2 tests are at 558

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by allen, Jan 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. allen

allen New Member

Hi, I just started Tiger on 2 units twice a day and I am having a hard time getting blood from his ear. I was able to get 2 test at 558 and 559, 6 hours and 12 hours after injection, which seams like the humulin n insulin isn't working. I started with the lancet needle size 33g and 30g, which wasn't to successful at drawing blood, so I am going to try 28g. Any help would be appreciated.

2. Mystery

Mystery Member

Hi Allen and welcome to FDMB.

I'm not an expert on dosing or the effects of the humulin insulin, but I've read here on multiple occassions that humulin is not a very good insulin for cats because it is very fast acting, and wears of quite quickly. That could explain >500 #s at +6. I hope others more familiar with humulin and its effectiveness will see your post soon and offer some advice. It might be helpful if you edit your post title to include the question mark icon and refer to using the humulin.

3. MommaOfMuse

MommaOfMuse Well-Known Member

Humulin is a lousy insulin for cats, it hits hard and wears off far too quickly leaving the cat on a roller coaster ride of going very high then dropping very low very fast again. It is a fine insulin for humans and dogs but cats metabolize insulin twice as fast as either a human or a dog. At max Humulin N lasts about 4-5 hours in a cat.

Is there anyway you could get your vet to change insulins to one of the big three, Lantus, Levermir or PZI any one of the three would be a much better choice for cats. I only have limited experience with Humulin N and I know some cats have done okay on it but they are few and far between. If you can get your vet to switch insulins I think you will see much better results.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang

4. Sue and Oliver (GA)

Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member