2/6 Ming PMPS = 106, +1 = 83 reduced dose this cycle only

I can also shoot him later if needed and change his schedule. So if he starts rising at 7 AM, I don't mind shooting then or even later.
 
In a cat with a recent history of DKA it's not a good idea to skip shots, or reduce too much.

He looks like he is staying flat, a the moment, so it's quite possible that if you shoot now the numbers will be starting to rise by the time Lantus starts to take effect, this is where lantus differs from PZI, being slow acting shooting those lower PS is the ultimate goal, of course you have to get comfortable doing that.
Ca your mum monitor him if need be this morning?

He's on quite a high dose has he been checked for high dose conditions?

I can also shoot him later if needed and change his schedule. So if he starts rising at 7 AM, I don't mind shooting then or even later.
That's ok as long as it wont mess up too much with his schedule. But anymore than an hour off schedule can be a real pain to make up.
 
He's on quite a high dose has he been checked for high dose conditions?

He was tested for acromegaly and he had a low number so negative for that. I didn't test for IAA (didn't think to also ask to test for that at the same time).

He's also on 1.25 mg pred twice daily but will be weaning him off of it soon. He's going to the vet later tonight and then most likely weaning him off of it. He's been taking it since October because he had 8 instances of pancreatitis last year alone and the vet wanted to keep him on it for a few months to distinguish any inflammation.

That's ok as long as it wont mess up too much with his schedule. But anymore than an hour off schedule can be a real pain to make up.

I'm working night shifts now and can bring him to work if needed. So it's a pain but only temporary ahha

I'll ask my mom to test again after she's done showering and then shoot if we can.
 
If Ming hasn't come up enough for you to feel comfortable shooting the full dose, how about shooting a BCS reducing the dose by 50% like you have done before?
Is Ming a good eater? Is he well at the moment? (other than his diabetes) I would be concerned about shooting a reduced dose in a kitty with a history of DKA if he were not eating well or if there was some other sign of systemic stress such as infection, especially so if the DKA was recent, I would be encouraging you to shoot the full dose.
That said if he has been good since October the risk lessens, and you do work at a vets, can you monitor his ketones as well?
 
Reducing the dose will drain the depot, which because of the unknown of the IAA can be a good thing, because it can get 'hectic' when that breaks.
 
how about shooting a BCS reducing the dose by 50% like you have done before?

Oh yes that's a good idea! Last time i did a 50% reduction. Wendy gave me a choice of whether to do 50 or 70. I might do 70% depending on Ming's BG. Mom is still showering, I'm assuming lol. I'm not too afraid to do the full dose but let's see what his BSL is.

Is Ming a good eater? Is he well at the moment?
Yes he's a good eater :) And he's well. I think 3 weeks ago, he had a day where he puked and didn't want to eat. I tested for ketones but didn't get a colour that matched anything on the bottle. I suspect there was trace amounts but he bounced back within the day.
 
My spreadsheet is a little messy right now but I’ll fix it soon. Just got home and showered and eating my dinner/breakfast whatever meal it is haha

I guess... Ming gets a reduction?

This has happened before in the past. And the reduction doesn’t work. Any ideas?
 
Let's see how the rest of the cycle transpires, there are techniques you can try on a cat that doesn't hold reductions, but with a possibility of IAA in the picture they could land you in real trouble. So not sure if I would go there.

See how it pans out if you have to fight to keep numbers up, then I think you should take the full reduction. But if on the other hand he pops up easily, perhaps there is some wiggle room, though I would like some folk with more experience in helping high dose kitties to take a look.
 
It is early in the cycle you might want to bump the carbs up with a drop of honey. With George if he dropped early I had to bring out the big guns and get on top of BG. Otherwise I'd have a right on my hands.
 
Last edited:
Yes, the first time I gave only gravy. The second time, I gave both but a bit of bigger portion.

Okay, I'll use honey if I have to feed him again. Testing in 15 mins
 
Oh oops I already gave the HC + another drop of honey. I'm assuming the higher number is the honey talking.

I don't have any MC. but I can mix HC with LC.
 
Oh oops I already gave the HC + another drop of honey. I'm assuming the higher number is the honey talking.

I don't have any MC. but I can mix HC with LC.
Sorry I confused you by getting ahead of myself. Yes definitely I would givenbmore HC with a+2.5 of 54.

Just thinking ahead to your +3, if he's come up above 69, then maybe you could try some MC or LC, as +3 depending on how you are feeling, and see where that takes you. I learnt through trial and error what worked for George.
When you look back on today's cycle you can see what worked just how you wanted or what might need tweaking.
 
+3 = 86

I think I'll feed him some LC with a tsp of HC just in case since he can still drop. And I'll retest in an hour. Meanwhile.. I'm going to sleep haha.
 
Sounds like a plan.
You can learn from this, make notes on what you feed (I kept mine on the SS so I could look at the numbers and feeds at the same time.
 
+3 = 86

I think I'll feed him some LC with a tsp of HC just in case since he can still drop. And I'll retest in an hour. Meanwhile.. I'm going to sleep haha.
If he's still up at the next test, you could
1) not feed
2) a couple teaspoons of LC

Remember that the numbers may bobble about and BG could still drop.
The carbs can take up to 2hours to wear off, so as you fed sose higher carbs @+3 you'd want to make sure you get a test at +5 to make sure he doesn't drop (assuming you don't give him HC at +3.5)
 
Looks like he might have waxed his board and is heading for a spot of surfing, nice and flat from that +4.

Hope he surfs a while.
Is half a can what he would normally have at this time?
 
+6 = 81

I want to not feed him in case he gets lower in an hour. It’s technically his typical nadir time.

What do you think?
 
+7 = 70

Not feeding, ok? If he goes any lower I’m definitely gonna feed.

Depending on what happens next... I was thinking: either give him 8 units and feed him a MC dinner or give him a reduced one time shot tonight probably something like 5.5 or 6 units.
 
I think you're OK not feeding. Are you following his usual meal times now?

As for PMPS, it's your call. Would you be able to monitor?
 
Back
Top