3/20 Elizabeth PMPS 138, +2.5 90, +3.5 84, +4.5 93, +5.5 115, AMPS 204

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vicki

Member Since 2015
Hello,
Elizabeth's PMPS is 138. She has eaten wet foot today, but no dry food since AMPS. Is it okay to stick with the plan of 1u of Lantus? Elizabeth eats very little during the day. She does most of her eating at night. Any advice very much appreciated.
Thank you!
 
Are you able to monitor her tonight and do you have enough strips, and high carb wet food or syrup?

Glad to hear she doesn't at her feet!
 
Yes I should be able to monitor her tonight and have strips, some cat food with gravy, and syrup. She is eating her Hills m/d wet food right now. How does the overnight monitoring work?
 
We will take it as it comes depending on the numbers. If you want to go ahead and shoot the 1 unit I will stay with you through the cycle to guide you.

ETA - We will start with a +2 which might give us some guidance on how it's going to go
 
Don't forget to post here and put her updated numbers in your subject line. I will be checking for you.

p.s. Some of the comments in your SS made me laugh!
 
Hehe....trying to keep a sense of humor. That's my way of dealing with stress. :D I joke about what kind of earring Liz might want for her pierced ears....little lizards, little doggies....?

Okay - will post again in two hours. Got my gravy and syrup ready and hope to God I don't need them!
 
Giggling you will do fine Vicki! Best to not panic if she goes down and you are being monitored so just follow what the great women here tell you and you will be alright! I know what you are going through.
PS Jack is kind of a one stud earing guy! :joyful:
 
Yes, I'd give her a snack of her regular low carb food and see if you can slow down the drop a little

It will help a LOT if you'll change your title and put the date/name and then your numbers as you get them so we can watch along

So it'd be like this

3/20 Elizabeth PMPS 138, +2.5 90

Then as you get new tests, just edit and add them
 
Are you following TR or SLGS?

Either way I wouldn't be feeding just yet, it's not a fast drop so I think it's best to just let her keep going for now and see where she's at on the next test.

Unless it's a usual meal time then you should give it.
 
Usually, if the +2 is lower than the Pre-shot, we give them a snack because that can be an "early warning" that they may be dropping a little too much

The snack can sometimes encourage them to hop on their surfboard and surf those pretty numbers :D

And since you've cut out the dry completely, it could make a big difference in how she responds
 
I am happy to change the title, please tell me how.

I am coming upon her normal meal time. She usually does most her eating during the night, and likes to stay in the garage at night. She sleeps most of the day.

I have never figured out if Liz is on TR or SLGS. She has been having some dry food on a daily basis (1/4-1/2 cup daily), but none today. Someone said you can't be TR with dry food, and since everyone here discourages dry food if possible, I didn't give it to her today. I need to read the specifics on the two methods, which I have printed out. I've read them before but this is all new and confusing.

She's on Hill's m/d, which I know is not the lowest wet low carb food, but that's what I have. Trying not too make too many changes at once.
 
to edit the subject go into your original post. On the top right hand side you'll see a button that says thread tools, click on that and you'll get a dropped down option to edit the title.

You're right that you can't do TR with dry food. Wasn't sure whether that's why you dropped the dry specifically or if it was just for general good health. Have a look at the protocols and see what you think. If you can manage TR that's the way I'd go as it gives you a much greater chance or remission. Whatever you decide is fine just add the info to your signature so we advise you according to the right protocol. If you have questions about either/both feel free to ask.
 
Thanks - managed to change the title, and now I can see I am not the only person doing this tonight! Whoa!

I want the greatest chance of remission! Reading up on the protocols while waiting to test.
 
Looks like she's surfing nicely :D when will she have her meal (@ + what)? I think you said it was coming up soon
 
I can give it to her now, and will let you know if she eats some. She doesn't eat a lot at once - she's a grazer!
 
That's a good thing for a diabetic.

