3/24 Shoes AMPS 197 +1 322 +1.75 279 +3.25 +6.25 309, 229 on vet lab, PMPS 392, +2 467 +4 483

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice amps for Shoes, good shooting.

Looks like he has decided to clear the bounce, I would get a +1 in and try to feed the curve if he is dropping, to see if you can slow him up, they can gather quite some momentum when clearing a bounce.

Here's a post that talks about it and the benefits.
 
Nice amps for Shoes, good shooting.

Looks like he has decided to clear the bounce, I would get a +1 in and try to feed the curve if he is dropping, to see if you can slow him up, they can gather quite some momentum when clearing a bounce.

Here's a post that talks about it and the benefits.
Thanks. I plan to get a +1 and feed more. We increased dose last pm to 0.25 so that probably sped up him clearing bounce.
 
No, I don't really think it's a bounce

You had 2 cycles with No Shot, and then just one with the reduced dose of .15, so you're working on filling the depot again to the .25 level.

It can take up to 6 cycles before you'll see what the .25 is going to do. Every time you skip a dose or shoot a reduced dose, the 6 cycle "shot clock" starts over

One pair of patience pants, coming up!! You choose the color!!;)
patience pants multi-small.jpg
 
No, I don't really think it's a bounce

You had 2 cycles with No Shot, and then just one with the reduced dose of .15, so you're working on filling the depot again to the .25 level.

It can take up to 6 cycles before you'll see what the .25 is going to do. Every time you skip a dose or shoot a reduced dose, the 6 cycle "shot clock" starts over

One pair of patience pants, coming up!! You choose the color!!;)
View attachment 19359
Had the 24 hours (2 Cycles) with only 1 shot. On 3/22, I split the shot with the reduced dose to 0.15 into 18 hours to get back on track so would you call that bounce or NDW?
Were you not able to do China's dental?

I am choosing the black pants to match my feelings and depression over all this today.
Edited because the original wording sounded rude and it was not meant to be!
 
Last edited:
I decided to have Shoes checked at the vet's today for my own peace of mind. He got a thorough physical and check up and a blood glucose check. He was fine and weighed 8.6 lbs, up from 8.3 a month ago. I took my Alpha Trak 2 meter and did a test at the same time that vet ran test, but not on the same blood sample. My sample came from the ear, vet's from vein. Guess what? The Alpha Trak 2 was 80 points higher!!!!! That's more than the allowable range of 20% + or -. It seems that when the glucose numbers get in the higher ranges, the meter is way higher than reality! I also did a test using the control solution and it was 143 which is well within the test range. So this has made me feel better about all of these reds and blacks that Shoes has been getting! In reality, he's not gone that high! Have no way to test the lower range of numbers because I sure am not going to rush him to an ER at night when he drops down into those blues and dark greens just to compare numbers. Thinking I will contact Abbott about this.
 
Last edited:
I decided to have Shoes checked at the vet's today for my own peace of mind. He got a thorough physical and check up and a blood glucose check. He was fine and weighed 8.6 lbs, up from 8.3 a month ago. I took my Alpha Trak 2 meter and did a test at the same time that vet ran test, but not on the same blood sample. My sample came from the ear, vet's from vein. Guess what? The Alpha Trak 2 was 80 points higher!!!!! That's more than the allowable range of 20% + or -. It seems that when the glucose numbers get in the higher ranges, the meter is way higher than reality! I also did a test using the control solution and it was 143 which is well within the test range. So this has made me feel better about all of these reds and blacks that Shoes has been getting! In reality, he's not gone that high! Have no way to test the lower range of numbers because I sure am not going to rush him to an ER at night when he drops down into those blues and dark greens just to compare numbers. Thinking I will contact Abbott about this.
That is really odd---
I have BW done pretty often and we are usually spot on or within maybe 10-
Maybe they didn't spin the blood right away?? That would make it look lower on the labs-
 
That is really odd---
I have BW done pretty often and we are usually spot on or within maybe 10-
Maybe they didn't spin the blood right away?? That would make it look lower on the labs-
No it was done immediately and correctly. The Alpha Trak 2 at least mine is way off at the higher numbers. I have contacted the company. It's not even a month old. I think it's probably really close in the low numbers though. I have noticed that even when it appeared that Shoes was in those high reds he still acted like he felt okay. His ears bleed quickly and a lot now that they are used to it so the test strip was not lacking in blood. I am using the 30 gauge lancets because he does bleed so easily now. I would suggest that anyone with an Alpha Trak 2 meter check the higher numbers with the labs the next time they have them done. I do think the lower numbers are probably spot on because if they were higher than a lab, as low as his numbers have gotten at times, he would have hypo'd or at least had symptoms but he has not.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top