16/2 George amps 116 +1.25 83 +3 76 +5 81 +6 72 +8 47 +8.3 56!!!Reduction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gill & George

Member Since 2015
Morning Everyone, :coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee:
Vines and Hugs to those that need them. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Yesterdays Condo
recap 2/15
:Damps 85 :D+1.5 71 :D+2.5 69 :D+6.5 92 :cool:+8 116 :cool:+10 100
:Dpmps 95 :D+1 77 :D+2 90 :D+3.5 68 :D+4,5 77 :D+6,5 74

BFG continues to be in good mood, and all the p's are in place it's great seeing him playful again:). Yesterdays autofeeder failure (probably operator failure) had me in a tizzy, but seems like I panicked unnecessarily and that he didn't drop too low in my absecnce.

Surf safely
 
47! @+8 given one tsp 28% and 1 tsp 4%
Testing in 20 min

where did that come from!!
I wasn't going to test till +9 but BFG was following me round and singing at me, obviously he was trying to tell me he needed some fuds! Clever Kitty!
 
56@ +8.3
giving some MC 14% 1tsp and 1 tsp LC 4%
(might have given more HC if it had been earlier in cycle, seeing as it's quite late don't want to go overboard with the carbs),testing in 20min to see if he comes up.
 
OK he came up quite easily but with that drop below 50 he has earned reduction I am thinking I will take the full o.25 reduction as so far he has held his reductions well. Will shoot 1u, as per guidelines. Does this seem sensible?
Thoughts welcome

Happiness is shooting an on the line dose;):)
 
Oh my BFG! Guess yesterday's higher numbers were the rise before the fall! ;) Congrats on the reducie! And yes, the online dose is heaven compared to the .25 and .75. Good catch Gill!!! :bighug:
 
Congrats on the reduction! :D

Gill, I didn't want to add to the confusion in Sparkle's thread, so I'm posting here:


Re: not feeding for 2 hours prior to giving a shot
This particular suggestion came about for no other reason than to help prevent those new to the dance from shooting a food spike. Shooting a preshot number influenced by a food spike can give the caregiver a false sense of security. In other words, the caregiver thinks the number is high enough, shoots a full dose, and then goes on their merry way... not realizing that BG numbers influenced by food may come tumbling down at or prior to onset.


Some experienced caregivers will go ahead and shoot a preshot number influenced by food knowing that the preshot number is higher because of the food. You'll probably see it happen most often with caregivers of sick cats/cats that won't eat. They'll let the cat eat whenever they want, shoot, and then monitor. When Alex was sick, I always let her eat as much as she wanted... whenever she wanted. Eating is that important to a sick cat.

Make sense?


 
Congrats on the reduction! :D

Gill, I didn't want to add to the confusion in Sparkle's thread, so I'm posting here:


Re: not feeding for 2 hours prior to giving a shot
This particular suggestion came about for no other reason than to help prevent those new to the dance from shooting a food spike. Shooting a preshot number influenced by a food spike can give the caregiver a false sense of security. In other words, the caregiver thinks the number is high enough, shoots a full dose, and then goes on their merry way... not realizing that BG numbers influenced by food may come tumbling down at or prior to onset.


Some experienced caregivers will go ahead and shoot a preshot number influenced by food knowing that the preshot number is higher because of the food. You'll probably see it happen most often with caregivers of sick cats/cats that won't eat. They'll let the cat eat whenever they want, shoot, and then monitor. When Alex was sick, I always let her eat as much as she wanted... whenever she wanted. Eating is that important to a sick cat.

Make sense?
So it's not an absolute but rather a 'safety feature' , to avoid CG getting into trouble with plummeting BG numbers at onset by forgetting to take into account the food spike.
So in this case we had time to shoot on schedule as we were at 164, monitor @+1 and feed before onset if numbers were still dropping.
Makes sense about letting a sick cat eat whenever it wants.

I think I have understood it both from your and @Marje and Gracie (tagging you Marje to avoid cluttering Sparkles condo further) explanation of duration, but not sure I have the confidence or experience to tell the difference, especially if there is very little data to look back at.

Being on the other side of the Atlantic, I find myself on line at times when there are few people on line but someone can be having a crisis, so I like to understand these situations as best I can to try and help when there aren't more experienced members on line.

Thanks for the explanations I really appreciate it.

I will always err on the side of caution for the sake of keeping kitty safe.

Thanks Ladies, I think I now understand how to apply the 'handling low numbers sticky':)
 
So it's not an absolute but rather a 'safety feature' , to avoid CG getting into trouble with plummeting BG numbers at onset by forgetting to take into account the food spike.
So in this case we had time to shoot on schedule as we were at 164, monitor @+1 and feed before onset if numbers were still dropping.
Makes sense about letting a sick cat eat whenever it wants.

I think I have understood it both from your and @Marje and Gracie (tagging you Marje to avoid cluttering Sparkles condo further) explanation of duration, but not sure I have the confidence or experience to tell the difference, especially if there is very little data to look back at.

