2/14-ELLIOTT:Lantus-AMPS=319-Cycle 9/10-SHOULD I KEEP AT 2 UNITS????

Status
Not open for further replies.
I would assume your strips are measuring correctly and only do a second test to confirm if the number is unusually low, like under 50, or if it's completely out of context, like a 500-75 in 2 hours. Otherwise you'll always be doubting the test results you get and you'll make yourself crazy!

To me, that 162 last night is very believable. a drop of 100ish points from pmps to +6 seems normal/good. A drop into blue 5 cycles after hitting green also seems routine.

Sending green thoughts to Mr. Elliott!
 
I am thinking ... whether to keep at 2 units tomorrow if BG stay in 300's???

The reason I questioned the BG=162 was because I test 2-3 X on each sample Relion and AlphaTRAK , Bayer not as much now (AT charted + hidden under "note")...and the AlphaTRAK pattern was consistent with Relion pattern with exception at +6=162. Consistent meaning= AlphaTrak always a similar correlation pattern to Relion but much higher values. I will eventually stop using 2-3 meters per sample!!! Thanks!!!
 
Last edited:
Fran: We've had any number of people run parallel tests with various meters. The basic conclusion is that if you keep doing this, you'll drive yourself nuts. There are way too many variables to control with each meter and each test. Pick a meter and stick with it. FWIW, the AT meter typically tests higher than a human meter. It's a matter of calibration for animal vs human blood.

If you are following TR, you increase after 3 days if nadirs are generally over 200 otherwise, if nadirs are under 200, you hold the dose for 5 days. It looks like it's been a judgement call with regard to how long to hold the dose. At this point, it's been 5 days. Nadirs have been above 200 over the last few days. If you are going to follow TR, then Elliott is due for an increase.



 
Fran: We've had any number of people run parallel tests with various meters. The basic conclusion is that if you keep doing this, you'll drive yourself nuts. There are way too many variables to control with each meter and each test. Pick a meter and stick with it. FWIW, the AT meter typically tests higher than a human meter. It's a matter of calibration for animal vs human blood.

If you are following TR, you increase after 3 days if nadirs are generally over 200 otherwise, if nadirs are under 200, you hold the dose for 5 days. It looks like it's been a judgement call with regard to how long to hold the dose. At this point, it's been 5 days. Nadirs have been above 200 over the last few days. If you are going to follow TR, then Elliott is due for an increase.


I appreciate all input. I think because of some low BG values, it was suggested that I should keep it at 2u for a few cycles. Can anyone advise whether to raise .25 or .5? I have tried to follow experienced and tested peoples' suggestions, since I seem to lack good judgement even with the TR protocol in front of me. I remain grateful for all the members who are trying to help us get through this!!! Yes I am trying to follow the TR.
 
I will eventually stop using 2-3 meters per sample!!! Thanks!!!
I would suggest stopping immediately doing tests with 2 or 3 meters. As Sienne said: you'll drive yourself crazy!
Strips are expensive, especially AT strips, so you can save a lot of money (and time, and aggravation) if you pick one meter and stick with it.

Good luck with the increase. To be safe and not jump over what might be a good dose, increase by .25 of a Unit (as per the protocol).

Happy Valentines' Day! Will Elliott come to the party?

Ella & Rusty
 
Without going back to look, I'd say we probably suggested you stay at the 2U dose a little longer than 3 days because on cycle 3 he got into green, but since it's been 5 days now and he's not getting down into greens again, we'd want to increase to 2.25U

When they first start getting low blues/greens, we will often suggest staying at that dose a little longer than 6 cycles just to see if they can repeat it, especially if they "bounced" off the low blue/green number
 
Without going back to look, I'd say we probably suggested you stay at the 2U dose a little longer than 3 days because on cycle 3 he got into green, but since it's been 5 days now and he's not getting down into greens again, we'd want to increase to 2.25U

When they first start getting low blues/greens, we will often suggest staying at that dose a little longer than 6 cycles just to see if they can repeat it, especially if they "bounced" off the low blue/green number
Yes and it makes sense..I was trying to explain this..You did it better..Thanks!!
 
I would suggest stopping immediately doing tests with 2 or 3 meters. As Sienne said: you'll drive yourself crazy!
Strips are expensive, especially AT strips, so you can save a lot of money (and time, and aggravation) if you pick one meter and stick with it.

Good luck with the increase. To be safe and not jump over what might be a good dose, increase by .25 of a Unit (as per the protocol).

Happy Valentines' Day! Will Elliott come to the party?

Ella & Rusty[/QUO
Without going back to look, I'd say we probably suggested you stay at the 2U dose a little longer than 3 days because on cycle 3 he got into green, but since it's been 5 days now and he's not getting down into greens again, we'd want to increase to 2.25U

When they first start getting low blues/greens, we will often suggest staying at that dose a little longer than 6 cycles just to see if they can repeat it, especially if they "bounced" off the low blue/green number
will increase .25u..Thanks all!!!
 
The Lantus was increased at 6am to 2.5u by H... and "not" by accident..I guess I will decrease it at 6pm and then give the insulin myself at 6 am. I am up quite late so have been lucky to have H help so early in am but???? I did not disregard your good judgement..Thanks!!!
 
I understand your situation. My DH does the shooting because a) I have severe arthritis in my hands and it's hard for me to manipulate the syringe, especially in the morning, and b) I'm a night owl who sleeps late and he's up at 6:00 am or earlier for work anyway. But he hasn't read the protocol and gets his info from me and doesn't completely understand the wisdom of it all, so sometimes goes rogue. He means well, but......
icon_rolleyes.gif
Who knows? Maybe that extra juice will kickstart Elliott and it will turn out to be a good thing!

You might want to make a note in your remarks column to indicate that the extra .25 was not planned and won't be repeated until earned, so anyone that looks at it later without having read your post will understand.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top