Debra and Yoyo
Member Since 2018
Yesterday 2/28 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-148-5-173-pmps-320-2-344-4-267-8-241.211296/
Day 6 @.50Unit Lantus
Day 6 @.50Unit Lantus





In response to your PM about switching to TR:
Yes, if you are switching to TR, you would increase the dose to 0.75u tomorrow or whenever you want to switch but I’d advise doing it on a morning cycle in case he really likes the dose increase and drops lower.
Holding the dose for 8-10 cycles if the nadir is 100-200 is typically used in the case where the cat has not seen nadirs in that range but I believe it’s a good place for you to start. If his nadirs come down to, for example, 90-100 and you are happy with that, you don’t have to increase. But if he’s still bouncing a lot with nadirs in that range, you will get comments that he can use more insulin. Just to warn you.
The decision is yours on the nadirs you are aiming for but if he’s on,yngetting down to 90-100, why hold him back? See how he does and if you start feeling more comfortable with lower numbers, you can always change your mind about increases and the nadirs you are looking for.
With TR, you can increase the dose more often....after a minimum of six cycles from the last time you increased provided he’s not already in lower nadirs; in that case, you would want to hold the dose longer.
You can always switch back to SLGS; just don’t combine the two methods.
And......I just need to know which meter you are sticking with.
Below 68 is the reduction point for TR. I’ll use the AT SS then in advisingnyou.Please use his Alphatrack2 Pet Meter. I believe 67 is the dose increase compared to 50 on the human meter. As his numbers get lower I will have more notes and I will be able to compare the readings and see where dose increases will be noted. If I find the human meter has more dose increases, then I may switch meters. But until then, please use his Alphatrack2 Pet Meter.
Does bouncing always mean that he needs a dose incease?