366 +9

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Stressedcatmom, Mar 29, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stressedcatmom

Stressedcatmom Well-Known Member

Hi lovely people.

Yoshi gets his shot at 730a and pm. He gets a little groggy and a bit worse on his hind legs when I come home from work between 4-5pm. The vet advised that I check him when I get home to see if his sugars were running low.

I tested him just now after a bit of a fight and two test strips. He was at 366. Do you think it's a bit high because the insulin is wearing off?

He has a vet appt next week to test fructosamine levels. Vet told me not to come in until then 2.5 weeks after diagnosis because she wouldn't get a proper reading until then.

I'm a professor and insanely busy right now, I have yet to set up the spreadsheet but I've been recording the 5 tests I've done over the last two weeks.

2. Kris & Teasel

Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

The 366 is high and if you're in EST and gave a shot at 7:30 AM, it's his BG at +9. ProZinc is usually good for 12 hours so I wouldn't look at duration as the first choice of cause. It could be that 2 units is too high or too low a dose. You need to get started on a regular testing routine, set up a spreadsheet and log all your data for several days to get an idea of what's going on. The fructosamine test will only give a general idea of average BG in the previous few weeks. It can't distinguish between BGs staying high all the time or BGs swinging from very low to very high.

3. Stressedcatmom

I'm sorry. I'm central time. I'll test again pre shot. I just gave him a little canned food. It's so hard to get him in the mornings

StephG likes this.
  4. Yong & Maury GA

Yong & Maury GA Well-Known Member

Typically we do not give any food 2 hours prior to pre-test because the number will be food influenced. Just for future reference ;).

5. Rachel

Rachel Well-Known Member