2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, PMPS 89, +1 70, +2 46, +2.5 60

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mel and Joe, Feb 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6579&start=0

    Recap of yesterday's adventures
    AMPS 98
    +1 102
    +5 68
    +10 138
    +12 80
    +12.25 69
    +12.75 51
    Fed 1 tsp HC
    +13.25 57
    +14.00 69

    Decided to skip the shot since I wouldn't be able to monitor properly

    +22 89
    +23 77
    AMPS 79 0.75u
    +2 50
    Gave LC Food
    +2.5 60
    +4 52
    Gave HC treat
    +5 80
    +6 90
    Gave LC food leaving the house
    +9 69
    +11 72
    PMPS 89
    Shot 0.5
    +1 70
    +2 46
    Fed 1 tsp HC mixed with regular food
    +2.5 60

    I know he ate about an hour before +22 and Libby suggested a dosecrease last night based on the unshootable PS number. Looks like that may be a good way to go. I'll check again in an hour.
     
  2. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - +22 89, +23 77

    77 at +23. . .

    Why can't he wait until the weekend to do this!
     
  3. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79

    Gave .75

    and I'm taking a sick day so I'll be able to watch him. I'm actually sick but Joe helped convince me to stay home and not go in to the office and try to tough it out,
     
  4. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79

    this is great, it looks like Joe surfed all night long!

    He's probably still running on some shed action from yesterday, but most likely his number will go back up as the shed depletes. Maybe not, though!

    Are you leaving for work? If you can grab a +1 that will make you feel better. If you're nervous, you can leave out MC food instead of LC for him to snack on today.

    The diet change has done amazing things here. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
     
  5. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79

    +1 79

    Left some regular food out but I'll be back before +2 so not too worried about it.
     
  6. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +2 50

    +2 50

    Gave regular food will test in 30
     
  7. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +2 50

    Good catch! If he keeps dropping you can HC this. I'm at work so can't keep a good eye on you, but others are here.
     
  8. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +2 50, +2.5 60

    Back up to 60 at 2.5
     
  9. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +2 50, +2.5 60, +4 52

    +4 52

    Gave more regular food
     
  10. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +2 50, +2.5 60, +4 52

    wow, nice surf. :mrgreen:

    When Joe's shot time approaches tonight, can you test and post here first, and wait for advice before shooting? I'm not sure we need to keep him on the 0.75 dose but would like to see how the rest of the cycle plays out. What time do you shoot, so I can be sure to be here?
     
  11. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +2 50, +2.5 60, +4 52

    Thank you Libby. I was just thinking about that.

    I shoot at 6:30 mountain time. I'll get a +11 at 5:30 pm and will be sure to post.
     
  12. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +2 50, +2.5 60, +4 52, +5 80, +6 90

    Numbers are headed back up again. Gave 2 pieces of a HC treat after +4.

    I have to leave in an hour if numbers are down again I'll give another treat to hold him until I get home.
     
  13. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +2 50, +2.5 60, +4 52, +5 80, +6 90

    :mrgreen: good cycle for Joe!
    looking forward to what he does tonight!
     
  14. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69

    69 at +9

    I'm worried about tomorrow. He's scheduled for a curve at the vet. I'm going to take my spreadsheet and extra food in case he's low again. Hopefully they'll look at my information and decide they don't need the curve but I bet I just end up talking to a tech who isn't going to make any decisions.
     
  15. Hillary & Maui (GA)

    Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69

    Personally, why even bother taking him for a curve? Why waste your money? Upset your cat? For what purpose? To appease the vet and give him/her some more money?

    It looks like you're home testing and have excellent BG's? A vet curve when you are home testing is a just an unnecessary action. If you want to do a curve, you can do it yourself from home. And without looking at your SS, what I see listed today, is a good amount of data collected......just my opinion (and many others too)! :)

    Oh Hi - I don't believe we've met yet. So, welcome to the group and nice to meet you.
     
  16. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69, +11 72

    Hello Hillary, I guess that's part of the reason I'm torn about it. Although it does mean he'd be monitored tomorrow which I'm not going to be able to do myself.

    72 at +11 he ate 15-20 minutes ago.
     
  17. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69, +11 72

    If it makes u feel comfortable to go ahead with the vet curve, for assurance that he will be monitored, thats fine.

    I would however, make it very clear to them about food and dosage ur on, so they dont go changing things on you - it's obvious you're on the ball with Joe's treatment, that you choose to follow.
    I'd also make sure, do they know to monitor a lower number? Do they know how to handle it? Hopefully same way you do at home.
    You do what you feel is safe and comforting to you. If you can afford it, then fine, just go in prepared, and hopefully they will respect your data collection and see the good progress you and Joe have made as a positive step forward.
     
  18. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69, +11 72

    Some vets are uncomfortable with these numbers and will start a glucose drip. It's something to think about!

    Joe's numbers are incredible! Get the feeling that some of the highs were related to dry food?
     
  19. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69, +11 72

    these numbers are surprising me a little bit after a skipped shot last night. :mrgreen:

    If Joe stays flat until +12, I think we should try another dose reduction to 0.5 units. What do you think?

    About the vet curve, hmmmm, well it would be more fun to walk into the vet's office in a couple of weeks to show them the spreadsheet of your OTJ cat! (anti-jinx!).
     
  20. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69, +11 72

    89 15 minutes prior to shot time.

    I think I'd be more comfortable with 0.5. I monitored him closely today but I can't stay up all night and do the same.

    The highs today were HC treats. He hasn't had any dry food today.
     
  21. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69, +11 72, +12 89

    shot .5 we'll see what happens
     
  22. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69, +11 72, PMPS 89

    that's some pretty good HC treat!! :mrgreen:
    What an awesome cycle for Joe!

    Hooray for no dry! And it shows!
     
  23. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69, +11 72, PMPS 89, +1 70

    70 at +1

    I think I need more info from the vet before we agree to a curve. I want to know how they would treat a low number.
     
  24. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69, +11 72, PMPS 89, +1 70, +2 46

    46 at +2

    Feeding some high carb and checking again in 30.
     
  25. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69, +11 72, PMPS 89, +1 70, +2 46

    HC is fine. I might have gone with some LC topped with gravy but it's early in the cycle so HC should be fine. You want to see if you can keep Joe surfing in the 50 - 70 range. Once you get his numbers bumped up, try some LC to keep him surfing.
     
  26. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69, +11 72, PMPS 89, +1 70, +2 46

    good catch! You can HC this, Joe can't earn another dose reduction tonight since he just got one, so you might as well try to bring the number up so you can get a decent night's sleep tonight.
     
  27. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/18 Joe - AMPS 79, +9 69, +11 72, PMPS 89, +1 70, +2 46

    60 at 2.5

    DH has instructions to watch and give more HC before he goes to bed
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page