Gill & George and Andy & Pimp like this.
  30. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Ssssshhhhh don't say that too loud, it he realizes there is extra nosh in it for him, he'll go deep sea diving:):)

    I've update the subject line, funny thought I had done that, perhaps didn't click save changes:oops::oops:
     
  31. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    OK I get it, is this the 'standard way' I can annotate it either way, just want to make it so that anyone seeing the ss can understand don't want to add to the confusion:confused::confused::confused: I'll go with the flow;);)
     
  32. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    51 @ +2

    Going to feed some of his regular LC
     
  33. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    OK sorry about the 911 isn't in hypo territory yet but at 51 @ +2 he is worrying me

    I have no problems with him eating
    Have just given a couple of teaspoons of LC (2% dry matter), will test in 15 minutes

    I have some medium carb, should I give him a little of that now? or wait 15 min

    George is looking fine, playful, and hungry
    He's been following me round the last half hour
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  34. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    George is on the move! I would retest in 20 minutes...(you posted as I was typing). Some MC might not be a bad idea - he's moving pretty quickly so far and he's right on the edge there.

    Unfortunately I'm at work and about to hit the road for home and my own kitty routine, but I'll keep an eye out for a little while longer.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  35. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    thanks
    2 teaspoons mc given (14%dry matter carb)
     
    Amy&TrixieCat likes this.
  36. sarahtee

    sarahtee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Just dropping in Gill to see how George is going today (tonight your time) - I see he is having an active cycle for you tonight :)

    I'm sure there will be someone more experienced along soon, but you can tag people if you need their help right away using the @ symbol - Oh, I see Amy has replied, that's great :)

    Hang in there, you are doing a great job.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  37. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    If he drops below 50, it's time to break out the high carb goodies, OK?
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  38. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    got it
     
    Amy&TrixieCat likes this.
  39. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    OK scary bananas time here

    he is 38
    have rubbed honey on gums and given 2 teaspoons HC
     
  40. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    pmps 129
    116@+1
    51@+2 2 tsp LC and 2 tsp MC
    38 @+2.25 2tspHC and honey on gums

    I have never been happier that he likes his food
     
  41. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Ok - you can also put a small squirt of honey or karo on his food, too. test again in 15 minutes....unfortunately I will be on the road at that point but I have flagged a few people to check in - hopefully some of them can do so. honestly, though, if he drops any lower after syrup and high carb food, you may want to strongly consider getting to a vet for a glucose drip....

    How is he behaving?
     
  42. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    OK Vet is 30 minutes away

    jsut about to test now
     
  43. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    56@2.5 thank f***

    will give a little more MC

    and check in 15min
     
    jayla-n-Drevon likes this.
  44. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm here. Waiting for the next test.
     
  45. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    We posted at the same time. I'm glad he's come up some.
     
  46. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    what do you think some MC?
     
  47. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Just an FYI, if you get to the point where you have to take him to the vet, you can rub karo or honey on his gums before you leave. Hopefully it won't come to that.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  48. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    MC should be fine. We'll see if he needs HC after the next test.
     
  49. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    he's eating his MC
    Thank god he is such a guzzler
     
  50. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    PHEW!!! Thank you, Carla....I'm heading out the door now! I'll check back once I get my kitties rolling. Remember that the numbers can bobble around a bit as the high carb and honey wear off, so keep testing until you get two numbers in a row that are not food-influenced!
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  51. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I just got home from work, so I can be around for a while.
     
    sarahtee and Gill & George like this.
  52. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    40 @ 2.75
    going to give 2tsp HC with honey on top

    he is eating it now
     
  53. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Good plan. Test again in 15 min.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  54. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    pmps 129
    116@+1
    51@+2 2 tsp LC and 2 tsp MC
    38 @+2.25 2tspHC and honey on gums
    56@2.5 2 tsp MC given
    40@2.75 honey and 2tsp HC
     
  55. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I'm on my way out too, but George has earned his reduction so he has nothing left to prove in this cycle. I would give him a tsp. or two of HC to bump him up a bit.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  56. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    10 min to go he has camped out by his bowl in the kitchen now.
    think he wants more
     
  57. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I've just given him 2.5 teaspoon HC/with drop of honey, he is guzzling it with glee

    testing in 5 minutes

    he sure has earned his reduci, my boy never does things by halves
     
    sarahtee likes this.
  58. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    pmps 129
    116@+1
    51@+2 2 tsp LC and 2 tsp MC
    38 @+2.25 2tspHC and honey on gums
    56@2.5 2 tsp MC given
    40@2.75 honey and 2tsp HC - 2.5tsp of HC with honey
    51@3 @2.9 2tsp HC
    should I rub some honey on his gums, to give him an instant boost whilst the rest of the food takes effect?
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2015
  59. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    That's a good idea. I'd give another teaspoon of HC too. Test again in 15 min.
     
