3/4 Smudge AMPS 333 PMPS 280

Astexcat

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-3-smudge-amps-174-pmps-352.226499/

Good morning all, an expected higher number after yesterday's lower AM dose but overall good. Getting a BS reading from a cat who realizes everyone else has been fed but her is absolutely NOT fun.

To continue yesterday's discussion, right now my moderator suggested no-shoot level is 150.

So, if I get a reading lower than that, the idea is to stall w/o food for 10/20 minutes to see if it rises. If it doesn't, would the advice be to skip or reduce dose. If reduce, what would a suggested amount to reduce it be.

At night I can stall a bit, so that is less of a problem. This is primarily for AM shots since I have to go to work and morning schedule is a bit tight.

Thanks :)
 
Bridget -

Can you add that you're following SLGS to your signature?

Just to tweek the language a bit... I really dislike the term, "no shoot number." It's one thing if you have a pet sitter giving insulin in your absence but other than that, think of that number as a "post and ask for help" number. There are so many factors involved in making a decision whether or not to shoot and ultimately, you want to be able to shoot progressively lower numbers. Too many people look at whatever the number is as black or white and that it's fixed in granite. It's neither!

So, if I get a reading lower than that, the idea is to stall w/o food for 10/20 minutes to see if it rises. If it doesn't, would the advice be to skip or reduce dose. If reduce, what would a suggested amount to reduce it be.
If you're stalling, you can repeat the process of test and see if numbers rise. I would not suggest stalling for more that 2 hours. Also, remember, no matter how long you stall, your next shot is due 12 hours later. As a result, stalling can play havoc with your shot schedule. Your schedule may be a realistic constraint on how long you can stall.

As for skipping or reducing the dose, the choice depends on the circumstances. Reducing the dose is no guarantee that numbers won't drop. Remember, you have a depot that may effect numbers (and you don't have a crystal ball with regard to what is going to happen during a given cycle). Reducing will depend on what you know about your cat, what the current dose is, etc.

I know you would like answers or "rules" but in many cases there aren't hard an fast rules in these situations. Members will have different experiences with their cats and be able to share those experiences. It doesn't mean that those different experiences are right or wrong for Smudge. That's the hard part of getting to know your cat and how Smudge responds to insulin especially in these sort of situations.
 
I'm an engineer, I love data but also have an overwhelming fondness for fairly straight line guidelines. It depends, while a great answer when you're giving it kinda stinks when it's that answer you're receiving o_O

I've just noticed there aren't as many people up bright and early when I'm doing my AMPS so at least an idea of what to try is helpful, even if not a hard answer. Fortunately, her onset is pretty solidly around +4, trouble is I have yet to nail down her nadir. It seems to be around +8/9 as it's usually on the way back up by +11.

Based on that, if I stall/retest and the number goes down I wouldn't want to shoot if I wasn't going to be home to monitor. I probably really do need to make it somewhat mandatory to try and get an overnight around +8/9 so I can compare to the AMPS and make sure she's going the right way.

Cats....it's a good thing they're so good at making us think they're adorable and loving.
 
Back
Top