4/12 Doodles AMPS 350 PMPS 264 dosecrease +2 382 (2.5R) +5 330 +8 321

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 4/11 Doodles seems to be feeling good...nice and chipper this morning. The new toy I ordered from Chewy.com arrived yesterday and low and behold it's actually a Droolers Toy! Oddly enough both Doodles and Moo are a little interested in the HUGE rat on the end of the rope. One good thing is Moo definitely won't be able to break this one.

I sent the email this morning requesting a script for Levemir. We'll see if the IM vet complies or pushes back.

@Marje and Gracie you observed that Doodles food spikes are much higher at PMPS. He eats the same food but the major difference is the noise/commotion factor. In the morning it's nice and quiet around here. At PMPS between DH watching TV, making dinner, sometimes unexpected guests and the noise in the neighborhood I wonder if that contributes to it.

Vines and prayers to all the kitties and beans:bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Happy to hear that Doodles is feeling good!
Doodles....you were sooooo close to blue yesterday! Can you make it there today? :cool::cool::cool:
 
That's too funny that they would play with a drooler toy! Happy to hear that Doodles is feeling good and I hope that he is getting ready for another mostly yellow day.
 
Good luck with the vet giving you the RX for Lev. My feline and canines interchange their toys with each other. I often see Forest playing soccer with one of Lucy little balls and Lucy is often batting around one of the cat's mouse toys. It nice to have them share and play nice. Fingers and Paws crossed for some lower numbers today. Die antibodies, die!
 
Fingers crossed that the vet will give you a script for the Lev. Also glad that Doodles is feeling good. I hope they like the rat on a rope.:)
 
I sent the email this morning requesting a script for Levemir. We'll see if the IM vet complies or pushes back.

@Marje and Gracie you observed that Doodles food spikes are much higher at PMPS. He eats the same food but the major difference is the noise/commotion factor. In the morning it's nice and quiet around here. At PMPS between DH watching TV, making dinner, sometimes unexpected guests and the noise in the neighborhood I wonder if that contributes to it.
I'm glad he's feeling well today...good luck with getting the levemir.

I suppose it's possible. I never toss anything out the window. He doesn't always do it and I find sometimes cats get a food spike, sometimes they don't, sometimes it's less, sometimes more.

looks like he's headed in the right direction!
 
I suppose it's possible. I never toss anything out the window. He doesn't always do it and I find sometimes cats get a food spike, sometimes they don't, sometimes it's less, sometimes more.
Who the heck knows...he is such a Doodle these days :cat: Hoping he'll hit yellow and coast there today...we'll see!
 
Wow that was a fast three days. I'm thinking by the time you get a response on the lev, you get the script, fill it, etc., it might be a few cycles. No matter what dose he is on with Lantus, we will drop him back 30% to start lev.

I think increasing another 2u is a good idea but I want to bounce it off some of the high dose moms, ok?
 
Vet tech called back not Dr. B of course. Basically saying they don't want Doodles under 180 blah blah. I had to bring up Levemir and basically it was a No but he'd bring it up to Dr. B. I argued candidly with him and in the end told him I'd find a vet who will prescribe it. Because he's starting to see Yellow her interpretation is that he's doing good. I reiterated he's only seeing yellow because I have to give R 3 times a day. Looks like I'll be hunting for a new vet again.:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Vet tech called back not Dr. B of course. Basically saying they don't want Doodles under 180 blah blah. I had to bring up Levemir and basically it was a No but he'd bring it up to Dr. B. I argued candidly with him and in the end told him I'd find a vet who will prescribe it. Because he's starting to see Yellow her interpretation is that he's doing good. I reiterated he's only seeing yellow because I have to give R 3 times a day. Looks like I'll be hunting for a new vet again.:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
Oh Karen, I am so sorry that you have to go through that process again on top of administering L and R..... so many hugs to you!
 
Karen, it's possible your vet is reluctant to give you a script for Levemir because he/she has never heard of it/used it. Not sure why you are wanting to switch over but I'd call them back and ask why they won't write a script to find out their rationale before giving up on them. I switched to Lev because of uncomfortable shots for Menace with the Lantus. My vet admitted to knowing nothing about Levemir (had never heard of it). She however, did some research and gave me her blessing. Of course here I can go buy it OTC anyway but I wanted to keep my vet in the loop. My vet is a keeper who admits when she is out of her element such as with the IAA we are both dealing with. Thank goodness we have the folks here to help us along!
 
