3/7 Smudge AMPS 243 +5 317 +7 216 PMPS 161 +2 314 +4 398

So this will be a new low to shoot for me tonight, luckily, it's an evening shoot, so I can monitor tonight. Given that I'm using Levemir, and her onset seems to be around +4/5, when is the best time to grab a test to make sure she's not headed the wrong direction.

I'm trying to be brave and learn to like the blues, it just feels really scary. Not sure I'd be shooting a full dose if I had to go to work.
 
It might make you feel more comfortable to do a curve tonight - is that possible? Get 2+, 4+, 6+....if there are any big drops at any of those times, you'll want to increase the testing intervals - yep, I know, no fun to stay up half the night with kitty - but this is a new low for you to shoot...let's hope he's headed for a nice surfing session tonight. It looks to me like he has no problem hitting the nadirs at 6+ and 8+ - cats are notorious for going lower at night too....so keep that in mind. Maybe get yourself ready for a pajama party...

Do you have plenty of test strips, medium and high carb food and karo syrup (or other liquid sweet stuff, like honey or maple syrup)...just in case in your hypo kit?
 
Any time you shoot a lower PS than you're used to, it's a good idea to get a +1 and +2 so that IF you need to intervene, you can do it sooner rather than later.

Depending on those first few tests, you can sometimes see when you need to get more tests later in the cycle.

Don't forget if you're in the US, you "spring forward" tonight too!
 
So if she spikes up to her typical 300s at +1/2 I should be ok or will it still be test every two after that. Also, how much do you generally anticipate the food eaten at dinner to affect a +1 or +2? I don't think I've ever tried to capture that soon after eating.

Yes I have a stocked hypo kit, although I'm hoping that won't be necessary. Given her pickiness, I can only hope when needed the medium/high carb stuff still holds her attention. If not, there is always the canned dog food, which seems to hold appeal just because it's for the dogs.

Also....what constitutes a big drop? +100/hr?
 
Often kitties will get a 'food bump' - but since you're shooting a new low, I think it would be wise to follow @Chris & China (GA) advice and get a 1+ and 2+ to make sure Smudge isn't continuing to drop. And yes, a drop of 100 points would be cause for heightened awareness. When Luci drops 100 points I set a timer to make sure I test again in an hour and often I will give her a teaspoon of MC along with her LC - to make sure she's eating something to help keep those numbers from diving.
 
Fair enough, the +1 was a no go, she just wasn't having it but the +2 is about where I expect it to be, so that makes me happy. I'll keep checking to see what the before bed is, if it stays up I'll feel ok that she's following her usual trend.
 
Back
Top