2/19 Tasha's AMPS PMPS 242+3=62 +10=177

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Linda and Tasha, Feb 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Linda and Tasha

    Linda and Tasha Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    yesterday's condo

    Not sure about the morning shot again. The cuff on the syringe was bent making it hard to tell if I got 0+. After the shot when I pushed the syringe to 0 empty it looked like 0+ not 0.
     
  2. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Tasha's AMPS 173 (doubtful about shot)

    Hi Linda

    here is a pic of the 0.1 (fat zero) not sure if u have been practicing measuring, but it may help, grab a few used syringes, get some juice, like fruit juice, wine or milk works too, and practice...it takes a little getting use to, but the more u practice it, the easier it gets.

    [​IMG]

    when u fill the syringe, push the excess out but near the end, try slowly twisting the plunger left, right to get the rest out - with your sample syringe push out what u think is a drop till u get it going consistently enough
     
  3. Linda and Tasha

    Linda and Tasha Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Tasha's AMPS 173 (doubtful about shot)+3=97

    +3 =97 and she ate very little. Think she got nothing in this mornings shot.
     
  4. Linda and Tasha

    Linda and Tasha Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Tasha's AMPS 173 (doubtful about shot)+3=97 +6=140

    Even though Tasha ate before her BG, I think we go a no shot this morning judging on how the numbers are.
     
  5. Linda and Tasha

    Linda and Tasha Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Tasha's AMPS 173 +3=97 +6=140 +10=188

    +10=188 seriously doubt that she got any insulin today. I am wondering if maybe I should g back to .1 but maybe a scant .1 from the fat 0.?
     
  6. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Tasha's AMPS 173 +3=97 +6=140 +10=188

    From the difficulty you've been describing with measuring, I might really help if you practiced the way Ronnie suggested. Micro-dosing is challenging. I had to practice with 0.25 units as well as with fat and skinny dosing. Since much of Lantus dosing/shed is based on consistency, practicing measuring your dose sounds rather practical.
     
  7. Linda and Tasha

    Linda and Tasha Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Tasha's AMPS 173 +3=97 +6=140 +10=188 PMPS 242 +3+62

    Looks like I was right and this morning's shot was no good. I gave (PM shot) somewhere between a 0+ and a .1 (sort of a 0++) A littler "fatter 0" and I will see how that works. I felt her numbers were a bit too high before this anyway.
     
  8. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Tasha's AMPS 173 +3=97 +6=140 +10=188 PMPS 242

    the micro doses are tough. I used really strong reading glasses and practiced getting the amount of space between the plunger and the line the same each time. Some people measure the small doses by measuring an easy dose (like 0.5) and then squeezing the insulin out of the syringe one drop at a time until they get the amount they want. Consistency is important, because even a tiny difference in the amount of liquid is a big percent of change when you're talking about such a small volume.

    Good luck with the new dose, I hope that does the trick.
     
  9. Linda and Tasha

    Linda and Tasha Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Re: 2/19 Tasha's AMPS 173 +3=97 +6=140 +10=188 PMPS 242

    +3=62
    Hope this is not too much.
     
  10. Jill & Alex (GA)

    Jill & Alex (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 2/19 Tasha's AMPS 173 +3=97 +6=140 +10=188 PMPS 242

    that's a substantial drop. i think i'd get a +4...
     
  11. Linda and Tasha

    Linda and Tasha Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    +10= 177. Wanted to get the +4 but fell asleep . I did leave a lot of food out. Looks like she didn't eat much. 177 possible rebound I guess...or not.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page