? 18/7-Do I shoot Jake tonight?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by KittyCatJake, Jul 18, 2019.

1. KittyCatJake

KittyCatJake Member

Hi, I'm still pretty new to this and had it pretty much under control til Jake started on prednisolone for his cancer almost 2 weeks ago.....numbers have been hard to manage since then. Tonight, pre-shot he was at 10.9...in the past, vet told me not to shoot til he's over 12, so I left it an hour and re-tested and fed in between, but he went down to 9.9. It's now 8:20pm here, so if I don't do it now I'll have to skip his morning shot as I have to leave for work by 8 tomorrow morning. Would love opinions as to what I should do!

2. Bron and Sheba (GA)

Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

Hi.
    When you are stalling, don't feed any food and then test again in 20 mins to see if the numbers have come up. Once you feed the numbers are food influenced and that makes it hard.
    You don't mention in your signature if you are doing the TR or the SLGS method. As you are new and haven't a lot is data I will go with the SLGS method for tonight. So that says don't give any insulin if under 8.3 (150).
    If between 8.3 and 11.1(200) you can give nothing, give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose) or test, feed as usual and test again in a couple of hours and decide on what to do.
    So probably you can skip or give a token dose....if you wait 2 hours it will throw you out with your timing.
    Are you able to test if you give a token dose of insulin tonight?

3. KittyCatJake

KittyCatJake Member