? 3/21 Shoes, AMPS 494, PMPS 327 , +2 144, +2.5 100, +2.75 84, +3.25 77, +3.75 88, +5 96, +5.5 112

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dang it! Was hoping it would continue to drop at +6! Staying about the same. Maybe he will get a later nadir.....
 
If it were me I'd give at least .75 oz. of LC which is 1.4 of the can and maybe a tsp of MC and check in an hour and see what's what.
 
PS and Sandi, what I do that helps me see how the food steered, is I put in my cell with the number what I gave food wise ,ie .75 oz LC &1 tsp of MC. Then you can look back and see what kind of hike or drop that gave and then a subsequent time you might need to increase the carb count if you didn't get the result you needed.
 
Last edited:
Thanks. He dropped to 100 at 8:00 pm. Vet had me give him Nutrical about 1/8 tsp. and check again. Will check in 15 min. at 8:15 pm. He is not in too low numbers but just want to keep him from dropping further. First time he has cleared a bounce this quickly so hopefully making some progress.
 
77 at 8:45 pm so it slowed down finally. I gave 1/2 tsp of FF gravy at 8:45 p.m. Maybe I am not patient enough to let the food and nutrical work but I don't want another almost hypo.
 
He's still in good, safe numbers, but I'm glad he slowed down some

If you have a few minutes, it'd help to go ahead and put the latest numbers into the subject line of today's post so we can keep an eye on him.

Surf safely Shoes!!....those 70's are beautiful for surfing..but the 80's cause less stress on the bean!! ;)

Edited to add...if you run out of room on the subject line, you can delete some (or all) of the AMPS numbers
 
I added to my comment above...just delete the extra numbers from this morning....right now, we want to see the PM numbers since they're a lot more important

That's a "bounce clearing" cycle!!

Just don't be surprised if he bounces again by morning
 
I added to my comment above...just delete the extra numbers from this morning....right now, we want to see the PM numbers since they're a lot more important

That's a "bounce clearing" cycle!!

Just don't be surprised if he bounces again by morning
I am expecting it to happen. But since this one cleared faster than the others hopefully it won't be so bad of a bounce. Am wondering if I need to use a higher carb food now. Well, the one night in my bed last night was good while it lasted. It's back to the couch tonight for sure!
 
So since he dropped fast tonight, would that be considered that his depot was overfull since it would have kept dropping if I didn't add food, etc. to slow it down?
 
beautiful! The goal is to keep him in normal range, green numbers, for as long as possible. That's the range where his pancreas can heal, if that's possible for him. I wouldn't give him anything except regular low carb at this point. A couple of teaspoons may be able to help him "surf" along in green for a while now.
 
So since he dropped fast tonight, would that be considered that his depot was overfull since it would have kept dropping if I didn't add food, etc. to slow it down?
I don't think this is any comment on his depot. He's simply clearing a bounce.

The idea of the "overfull depot" is when a cat has just had a dose reduction and the depot from the previous, larger dose, is still giving out too much. Or when the cat *should* have had a reduction and didn't. I don't think either of those applies to Shoes right now.
 
beautiful! The goal is to keep him in normal range, green numbers, for as long as possible. That's the range where his pancreas can heal, if that's possible for him. I wouldn't give him anything except regular low carb at this point. A couple of teaspoons may be able to help him "surf" along in green for a while now.
Do you think I should give more food tonight even after the other things that I have given? I think he's going to keep rising now.
 
I don't think this is any comment on his depot. He's simply clearing a bounce.

The idea of the "overfull depot" is when a cat has just had a dose reduction and the depot from the previous, larger dose, is still giving out too much. Or when the cat *should* have had a reduction and didn't. I don't think either of those applies to Shoes right now.
Ok. Thank you. Trying to understand things a little better.
 
Do you think I should give more food tonight even after the other things that I have given? I think he's going to keep rising now.
It's up to you. If he were willing to eat it, I might still give him a little low carb. But if you think you've fed him a ton already, then let it go. Just file it away for next time he gets into green numbers.

good job slowing down his drop tonight!
 
It's up to you. If he were willing to eat it, I might still give him a little low carb. But if you think you've fed him a ton already, then let it go. Just file it away for next time he gets into green numbers.

good job slowing down his drop tonight!
Thank you! I didn't expect him to clear the bounce tonight but I didn't want to take any chances that it might slip up on me because he dives so deeply and fast! Will check him again at 10 or 10:15 and decide then about the food.
 
Sorry Lisa...my internet is acting up some tonight

I'd stop feeding him now so you can get another test in and make sure he's going to stay in the safe numbers without having to always be propped up with food

Since you're using the AT, we just don't want him dropping below 68
 
Sorry Lisa...my internet is acting up some tonight

I'd stop feeding him now so you can get another test in and make sure he's going to stay in the safe numbers without having to always be propped up with food

Since you're using the AT, we just don't want him dropping below 68
Hope you meant me, Sandi. I wonder if I should change his daily food to a higher carb now from the 5 or below that he now gets? I might have confused you and Julie in your earlier reply when I asked if I should feed him higher carb now? When I went back and read it, the meaning wasn't clear. I was wondering about changing his daily food.
 
Yes, I did....was thinking of the last post I had commented on....Sorry Sandi!!

No, I'd continue feeding the food you're on now....what we do suggest occasionally is if he makes a habit of diving early, we might suggest feeding a higher carb food early in the cycle to slow the drop down and help "even him out"
 
Hmm, technically yes. With SLGS you reduce if the kitty goes under 90. Can you do a 0.1u dose again? Pictures are on the sticky that mentions fine doses, although you've already done it.
 
I agree with the "hmm, technically yes" part too but you really do test enough to do TR

I just worry that he'll lose momentum now that he's finally starting to see some better numbers, but of course the choice is up to you.
 
I agree with the "hmm, technically yes" part too but you really do test enough to do TR

I just worry that he'll lose momentum now that he's finally starting to see some better numbers, but of course the choice is up to you.
I hear you both. I guess I will wait and see how high he bounces in the am.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top