+3 BG is 47. Time for gravy?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Alison & Sarge, May 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alison & Sarge

Alison & Sarge Member

I am concerned. I am curving Sarge with 2 units of Novolin 2 (the lowest dose he as had to date) and he is at 47 at hour 3. I am afraid he has at least an hour until nadir. Is it time to start giving gravy to head off a problem? He is eating and acting fine. He now has a spreadsheet in my signature. Easy peasy thanks to the good instructions :)

2. Jennifer and Hannah

Jennifer and Hannah Member

I have no experience with Novolin (Hannah is on Vetsulin), but we had a near hypo last week and I followed the hypo protocol anyway, just to be safe. But she was only 134 at +3 and hit a low of 59 at +5 after high carb food being given starting at +4. A BG of 47 at +3...I would definitely bring on the gravy and have the syrup nearby! Did you test BG twice to be sure?? If you can get another BG in quickly, maybe check that before you start with high carbs, but otherwise, I'd start in ASAP and test every 15 minutes until he's through the expected nadir. I'm still new to this, but it sounds like cats will always recover from a temporary hyper, but a hypo can kill in a very short amount of time.

3. Jennifer and Hannah

4. Jennifer and Hannah

This part seems particularly applicable from the 2nd link in my last post:

=========================================================================

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using syrup plus LC food is an alternative.)
    Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.