  60. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I already have given some more HC and honey, going to edit my previous post didn't write it on
     
  61. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  62. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    he's had a poop in his litter tray, part solid part liquid

    Is this of any significance?
     
  63. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I know some cats have higher numbers if they're constipated, so it's possible if he has some kind of tummy upset it could affect his BG. But I would think it would make it go up, not down.
     
  64. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Way to earn a reducie Goerge!

    I don't think the poop is particularly significant.

    Can you take your 911 down now Gill you have our attention and you've got this - it does tend to be a bit of a heart starter! I'm just getting the rabbit out so I'll be back in a few minutes to join team George.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2015
    Reason for edit: oops called him Fred because I was just talking to my snail Fred - sorry
  65. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Well, I was out and just came back to see this! You must have caught it from Rosie today and transmitted it to George. Congratulations on earning the reduction!
     
  66. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    pmps 129
    116@+1
    51@+2 2 tsp LC and 2 tsp MC
    38 @+2.25 2tspHC and honey on gums
    56@2.5 2 tsp MC given
    40@2.75 honey and 2tsp HC - 2.5tsp of HC with honey
    51@3 @2.9 2tsp HC
    67@3.25

    More food?? (he's had apart from his regular LC meal 1 3oz can of HC during the event)
    More honey??
    Wait and see??
    testing in 15 min
     
  67. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    It's good to see a higher number. I think you can wait 30 minutes to test and not feed anything right now.
     
    Andy & Pimp likes this.
  68. Amy&TrixieCat

    Amy&TrixieCat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Great job! I agree with Carla- hold off on food for the moment since he's above 60 now. We want to be sure he stays hungry in case you need him to eat later, plus we don't want him to barf from having too much "sugar"!
     
  69. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    was just editing previous when you posted, I may do a 15min check, I'm to nervous not to
     
  70. Melissa24

    Melissa24 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    I see that George wanted to out do Callie's drama from this morning ;) I am glad that he is coming up!
     
  71. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    He usually has a very good appetite, barfing from sugar overload doesn't sound good.
    he's sat in the same room as me now, not by his bowl as he has been for the last hour. Guess he is not as hungry.
    Need coffee:coffee::coffee:
     
  72. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I think they may have been giving each other scuba diving tips!! Hope they stick to surfing from now on!!
     
    Melissa24 likes this.
  73. Andy & Pimp

    Andy & Pimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    OMG I can't believe I missed this!

    Gill you are handling this wonderfully!:smuggrin:
     
  74. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    If you want to test in 15 min. that is fine, but you can wait a little longer. I have to feed my cats. I'll check back. You're doing great.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  75. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    You can't see me shaking:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
     
  76. Andy & Pimp

    Andy & Pimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    I know, the nerves get the best of us! But you know what to do, all your time spent here has paid off tremendously tonight.
     
  77. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    So sorry I called George Fred I had just been chatting to my Fred :oops:

    There's nothing quite like the adrenalin rush from your first reduction - except for your first foray into the 30s - to get them both together is quite something:)

    I would put the honey away now that he's up a bit and stick with the HC wet if more is needed. Too much syrup can make some kitties barf so I usually save it for the 30s

    ETA: can you update your spreadsheet when you have a sec
     
    Andy & Pimp likes this.
  78. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Vyktor only has three left but no plaque on them and a definite improvement to his breath with it - not that you care about this right now lol
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  79. Andy & Pimp

    Andy & Pimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    One tip...a +2 that is that far down from a +1 or PS should (probably always) get HC food, possibly with a drop of honey if you don't know how they will react to carbs yet.
    I think it is easier to keep them up then it is to bring them back up. With that number George had almost already earned his reduction, if you'd have tested again in 5 minutes it probably would have been under 50.
    Just my 2 cents:)
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  80. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    pmps 129
    116@+1
    51@+2 2 tsp LC and 2 tsp MC
    38 @+2.25 2tspHC and honey on gums
    56@2.5 2 tsp MC given
    40@2.75 honey and 2tsp HC - 2.5tsp of HC with honey
    51@3 @2.9 2tsp HC
    67@3.25
    73@3.5

