1st Home BG Curve!!!

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Reneemwriter, Oct 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Reneemwriter

    Reneemwriter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... 5T0E#gid=0

    Just completed my 1st BG Home Glucose Curve. P-h-e-w! Poor VanGogh! Though switching to The Relion Confirm (From Relion Prime) has made it LOTS easier to get the blood sample needed! I cannot get over how mellow VG is! He's much more relaxed than I am! Hoping that now I've gotten one under my belt, it won't be QUITE as intimidating for the next one. Do they need to be done every month?

    I promise, tomorrow, I will try to make my ss visible to all w/out having to post link each time. . .

    Thanks in advance for any input on this!
     
  2. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    For once, my phone cooperated and I was able to see your spreadsheet.

    Nice job on the curve. The numbers look good.

    Some folks do monthly curves.
    Some folks do mini curves testing every 3 hours every few weeks.
    Some folks test at different times throught the week or on days off rather that doing a curve.

    Whatever works best for you and your cat is OK.
     
  3. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Those numbers are fantastic! Keep getting preshot tests (and another test in 2-3 hours if his preshot is under 100). Reason I say this is that if he goes under 50 at any time you will want to reduce to 0.25. (Or if he stays 50-130 for a week you will also want to reduce to 0.25). I think there is a good chance he will do this and you dont want to miss a 50! Not just because it means a reduction but also because you dont want a hypo. Many vets will say cats cant hypo on such a low dose but I have personal experience with my Bailey and 0.25 units.

    keep us updated!

    Wendy
     
  4. BJM

    BJM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

    < 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
    - Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
    - At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

    < 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
    - If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
    - At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

    50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
    - On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
    - Off insulin - normal numbers.
    (May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

    = 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
    - the lowest level pre-shot for ProZinc, PZI, or other non-depot insulins.

    > 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
    - At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

    200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
    - no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as mid-cycle data collection shows it is safe

    180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
    - Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
    - Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

    >= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mf/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
    - Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
    - Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
    - Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page