? 2018.09.18| Emmett • Dose Advice?? • Hmm | AM • 85 | +11 • 79 | PM • 95 | +4 • 68 | +5 • 77

Rob W. & Emmett

Member Since 2018
Previous thread: September 7, 2018

Okay, so as the ones familiar with Emmett, he has been on a great steady insulin decline. His current dose is at 1.75 units.

He started this adventure February 10, 2018 @ 1.5 units, went all the way up to 7 units on June 19, 2018.

Hmmm: As you can see, I've got some blue readings recently. He really didn't have any "repeatable" blues until Sunday and Monday night. Now, they aren't crazy high or anything, but they are blue (104 and 112 respectively).

Blood Glucose Readings (High - Low)
Highest reading at the 1.75 unit dose was 112 mg/dl (Sept 17, +12 -- PMPS, cycle 11)
Lowest reading at the 1.75 unit dose was 63 mg/dl (Sept 14, +4, cycle 5)​

Averages (Glucose Readings):
Past 7 days: 4.6 mmol/L (83 mg/dl)
Past 14 days: 4.5 mmol/L (81 mg/dl)
Past 30 days: 4.4 mmol/L (79 mg/dl)
Past 90 days: 4.4 mmol/L (79 mg/dl)​

QUESTIONS: So, if following his usual dose reduction scale (every 14 cycles / 7 days -- as it's been since June 22, 2018), he is due for a reduction tomorrow AM (September 19).
  • Should I be reducing to 1.5 units at this point ...his numbers aren't terrible?
  • Should I be increasing back to 2 units before the numbers rise more?
  • Should I keep it at 1.75 units for another 7 days?

I am not sure a 112 warrants an increased dose as it's below the 120 threshold for the protocol. Remarkably he's managed to pull of a 74 for 4 days in a row at noon! Haha

Marty (our cottage cat) is 2 years old and 74 90% of the time.


R
 
Remember dosing is based on the nadir not the pre-shot numbers. However, if you consider those blues, they could be green with meter variance. If it was me, I'd take the reduction.
 
Remember dosing is based on the nadir not the pre-shot numbers. However, if you consider those blues, they could be green with meter variance. If it was me, I'd take the reduction.

Hmm. Yes, I know what you mean. When I get low or higher numbers out of the norm, I usually do another reading. And sometimes I've had as much as 0.5 mmol/L off (approx 10 mg/dl).


R
 
So that wraps up the day. I'm not sure if there's any other opinions out there, anyway, it's a tough question...

I think I'll try the reduction tomorrow. His day was relatively good today and his PM number wasn't even blue today. So I think I'll reduce down to 1.5 units tomorrow AM, unless someone chimes in :)


R
 
Back
Top