We better play it safe since we don't know her too well yet and test again at + 4.5
 
Lovely green surf :D how do you feel about getting a couple of hours sleep and setting an alarm for +6 1/2. She's probably just going to keep surfing but I'm extra cautious when we don't know a kitty too well
 
Okay, just did 4.5...next test? I feel awful pricking her ears so often, but she doesn't seem to care much.
 
I can test again at +6.5. I notice the protocol for the TR and SLGS both use the human glucometer numbers and I'm using Alphatrak 2. Is there a conversion equation I can use to get Alphatrak2 numbers?
Thanks!!!
 
Tee hee it never bothered Vyktor at all either and his ears always survived nicely. We did 19 tests in one cycle once :eek:

See my thoughts on the next test above your last post. How are you going, don't know what time it is there but I'm assuming it's quite late.

If you don't want to sleep and set the alarm you can prob just do one in another hour and if she's still surfing or higher call it a night since she'll have food available.

Has anyone mentioned before that you want to remove any leftovers at +10 - so you know your PS test isn't food influenced.
 
There isn't an accurate straight up conversion from alphatrack to human, it's about 30-40%. The important numbers to remember will be the reduction numbers, which depend on which protocol you're going to follow. I think there is an alpha version of the numbers for the TR protocol on the university of QLD website. If that's what you decide you want to follow I'll see if I can track it down for you.
 
Hmmm... Perhaps I will take the 1 hr choice and call it a night if the numbers are good! It's 1am here, but I am a bit of a night owl, so this isn't a big problem.

Someone did tell me not to feed after +10 so as not to influence the PS test, and that makes sense. The last couple days we've been on an 8am-8pm schedule, but I can probably adjust that a bit gradually, because I don't want to be getting up at 6am just to take any remaining food away. By 7am - 8am there is never any remaining food, so it probably isn't a problem. I work out of my home, so any 12 hour schedule will work for us.

I feel like an idiot because I have read these protocols over a couple times each now, and it still isn't sinking in. I am thinking TR, but will look at them again in the morning.

19 tests in one cycle, wow!! I am hoping Liz gets into an easy routine, but looking at all these spreadsheets tells me I better not get my hopes up!

+5.5 coming shortly!
 
I didn't have success with this test as Liz seems to have had enough. She has already eaten the food I gave her an hour ago. Do you think I need another test tonight? If so I can try again, or try again in an hour. Let me know what you think.
Thanks!
 
She said I could try it again, and at +5.5 got 115. Let me know what you think.

So, the two protocols call for reductions and increases at different BG levels?
 
I hope you eventually switch to a human meter like the rest of us use. It makes it so much clearer when you're not worried about how your meter works against another meter

In the meantime, if you're using the AT and want to know the approximate number it'd give in a human meter, take the number you get on the AT and times it by .65%....so if your AT shows 100, that'd be 100 x .65, which is 65 on a human meter.

If your goal is remission, and she's totally off the dry food, and you can test at LEAST 4 times a day, then you can do TR!!
 
I got the AlphaTrak because that's what my vet uses, and this whole process had me so nervous and confused (still does), that I just didn't want there to be any confusion. Funny now there's confusion because I don't have a human meter. I don't mind switching to the human meter once I get in the grove, and use up the strips I have for this meter. At the rate I'm going, that won't be long.

Question - am I done for the night? Or should I do another test, and if so, when?

Thanks for that conversion - seems simple enough!
 
I think you're probably good for the night....if you can, you might want to get a +8 just to add that data....and if you're up early, a +11 will give you some time to decide on what you might want to shoot at AMPS if it's still a low number

You could always just go ahead and start using a human meter...save the AT for your backup meter in case your main meter breaks.

Great cycle tonight!

I'm heading to bed...almost 3am here
 
Sorry I had my alarm set for the 2 hr option.

Will she have some food available when you go to bed. I think she'll be fine now anyway but with an unknown quantity always best to be safe than sorry since that +5.5 may be food influenced
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top