2 weeks in, any assistance greatly appreciated

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by meredith, Apr 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. meredith

meredith New Member

Hi everyone,

My cat Dio was diagnosed with diabetes on 4/9/11. He was in DKA ( could smell the ketones) with a blood glucose of 405. From his vet visit in March, he had lost down to 7.7lbs from 11.3lbs. I've beaten myself up a million times over it because I work as a critical care nurse. I had changed the dry kibble in the house to a weight loss formula and knew he had lost some weight, but didn't put it all together until I smelled his breath. We have three cats in our house and their weight was good, Dio looked like he was getting sick. Anyway, my vet did not keep him or give him iv fluids. I know that his severe dehydration should have been treated, but I didn't argue with the vet over this. I generally get "you know how to do this" from our vet. And, I really don't know how to do this.