2/11 | Moose | PMPS = 88, +2 = 66, +4 = 63

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oh, Moose!

Yeah, that almost-20pt drop at +2 might have been an indication. You might have to recalibrate your expectation on what is a warning sign type drop now that he's having such low pre-shots.

Great instincts testing at +3!
 
Oh forgot to note that I fed him 1 tsp LC. I didn't want to freak out too soon and bring out the big guns, and I will be home all day to test in case things get lower.
 
You might have to recalibrate your expectation on what is a warning sign type drop now that he's having such low pre-shots.
My apologies Nan, do you mind clarifying? Like, would a 10 point drop at +1 (if I were to get a +1) be a warning sign? I know that they say if the +1 is lower than PS than it could be an active cycle, but Moose hasn't always followed that pattern (but when do cats ever follow a pattern anyway? :rolleyes:)

Thank you! :bighug:
 
Like, would a 10 point drop at +1 (if I were to get a +1) be a warning sign?

Wouldn't want to put a hard-and-fast point value on this, I just think any drop at +1 or +2 warrants some attention. Looking at Moose's spreadsheet, there's only one recent day (2/10 AM) I can see where you didn't feed a little at a lower +1/+2, and though he surfed nicely that day, on others he seemed to appreciate the little boost of lc or sometimes mc. So I'd just plan on keeping doing that, especially on days when you work. He's on just a drop now, you'd like to be able to give his pancreas the support for at least a little longer.

Moose really is looking fantastic!
 
Wouldn't want to put a hard-and-fast point value on this, I just think any drop at +1 or +2 warrants some attention. Looking at Moose's spreadsheet, there's only one recent day (2/10 AM) I can see where you didn't feed a little at a lower +1/+2, and though he surfed nicely that day, on others he seemed to appreciate the little boost of lc or sometimes mc. So I'd just plan on keeping doing that, especially on days when you work. He's on just a drop now, you'd like to be able to give his pancreas the support for at least a little longer.

Moose really is looking fantastic!
I see, thank you for clarifying. Yes I will definitely be giving him some food assistance on days that I work, since I can't test throughout the day. I admit I have been experimenting just a little this weekend, to see where his numbers go without much assistance from food (only because I am home to test and can intervene if necessary). Hopefully that's ok...obviously I'm not going to let him drop below 50 without any sort of intervention, but it's hard to see where the numbers are really at if I'm giving him a boost with food...if that makes sense!
 
  • Like
Reactions: SMM
I admit I have been experimenting just a little this weekend, to see where his numbers go without much assistance from food (only because I am home to test and can intervene if necessary). Hopefully that's ok...obviously I'm not going to let him drop below 50 without any sort of intervention, but it's hard to see where the numbers are really at if I'm giving him a boost with food...if that makes sense!

Makes perfect sense to me!
 
I see, thank you for clarifying. Yes I will definitely be giving him some food assistance on days that I work, since I can't test throughout the day. I admit I have been experimenting just a little this weekend, to see where his numbers go without much assistance from food (only because I am home to test and can intervene if necessary). Hopefully that's ok...obviously I'm not going to let him drop below 50 without any sort of intervention, but it's hard to see where the numbers are really at if I'm giving him a boost with food...if that makes sense!
I can see your logic in this. However, one thing to consider is you want to keep doing what you do on work days so you can really see what Moose does when you're not home. I think it's better you keep him on the drop dose until he gets rid of those blue numbers so when he's ready to go OTJ, he would be more likely to succeed. :D
 
I can see your logic in this. However, one thing to consider is you want to keep doing what you do on work days so you can really see what Moose does when you're not home. I think it's better you keep him on the drop dose until he gets rid of those blue numbers so when he's ready to go OTJ, he would be more likely to succeed. :D
Absolutely! I'm definitely not leaving my house in the morning without leaving some MC (or HC, if the number requires it) out before I go to work. I'm still fine with lunch time checks too, if I can.

So, yesterday was his first all green day. Should I, hypothetically, use that date as the "starting point" of the week, and if he stays green all week (until next Saturday) then I can probably move onto OTJ trial? (per TR protocol.) Again, this is hypothetically speaking. He may throw some blues at me this week, especially if I do leave MC/HC out for him before I leave for work. That might make his PMPS a bit higher and in the blue range.
 
Absolutely! I'm definitely not leaving my house in the morning without leaving some MC (or HC, if the number requires it) out before I go to work. I'm still fine with lunch time checks too, if I can.

So, yesterday was his first all green day. Should I, hypothetically, use that date as the "starting point" of the week, and if he stays green all week (until next Saturday) then I can probably move onto OTJ trial? (per TR protocol.) Again, this is hypothetically speaking. He may throw some blues at me this week, especially if I do leave MC/HC out for him before I leave for work. That might make his PMPS a bit higher and in the blue range.
The first day of all greens would be day 1 when you want a week of all greens to try the next reduction point.

When I said you want to keep doing what you do on work days, I wasn't clear. I meant for the days you are home and can test more to see what Moose is doing on the days you're not home. That means giving Moose food like you would before work then test during that cycle until you would have gotten home. I hope that makes sense.
 
The first day of all greens would be day 1 when you want a week of all greens to try the next reduction point.

When I said you want to keep doing what you do on work days, I wasn't clear. I meant for the days you are home and can test more to see what Moose is doing on the days you're not home. That means giving Moose food like you would before work then test during that cycle until you would have gotten home. I hope that makes sense.
Oh ok yes now that makes sense! Sorry, I didn't quite understand before. I see what you are saying and I will be sure to do that! :D
 
After his +8 snack, Moose started to cry. It was his very specific cry...the one he does before he vomits. (like his "hey, mom, I don't feel well, I'm gonna throw up, just thought I'd let you know!") He's very considerate. Anyway, he threw up and it wasn't a hairball like it was yesterday. It could have been...but since I was prepared I put a little waste basket in front of him and he vomited into there. The vomit mixed with whatever trash was already in there, so it was hard to tell. Mostly food, as far as I can tell.

This has happened both days right after his LC snack at +8. I only give the snack on the weekends since I can't during the week. I wonder if he's just not used to it....
 
After his +8 snack, Moose started to cry. It was his very specific cry...the one he does before he vomits. (like his "hey, mom, I don't feel well, I'm gonna throw up, just thought I'd let you know!") He's very considerate. Anyway, he threw up and it wasn't a hairball like it was yesterday. It could have been...but since I was prepared I put a little waste basket in front of him and he vomited into there. The vomit mixed with whatever trash was already in there, so it was hard to tell. Mostly food, as far as I can tell.

This has happened both days right after his LC snack at +8. I only give the snack on the weekends since I can't during the week. I wonder if he's just not used to it....

Ohmigoodness.:woot: What a thoughtful pusscat.

I suggest cutting the middle man out. Instead of snack - cat - vomit - bin, just go for snack -bin. Easier and quicker. :cat:
 
Ohmigoodness.:woot: What a thoughtful pusscat.

I suggest cutting the middle man out. Instead of snack - cat - vomit - bin, just go for snack -bin. Easier and quicker. :cat:
Hahaha this gave me quite a giggle! I won't tell Moose that you said that though...he wants as many snacks as possible. That's how we got into this mess, Moose, you just can't stop snacking...:rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top