Being on the other side of the Atlantic, I find myself on line at times when there are few people on line but someone can be having a crisis, so I like to understand these situations as best I can to try and help when there aren't more experienced members on line.

Thanks for the explanations I really appreciate it.

I will always err on the side of caution for the sake of keeping kitty safe.

Thanks Ladies, I think I now understand how to apply the 'handling low numbers sticky':)
I'm glad Jill posted what she did here because I also did not want to throw a monkey wrench into Sparkle's condo by saying the same thing she did....that two hour window before a preshot where we suggest to not feed is for new members for safety. Use your data to determine what is best for your cat in that kind of situation.

With Gracie, after we got some experience, I never worried about it. My focus was more on whether I'd put a halt to the duration by feeding late in the cycle especially because she had a late nadir. I wanted the overlap and carryover.

Just keep studying SSs and asking questions. It's the best way to learn. One of the things Libby taught me was, when I saw a question a CG had, look at the SS and think what my answer might be and then see what a really experienced member (like Jill or Libby) posted. If what my answer would have been was different, then I'd study the SS to try and see what they saw or asked them.
 
TFS BFG his reducie down to 1u now pmps 116

Funny thing this afternoon before the 47 I was reading Tillys Diabetes Page:

Phase 4: Reducing the dose
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose.

and I was thinking well that sounds like George for the last week, maybe I should be thinking about trying a reduction and seeing if it holds? was going to pose the question this evening, well George beat me to it, I swear he monitors my browsing and posts:rolleyes:

One of the things Libby taught me was, when I saw a question a CG had, look at the SS and think what my answer might be and then see what a really experienced member (like Jill or Libby) posted. If what my answer would have been was different, then I'd study the SS to try and see what they saw or asked them.
That's a great idea, ook at the question, consider your answer and then see what the more experienced members have to say, I think I need to do some more lurking:)
 
and I was thinking well that sounds like George for the last week, maybe I should be thinking about trying a reduction and seeing if it holds? was going to pose the question this evening, well George beat me to it, I swear he monitors my browsing and posts:rolleyes:

Notice it states "stays under 100 mg/dL overall". If George hadn't earned a reduction, I wouldn't have given him one based on the above. I'd have gone for more green. Just sayin.
 
One of the things Libby taught me was, when I saw a question a CG had, look at the SS and think what my answer might be and then see what a really experienced member (like Jill or Libby) posted. If what my answer would have been was different, then I'd study the SS to try and see what they saw or asked them.
That's a great idea, ook at the question, consider your answer and then see what the more experienced members have to say, I think I need to do some more lurking:)

113.gif
113.gif
113.gif
 
Notice it states "stays under 100 mg/dL overall". If George hadn't earned a reduction, I wouldn't have given him one based on the above. I'd have gone for more green. Just sayin.

That's why I was going to ask as he was sooooo close, and I have been feeding him MC last week because I have been out quite a bit as DH had a week off and we've been doing stuff. My impatience showing through again I am afraid.

Hope he holds it, I will watch and if he trends up I will put him back up.
 
Notice it states "stays under 100 mg/dL overall". If George hadn't earned a reduction, I wouldn't have given him one based on the above. I'd have gone for more green. Just sayin.
Having the benefit of hindsight as well as seeing the drop today, let me throw another thought out there...
Remember how too much insulin can drive numbers up? I think those blues yesterday could very well have been a hint that a reduction was coming very soon! Alex would do that to me. I usually didn't act on them (reduce) until I saw a reduction earning number, but sometimes it's nice to have some inkling what kitty might do... especially when planning my schedule.


Just throwing that out there... might be something you want to watch for in the future.
 
Having the benefit of hindsight as well as seeing the drop today, let me throw another thought out there...
Remember how too much insulin can drive numbers up? I think those blues yesterday could very well have been a hint that a reduction was coming very soon! Alex would do that to me. I usually didn't act on them (reduce) until I saw a reduction earning number, but sometimes it's nice to have some inkling what kitty might do... especially when planning my schedule.


Just throwing that out there... might be something you want to watch for in the future.
Bobbie said something similar earlier, interesting that Alex would give you notice of a reduction brewing. I'll remember to watch for that. Looking back at his ss on the 11 he dropped to 58 and the preceding cycle also blipped up a bit, I remember thinking that the reduction might have failed and considered taking him up.
You may be on to something ;)

Wow, between BFG, BOB and Smokey, what a day!

I know right! the Boys are Working the Juice:D:D:D
 
I usually didn't act on them (reduce) until I saw a reduction earning number, but sometimes it's nice to have some inkling what kitty might do... especially when planning my schedule.

Exactly and thus I wouldn’t have reduced either and because one “inverted" curve (although he was pretty flat) might or might not mean something. I agree it would be interesting to see if it’s a pattern George is developing.
 
Exactly and thus I wouldn’t have reduced either and because one “inverted" curve (although he was pretty flat) might or might not mean something. I agree it would be interesting to see if it’s a pattern George is developing.
The fascinating thing about inverted curves in this context is the "curve" is often rather flat... not what one would usually expect.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top