2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62, 2.75 63

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Mel and Joe, Feb 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    9Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6647

    Preshot numbers just keep getting lower and lower. I'll probably gone for 10 hours today so I won''t be able to feed the lows like I've been doing the last few days. Considering skipping the shot but we'll see how the morning goes.

    AMPS 120
    +2 59
    +4 61
    +8 103
    +10 92
    +12 62
    +12.5 66
    +13 62
    Shot .25
    +1 53
    LC w/ gravy
    +1.5 47
    gravy
    +1.75 55
    gravy
    2.25 56
    2.75 63
    3.5 63
     
  2. Tina & Sammy

    Tina & Sammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - +10 79

    I am sure someone will be by to give dosing advice, but I totally understand your concern with these dropping numbers.
     
  3. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120

    I will be able to monitor today and his numbers went up. Shot 0.5.
     
  4. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120

    hi Mel,
    whats the scoop on the curve at the vets? not going?

    nice shooting!! I was getting nailbite_smile lol
     
  5. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120

    I cancelled the curve and setup a meeting with the vet for tomorrow. Get everyone on the same page and then make a decision about the curve together.

    59 at +2
     
  6. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +2 59 +4 61 +8 103 +10 92

    A little higher today but still looking good.
     
  7. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +2 59 +4 61 +8 103 +10 92

    perfect day, again. :smile:

    Can you just give the vet your spreadsheet? Yesterday you did almost a whole 24 hour curve, that's way more than they would do at the vet.
     
  8. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +2 59 +4 61 +8 103 +10 92 +12 62

    So now it's shot time and he's at 62. Gave him some more food and testing in 15.

    I'm not really sure what caused the raise at +8. Usually it's food but I didn't feed him then.
     
  9. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +2 59 +4 61 +8 103 +10 92

    Generally, you don't want to feed while you're stalling. Depending on how much food bumpts up Joe's numbers, you won't know if you have a legitimate rise or a food spike.
     
  10. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +2 59 +4 61 +8 103 +10 92

    didn't think of that.

    Luckily it's Friday so I can stall longer.
     
  11. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +2 59 +4 61 +8 103 +10 92 +12 62

    it's ok, now u know for next time, no food at preshot time if u have to stall.

    let's see what your next test will be
     
  12. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +2 59 +4 61 +8 103 +10 92 +12 62

    12.5 66
     
  13. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +12.5 66

    mel, don't shoot yet. a couple of us are discussing dose.
    brb...
     
  14. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +12.5 66

    have to tell you, we don't usually recommend coming down the dosing scale this quickly, but something big is happening with joe. we think he's ready for a reduction to 0.25 unit. what do you think? want to give it a shot (pun intended)?
     
  15. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +12.5 66, +13 62

    He's back to 62 at +13

    .25 sounds better than .5 right now. And I can monitor him.

    going to wait 20-30 minutes
     
  16. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +12.5 66

    0.25 sounds good to me, this is pretty exciting!

    Surf, Joe, surf!
     
  17. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +12.5 66

    do you feel comfortable shooting now?
    we think joe is going to be one of those kitties who is in and out of here real quick. :D
     
  18. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +12.5 66, +13 62

    Shot .25 at 13.25 BG 62
     
  19. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, +12.5 66, +13 62

    The vet is going to think I'm crazy tomorrow.
     
  20. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62

    awesome! get a +1 and +2 since this is your lowest ps ever.
    i'm going to go feed my cats, but will be back in plenty of time for your +1.
     
  21. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62

    Congrats on the reduction!

    So will your vet think you're crazy because of the amount of insulin, shooting low numbers, or the effect of the diet change? Or all of the above?
     
  22. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62

    lol exactly Sienne

    My vet was impressed on all 3, especially the micro dosing

    u have excellent progress and results Mel, in the SS to impress your vets socks off :lol:
     
  23. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62

    +1 53


    All of the above I'm sure :). This is his first trip back since he was diagnosed and we keep trading phone messages back and forth but I haven't actually talked to her since then either. Well I guess he had a single bg test a week out but it was a quick in and out.
     
  24. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62, +1 53

    i'd feed a bite if lc with a bit of hc gravy here.
    we still have the residual effects of the higher dose at work.
    please retest in 30 minutes...
     
  25. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62, +1 53

    47 at about 1.5

    Close to when he finished his snack.
     
  26. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62, +1 53

    i'd squeeze some of the gravy out of a can of hc and let him lick it.
    retest in 15 minutes, please.
     
  27. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62, +1 53, +1.5 47

    55 at 1.75

    He's alert and social.

    Glad I got strips today!
     
  28. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62, +1 53, +1.5 47

    I'm glad you got strips too!

    Was Joe's snack HC or LC?
     
  29. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62, +1 53, +1.5 47

    much better! let him have another lick or two of gravy. we'd like to get him surfing. 50s surfs are fine.
    i'm glad you picked up strips, too.
    i'd retest in 30 minutes...
     
  30. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62, +1 53, +1.5 47

    First snack was LC with a little HC then a little gravy. We'll keep giving him a little more.
     
  31. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62, +1 53, +1.5 47

    56 @ 2.25

    How long do you think we need to test tonight?
     
  32. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62, +1 53, +1.5 47

    I think we'll need a few more tests to be sure he's surfing. Another little bit of gravy and another test in 30 minutes? You're doing great, the race down the dosing ladder can be tough on the bean but the payoff is worth it. :mrgreen:
     
  33. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62, +1 53, +1.5 47

    how about if we see what the +3 is before deciding. can you make it to +3?
     
  34. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Joe - AMPS 120, PMPS 62, +1 53, +1.5 47

    63 at 2.75
     
  35. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    much better.

    when is bed time?
     
  36. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    I have a toddler who isn't sleeping at the moment so I'm either up with Joe or up with the baby. Don't want him to hypo on us in the middle of the night.
     
  37. Mel and Joe

    Mel and Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    63 at 3.5

    Putting out some food for the night
     
  38. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    looks like a nice 60s surf!
    leaving some food out for him to nibble on is a good idea.
    ni-ni!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page