1st time green +12, thanks for help! (shot at +13~140)

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Christie & Willie (GA), Dec 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Christie & Willie (GA)

    Christie & Willie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Posted over in LL too, but posting here because, well, this bean is slightly freaked!

    Willie's PMPS was 63 (we test with an Alphatrak). AMPS was a 167, which has been pretty typical for the past few days since his dose increase Saturday am. Have given him dinner... usual raw diet with some Wellness mixed in. We're hanging out on the couch now... not sure how to proceed as we plan to also skip tomorrow's am shot as we're roadtripping.
     
  2. Lisa and Witn (GA)

    Lisa and Witn (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: Willie just went green... advice?

    Skip tonight's shot. 63 is way too low to shoot. If he was not a diabetic, that number would be the normal number for a non-diabetic cat.

    Most likely his BG will be much higher tomorrow morning. That is normal when you skip a shot. What is his current insulin and dose? Are you testing between shots? It may be that his new dose may be too much and he is dropping too low between shots.
     
  3. Christie & Willie (GA)

    Christie & Willie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Re: Willie just went green... advice?

    He's on Lantus, 1.5 units BID. Testing some between doses, but didn't get any in today (of course). I'm just worried because we're already planning on skipping tomorrow's am dose because we're doing a car ride, which will stress him out considerably.
     
  4. Kelly & Oscar

    Kelly & Oscar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Re: Willie just went green... advice?

    Another option since you will be skipping tomorrow's am shot anyway - you can significantly delay this evening's shot until you are certain he is rising. Using the alphatrak - I would wait for a number above 90 at the very least. Only shoot if you are prepared to wake up a few hours into the cycle to test him to make sure he doesn't dive. With your spreadsheet, it looks like typically he tends to coast instead of giving a big drop so far on this 1.5u dose.
     
  5. Christie & Willie (GA)

    Christie & Willie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Re: Willie just went green... advice?

    Thanks, Kelly! We ended up shooting at +13 after getting him to 140. He also ate a bit more with the shot, so that should help keep him up a bit at first too. god bless my boy's love of commercial canned cat food! Will be getting a +1 and +2 at least, and am going to set the alarm for a 3:30am +6.5 since he tends to nadir at +7.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page