3/6 Sebastian PMPS 302 +2 309 +3 323

Changed the title to a ? to see if anyone else can jump in with advice. He's been flat right around 50 for almost 12 hours now. Theoretically that's right about where we want to be, right? So is there anything special we should do in addition to what we already have planned?
 
The depot reducing dose is to help him use up some of the leftover depot from the 5 unit dose, but because he still has that full depot you will need to continue to test like you have been (great job last night!) for bit or maybe the whole cycle. I hope you can catch some naps today.
 
Okay, I will be on and off this AM and will look in. So glad he is eating.

As Gill mentioned on last night's thread, even though you are doing a 1 time reduction to help drain the depot, the first part of the cycle could still be active from the larger depot so some monitoring through the 1st 1/2 of this cycle will be necessary. Hopefully, the +1 and +2 will give you an indication on how it will go and hopefully you can catch a nap.
 
With the depot draining dose, dose that mean we potentially need to further decrease the regular dose tonight, or is that just to get us to the new dose depot quicker?
Idea is that the depot from the 5u will drain with this and that should give you some breathing room until the new dose refills.
So tonight I think you should go back to the 4.75u, I would expect him to be high, but now I've said that he'll probably stay green. But let's see where he heads over the course of today.

Glad to see him get out of the 50's finally, good shooting this morning. Since he looks like he sometimes onsets between +2 and +3, if he is flat at +2 I would get a +3, if he starts to dive again, the sooner you can start feeding the curve the more control you will have over the BG.
 
if he is flat at +2 I would get a +3, if he starts to dive again, the sooner you can start feeding the curve the more control you will have over the BG.
Sounds like a plan.

Idea is that the depot from the 5u will drain with this and that should give you some breathing room until the new dose refills.
That's what I thought. I just feels weird, having been at 7u so long, the idea that a decrease of 0.25u would have any noticeable effect. But, we're in completely uncharted waters here since he's never been this low the entire time he's been DX. And I guess when our target window is really only about 30-50 points wide, it makes sense.
 
he's never been this low the entire time he's been DX
I suspect the power of the carbs in the kibble he insisted on eating had something to do with that.

I just feels weird, having been at 7u so long, the idea that a decrease of 0.25u would have any noticeable effect.
Ideally we want him a bit higher, but not too high and 0,25 can have a big impact. If he is still low at pmps we may need to rethink that. Sometimes they can stop bouncing and race down the dosing scale, if glucose toxicity breaks or IAA breaks, so that's in the back of my mind. He makes it difficult to know what to do for the best because of the DKA. Make sure you grab a ketone test at some point today as we've given a significantly reduced dose, so want to make sure there are no problems brewing there. Also if he becomes off in any way let us know straight away.

81@+2. Made him finish up his breakfast right after. Hopefully between that and the smaller AM dose that keeps us pretty flat. I'll get a +3
Hopefully, but I suspect he hasn't onset yet. Good on making him finish his brefs.

I'm heading out again, got to pick car up from garage, and try and fit that in before TFS over here. So probably will be gone when you get the +3.
If he is dropping, and in the 50's at +3 I would break out the HC right there and then, 2tsp, see if we can knock him on the head and slow him down.
I just keep waiting for the bounce..... but so far nothing.
 
So, I ran out of test strips for my human meters. I though I'd be able to fall back to the alpha trak, but that just said 215. So either there's a lot more disparity between the two than I thought or he's had a super bounce. Are the numbers really that different between the two types of meters?
 
So, I ran out of test strips for my human meters. I though I'd be able to fall back to the alpha trak, but that just said 215. So either there's a lot more disparity between the two than I thought or he's had a super bounce. Are the numbers really that different between the two types of meters?
Usually, the numbers are closer together when the BG are in the lower numbers and start getting further apart when the Bg's are in higher numbers. Did you retest to make sure it wasn't a bad strip because that is a big difference. It is possible he started a bounce.
 
Usually, the numbers are closer together when the BG are in the lower numbers and start getting further apart when the Bg's are in higher numbers. Did you retest to make sure it wasn't a bad strip because that is a big difference. It is possible he started a bounce.
I didn't double check it. I had developed a pretty decent sense for when I was going to get a bad read on the AT and it felt like a good draw. I just checked him for the +4 though and it's 229, so pretty inline with the previous reading and looking like a bounce.
Contour strips should be here within the next couple hours, tracking shows them on the truck. Got 6 bottles of 50 coming and I'm going to make sure to re-order back up to 6 whenever I crack open the 3rd bottle so I'll always have about 200 on hand yet, just in case and so I make sure to never run out again. I'll get a reading with them as soon as they show up and I'll get a ketone reading a little later since it looks like he's riding higher now.
 
Bounce or you are seeing the effect of the lower dose.

Justin we talked about bringing the shot forward, if he is in high yellow say above 270 on the Human meter and not dropping at amps, then I think it would be ok to bring the shot forward by that hour we talked about.
But if he's below 270 then I'd only bring it forward by 30 minutes.

I've got to head out to the opticians, DH is picking up his new specs.
 
Got the human meter strips in
238@+7.5

Justin we talked about bringing the shot forward, if he is in high yellow say above 270 on the Human meter and not dropping at amps, then I think it would be ok to bring the shot forward by that hour we talked about.
But if he's below 270 then I'd only bring it forward by 30 minutes.
I was only planning on moving it forward 30 minutes anyways so sounds like we're all good on that.

I'll check him again at +10 just to make sure there won't be any surprises at PMPS
 
He's certainly on the rise.
It could be a bounce, but equally it might just be the effect of the reduced dose.
If it's a bounce you should see him remain flat through the next cycle.
Since he does seem to onset around +2-+3 I would probably make sure you test till then tonight just to make sure he doesn't suddenly dive on you when he hits onset.
If he's still in the pink rising or flat by +3, then you can get your well earned rest.
Remember to reduce the dose to 4.75u

I'm shattered, going to feed the furry gang and off to bed. Good luck with tonight.
 
PMPS 302. Flat since the +10. Moving schedule up by 1/2 hour tonight, accomodated by the depot drain shot this morning. Dosing at the new reduced 4.75u. I'll test at +2 and +3 to make sure it's a bounce and he doesn't crash from the onset of the regular dose.
 
Back
Top