3/2 Sebastian PMPS 247 +1 322 +2 323 +6 263

Hey Justin, what dose did you give today? And any test from last night? Remember, most kitties go lower during the night time cycle. Without testing, you are only getting 1/2 the picture as to how low the dose is taking him. With the pink start this morning, it's possible he went lower last night and is bouncing. It's important to know so that you can raise the dose safely if needed so he's not hanging in higher numbers. Without eating well, and possibly not enough insulin, and chronic vomiting, it's the perfect storm for another DKA episode. Not trying to scare you, just trying to impress upon how important the testing is.

If you get at least a PM +2, you will have a pretty good indicator of whether anymore testing is necessary. Maybe your wife and you can do tag team testing in the PM cycle if more tests are required.
 
Hey Justin, what dose did you give today? And any test from last night? Remember, most kitties go lower during the night time cycle. Without testing, you are only getting 1/2 the picture as to how low the dose is taking him. With the pink start this morning, it's possible he went lower last night and is bouncing. It's important to know so that you can raise the dose safely if needed so he's not hanging in higher numbers. Without eating well, and possibly not enough insulin, and chronic vomiting, it's the perfect storm for another DKA episode. Not trying to scare you, just trying to impress upon how important the testing is.

If you get at least a PM +2, you will have a pretty good indicator of whether anymore testing is necessary. Maybe your wife and you can do tag team testing in the PM cycle if more tests are required.
If onset is +2 and nadir is +6, how useful is +2 going to be? Not trying to shirk the tests, I just want to establish what my overall routine needs to be to get optimal data without sacrificing too much sleep. Do I need to get a +2 every night? And/or spend a couple nights a week waking up to get +3, +6, and +9? If so, how many nights a week? Consecutively or spread out or conditionally?
 
If you had more night time data, it would be easier to see when you need to test more.
It depends upon the tests you get of when you will need to test more at night. Normally, they get a food spike from dinner. Often if the +2 is the same as PS or lower then it could be an active cycle and you will want to get more tests that night.
I am wondering if you can move your whole shot schedule to be earlier, so that you can more easily get those +2s and +3s at night.
I know I had to really think about my shot schedule because of my long hours of work, and the best I could do was to shoot at 6am and 6pm because sometimes I wouldn't get home from work until 6. That only gave me until +1.5 (7:30am) in the morning to test before leaving for work, so I had to do most of my testing at night.
I thought I read once that you get up really early in the morning, so I am thinking if you could shoot earlier, than you might be able to get more night time tests after PMPS before you go to sleep at night. Just a thought.
 
Okay, so I need to get some night readings for a few days to establish what his night cycle pattern looks like and then I can adjust from there. Can do.

I thought about shifting the schedule but I think 7/7 works the best. I don't have a work schedule to worry about, just a sleep schedule, and lately I've been sleeping a bit later, past 5am (+10), so I think moving to 6 would be cutting it a little close. I also don't really want to get my wife involved because she does have to go to a real job and I don't want her to miss sleep.

Won't be able to start on it tonight, we're going to a hockey game so won't be here to get evening readings. Do have someone coming by to give him his shot though. I'm also going to adjust his diet tomorrow. The HC Gravy mixture isn't something he's consistently wanting to eat, so I'm just going to abandon it and do all LC wet. The only consistent thing about what he wants to eat is that he likes to lick a food paste off a plate, so I'm just going to go with that. Hoping I can find or figure out a way to feed that automatically eventually.
 
f onset is +2 and nadir is +6, how useful is +2 going to be?
From the New to the group sticky
Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus/Basaglar cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!

+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.


For me the +1 was really indicative, if there was no food spike or he was dropping then cycle was active, the larger the drop the faster he would drop all the way to +6 and he would need steering with food. I would get a +2 every night. I actually get a right before bed test every night with george, depending on what I see, I set my alarm or decide I can take a break. I have a lot of data, and you can see that I have been able to ease up on the nigh tests more recently as I've figured out his patterns this second time round on insulin. Some weeks ago I was testing every 2-3hrs, that allowed me to hone in on a good dose and now he's more regulated and predictable, I can get more normal sleep.

Do have someone coming by to give him his shot though.
Will they be checking BG before shooting? What time do you leave for the match?
Perhaps check his BG when you get home from the match.
 
How do mid-cycle meals factor in to the above chart? Do most people only feed twice a day, or is 4 meals a day more normal?

They won't be checking his BG before the shot but I will test before I leave (AM +10) and when we get back (PM +4)
 
Good luck with the testing tonight. Be aware his BGs should be lower with the lowering of the carbs.
 
+6 245

Good luck with the testing tonight. Be aware his BGs should be lower with the lowering of the carbs.
Yeah, that's why I was going to wait until tomorrow when I'd be here but since I will be tonight I'll start then and plan to get some PM readings.
 
Technically yes I guess. He's being so weird about it. If it's in his bowl he just sniffs at it and walks away. I have to put it on a plate and hold it under his face, he licks up a bit and turns away, I stick the plate under his face again and he licks up a little more, repeat repeat repeat.
 
Back
Top