    Think I can breath again, my that was nerve racking, I know it may not be over yet, he hits his nadir at +5/+6, but with all those extra fuds onboard I'm hoping he stays in safer waters
    He seems sleepy now, is that normal after taking a dive like that?
    In his lowest point he was quite animated, definitely letting me know he wanted more food (it was standing by the bowl howling that gave it away)
    Not to worry I call George Rosco all the time (Rosco is my dog) and Rosco George :)

    As for the trip into the 30's he obviously thought I was getting to comfortable with this sugar dance malarkey and thought he'd show me a few new steps;):cat:
     
  81. Andy & Pimp

    Andy & Pimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    @Vyktors Mum Hi Serryn. Are you good to sit with Gill? I know you're on holiday, hope you're enjoying it.:)
     
  82. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Noted, when I saw the 38:eek: I thought that myself (well in between turning the air blue;))
     
  83. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Once the carbs wear off, he could come back down some. Hopefully it will be past nadir and that won't happen. I just wanted to prepare you in case it does. I think you can wait 30 min. to test again.
     
  84. Andy & Pimp

    Andy & Pimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    You did good! Honey on gums was a great move there.
     
  85. Andy & Pimp

    Andy & Pimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    @GTS That should be in about 5 minutes if I'm reading things right.
     
  86. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Often when kitties are going to go low they do it earlier in the cycle so I wouldn't necessarily expect him to have his usual nadir tonight.

    I am here for the duration...
     
    sarahtee and Andy & Pimp like this.
  87. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Yes that would be a 3.75 test
    78@3.75
    George seems chilled now he is doing his I'm happy lying on my back pose, when I went to test he did his happy feet (toe stretches)
     
  88. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I will test again 30 min from now.
    If that seems sensible??
     
  89. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    He seems to be surfing now. I think you can wait and get another test in an hour if you want.
     
  90. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Carla you have nerves of steel, not sure I'll be able to restrain myself, I have no nails left and may require a visit to the salon to touch up the grey hairs I've sprouted!!:):)
     
  91. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Tee hee hee why don't you split the difference and go 45 mins
     
  92. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Over 80 the low numbers sticky says you can go to an hour. I like splitting the difference. You want to note when you last fed HC as the numbers can drop a couple hours after that.

    And congrats on the reduction!
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  93. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Ok the 45minutes has it

    George has come up on the sofa on my lap for purry cuddles, that's a good sign, he is a cuddle monster, food is his favorite thing but cuddles are his second favorite;):)
    Carla may be right I think he has a surfy purr going on:cool::D:cool::D
     
    Vyktors Mum and Andy & Pimp like this.
  94. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    last fed HC @2.9 so at about +5 we could expect a drop, tha'ts also when we have seen nadirs with George in the past:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: (hope we don't get a clash of the titans!!)
     
  95. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    You'll be fine, if he does you have the tools there and now you have your own proof that they work :)
     
    Andy & Pimp and Gill & George like this.
  96. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I'd prefer to use them another day, quite enough excitement for tonight;)

    More the worry is that the vet is 30 min away, i have her mobile, and if she picks up i know she would see george, but it struck me that if she didn't, i'd be up s*** creek without a paddle,
    no such thing as ER vet here, well there is a 'hospital' 1hr away but not sure if they do out of hours, will need to research that, just in case.
     
  97. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    pmps 129
    116@+1
    51@+2 2 tsp LC and 2 tsp MC
    38 @+2.25 2tspHC and honey on gums
    56@2.5 2 tsp MC given
    40@2.75 honey and 2tsp HC - 2.5tsp of HC with honey
    51@3 @2.9 2tsp HC
    67@3.25
    73@3.5
    78@3.75
    76@4.5
    Good call Carla he does indeed seem to be surfing for now.
    So should I grab another test in an hour, (+5.5)? however if the HC effects may wear out at +5 would I be better getting a 30 minute test in?? Or split the difference again and 45min?
    I feel more comfortable with a 30 minute or 45 minute, I am nervous about the HC wearing off and the nadir coinciding and causing more mayhem. Feel like I want to be ahead of the game.
    Views please
     
  98. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    I'd go 45 mins again - I don't think your nerves will take waiting any longer than that ;)
     
  99. Andy & Pimp

    Andy & Pimp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    I think 45 min sounds good, if that's what you'd like to do.

    Look at George on his surfboard! :woot: Woo-hoo!
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  100. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    It's always a good idea to have your emergency plan down pat but fortunately we very very rarely need to put that plan into operation with a TR kitty. If it ever does happen one thing to remember is to take the syrup with you so you can keep administering it on your way - especially important when the vet is a fair distance away.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page