Not sure why you are wanting to switch over but I'd call them back and ask why they won't write a script to find out their rationale before giving up on them
My main reason for switching is the sting factor. He does OK but I've seen over the months that he gets some skin twitches. Have also had recommendations from the team here in L&LL which I highly regard. If the vet would actually call me back I'd be happy to have a rational conversation. At Doodles last visit she just kept saying Levemir is too strong of an insulin and that I couldn't measure a small enough dose :confused: We've only seen her twice as a new IM vet for him when he became the mystery cat. In our first visit she didn't agree with TR (when he was in green). We're just not seeing eye to eye. The first IM vet from last July put him on Lantus and gave us sliding scale to use...ugh. It took me until last Nov. to find L&LL and finally dosing correctly. He had bad neuropathy and it didn't get better until we joined here and had him in normal numbers. Sorry for the lengthy note...needless to say I've struggled with our vets.
 
BKs vet (#3) was terrified when she saw his ss and the amounts of Lantus and R I was using. Although she had never heard of the IAA test I requested she ordered it. Then she insisted I change to Prozinc, which I would not do. She then told me when BKs Lantus prescription next came up for renewal she would not renew it. As luck would have it not long after that threat the IAA broke and it became a non-issue.
 
Oh boy! You are getting the same take on Levemir that I got. My vet, while not adverse to letting me try Levemir, suggested a far lower dose than what the folks here recommended as she was somehow convinced it was much stronger. Stupidly, I listened to my vet and basically set Menace backwards. I then speeded up the dose increases to get back on track in accordance with the recommendations here.

That sting factor and the skin twitching were too much for me to deal with much less Menace. I want to help Menace but I am not prepared to torture her to do so. It sounds to me like your vet is not well versed in feline diabetes or the various insulins if he/she's talking "small enough doses" and you are using "R" to help get the numbers down to yellows. Ok rant over. Try to get the vet on the phone for a direct frank conversation and if no luck, then I guess shopping around for a new vet is the best option.
 
Karen, you are so informed and so active with Doodles treatment. Any vet who was worth anything would do a little research ) like you have all ready done ) and understand your reasoning. Maybe you could provide her/ him with links to substantiate your reasoning.
 
Just heard back from the vet tech (nope the Dr. didn't call). He said Dr. B is not comfortable writing the script and I can come pick up his records. I don't deal with unreasonable people that can't even call me back personally. Since he doesn't need to see an IM vet there is no money in it for her.
 
Just heard back from the vet tech (nope the Dr. didn't call). He said Dr. B is not comfortable writing the script and I can come pick up his records. I don't deal with unreasonable people that can't even call me back personally. Since he doesn't need to see an IM vet there is no money in it for her.
Good for you Karen! Do you have any leads for a more reasonable vet?
 
Just heard back from the vet tech (nope the Dr. didn't call). He said Dr. B is not comfortable writing the script and I can come pick up his records. I don't deal with unreasonable people that can't even call me back personally. Since he doesn't need to see an IM vet there is no money in it for her.

That's just downright rude! Not to mention the fact that s/he didn't even listen to your concerns about Doodles's well-being. I'm very sorry! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

...but I am sure that there is a better vet out there - and someone who actually cares.
 
Great PMPS! Good luck with the dose increase.

I understand your frustration with the vets. I had to go through four before I saw ours. She is not a micromanager. She looked at the SS and we talked but she left dosing decisions to me. One of her colleagues is a little better versed in diabetes. I only saw her a few times but she was easy to talk to and never tried to change our dosing strategies.

I hope you can find someone up there to work with.
 
wow on the vet. I think you'll be happier with someone else. I'd guess they don't know much about Levemir and don't want to spend the effort to learn. He might also be scared of the use of R and how Doodles is not a "typical" diabetic cat, if there is such a thing. How aggravating. I hope you can find someone better.

Team Doodles is optimistic about 12u! Nice response to 10u and we just need a little bit more action. Work that juice, Doodles!
 
Oh Karen so sorry about your vet problems, its the last thing you need to be dealing with. I hope you manage to find a vet to work with you.

Down right rude that Dr B wouldn't even speak to you and let the vet tech do their dirty work.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top