2.7 Murphy amps 279 dental today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Member Since 2015
last post

Since that horrid red two nights, he did great last night

He's off for his dental today - gave him an early breakfast (he has to go NPO after 6 am) - vet instructions were to not give insulin unless amps >300 - in which case, give 1/2 dose - AT2 reading was 361 so I have him .6 units

question of what dose to give him tonight - after his dental a year ago, his insulin requirements went down for a while
 
Keeping Murphy in my thoughts and prayers today for an easy dental. When Menace had her dental I had to keep her on a reduced dose until the following night because her numbers were way down and she wasn't eating as well as usual so I too think you are just going to have to wait and see what Murphy's BG is tonight.
 
Lots of vines and prayers for Murphy today. Some kitties bg's are lower from the anesthesia so another vote to wait and see about PMPS. How his appy is will also be a factor. Hope this is the magic bullet for you and Murphy!
 
Vets office called me - they had an abdominal surgery that took hours longer than anticipated
Murphy's dental delayed until later this afternoon - my poor little boy
 
It's 4:30 pm here, and Murphy's dental has just started - I just talked to the vet who said that he will need at least one extraction - maybe more. I probably won't be able to pick him up until about 8pm - considering his usual shoot time is 5 pm, this is really going to throw me off - unless his sugars are sky high, I may skip tonight so I can get back on track tomorrow am.
 
It's 4:30 pm here, and Murphy's dental has just started - I just talked to the vet who said that he will need at least one extraction - maybe more. I probably won't be able to pick him up until about 8pm - considering his usual shoot time is 5 pm, this is really going to throw me off - unless his sugars are sky high, I may skip tonight so I can get back on track tomorrow am.

Whew. Good thing you got him to the dentist. I bet his numbers go down. Hugs and vines to both of you.
 
Ugh on the extractions. Poor boy. :bighug: When Neko had her first dental, her vet suggested skipping the PM dose. I did and regretted it, and didn't for the rest. Some types of anesthesia induction drugs lower the BG, not all. With extractions Murphy may not feel like eating (or he could :cat:). I've seen some kitties here with BG lowering anesthesia in play, and sore mouth not wanting to eat, and the caregiver gave full dose. Not a good scene. Better safe and skip.
 
Harvey had to have dentals every year for most of his life. For a few years it was every six months - Abys are prone to mouth issues. He ALWAYS wanted to eat that night, and even though my vet said not to feed him, I usually gave him baby food and he did just fine. Small amounts at a time, with a break in between to be sure he kept it down. He did hot have a dental after his FD diagnosis, but he did have anesthesia for other issues, as did Cinco, and I generally skipped the evening shot for both of them. Murphy will get back on track if you skip, and you get to have a good night's sleep!
 
Thanks - skipping seems like the thing to do - I just hope he doesn't pull a 471 reading like he did the other night
hopefully he got a bg lowering anesthesia - does anyone know which agent(s) do that?
 
hopefully he got a bg lowering anesthesia - does anyone know which agent(s) do that?
Alfaxalone is the one that doesn't lower BG, in my experience. It's an induction drug that's been used for a while in Canada, and just started being used in the US a couple of years ago.
 
Hoping all went well at dentist today. Sending heaps of vines that Murphy will have a good mellow night...and you, too. ;) Long day all around and for Azalea too. ❤️❤️❤️❤️
 
Just got back from vet (he was there a full 12 hrs)
He had 5 extractions!!! and he had a dental 12 months ago!! I asked the vet if he has any teeth left
one of his canine's are gone - what will he look like now? The vet did say that his teeth probably was contributing to his congestion
He's very drunk -acting but he ate a full can of baby food. I can't believe it, but at the vets, he was hungry after the procedure, so they looked in his carrier, (I keep food in there while we travel in case he goes hypo) - they fed him sheba with gravy - :banghead::banghead::banghead: so given that, and he ate a whole baby food container, and his bg was 381, I went ahead and gave him a skinny 1 unit tonight. My question will be in the morning - what to give him when he will probably be high and I won't be sure with his appy.

So thanks for everyone's good wishes - we'll see how this recovery goes now and if he will need less insulin
 
Did they give you pain meds for him? I'm sure they did, with all those extractions. Be sure to give them to him tomorrow and he'll be more likely to eat. I would start by offering him baby food, since he likes.

Don't worry about the teeth that were pulled. Cinco had no teeth left his last couple of years, and he ate very well!
 
Yes, I got bupe - they said I could start at midnight or a little before - I"ll be sure to keep up the pain meds for a few days even though last time he got terribly constipated
He's still eating up a storm
 
Ah poor Murphy losing a canine.:( But don't worry, you'll hardly notice and Murphy won't notice at all. Menace lost one too and had a hard time getting and keeping kibble in her mouth for a few days after surgery but it didn't stop her from refusing to entertain wet food! :banghead:
 
So glad that the dental went well and that Murphy is back home with you and resting. Eating is great too!

I assume that was Dr. orders. I hope Menace never needs any more extractions.....she'd have to have a feeding tube or she'd starve to death! :nailbiting:

before I switched all of mine to canned food, my compromise was soaking kibble in warm water. Still soft, but it gives them the illusion of kibble.
 
Still soft, but it gives them the illusion of kibble
Don't I wish it were that simple. I've been at this transition thing with her since she joined our family at 10 weeks old, long before her diagnosis. My girl ain't that gullible. If it doesn't crunch she tries to bury it like her waste and if looks could kill, well suffice to say I wouldn't be here! :rolleyes::blackeye::banghead::arghh::(
 
So glad he's home safely, poor little guy . January 2015 Doodles has 7 extractions and only has 4 teeth left, zero canines. Sending lots of vines and prayers for you both :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top