4/15 Rudy AMPS 316, +2 347, +3.5 326, +5.5 382, +9 381 PMPS 401, +1 345, +2.5 302, +4.5 332

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen1218

Member Since 2017
4th cycle at 4 units. Saw a yellow last night and a low pink AMPS today. I'm hoping the new dose is working.

Rudy was in fine form last night - racing and leaping through the apartment. He even messed with Kiki the civvie til she hissed at him. (She's my alpha. She hisses and the others listen.)

The last dose increase was done after 4 cycles - should I do the same this time or let it ride for now?

Yesterday's post:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...3-9-5-341-pmps-348-3-286.176316/#post-1940204
 
According to the info @julie & punkin (ga) gave you about Fast Tracking, you would continue until you see a blue number then you would space out the increases every 6 cycles for TR.

Since a lot of kitties drop lower at night, however late through the PM cycle you can get a test would be helpful so you will know if he hits a blue number. If you are like me, I get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom and I would grab a test then.
 
I was trying to answer the question below:

The last dose increase was done after 4 cycles - should I do the same this time or let it ride for now?

So, what I was trying to say and didn't convey well was within the link above. You can continue to fast track or move his dose up by .25 unit increments until you see a blue number.
 
Correct. And try to get a later PM test to see if he reaches a blue number. If he does, then you would start to hang on to the dose according to the guideline.

Cool. I'd give anything to be able to follow the guidelines. I'm tired of spinning my wheels here.
 
401 at his PMPS. He's supposed to be getting better - not worse. I'm really getting tired of this.
 
Here's the deal. When you increase, the increase doesn't show immediately. Sometimes after an increase, the kittie actually goes higher on around the 2nd cycle before coming down. I know it is disheartening so, I share with you that Bubba didn't start to go down in numbers until we hit the 5.25 mark. I am not saying that you will have to go there too, rather I am saying, please raise Rudy in .25 increments and be patient. Bubba is currently Off the Juice ( OTJ) Hang in there Jen. Keep posting and keep asking questions and let peeps here help you and Rudy. :cat::bighug::)
 
Hang in there, Jen. You want to keep your eye on the overall picture rather than a single number. I know that all too well - been there too. Punkin's dose climbed the entire summer of 2011, with no basic change in his numbers, and I remember how discouraging that was.

My initial comments were about fast-tracking up to 4.0u because Rudy had already been on 4.0u when he was getting Prozinc. That's also why Wendy had said to see how he did on 4.0u on Lantus. I think it was ok that you went to 4.25u and my fingers are crossed that this dose will move him. I think I mentioned before that it's not uncommon for it to look like the dose isn't doing much - like you're seeing now. At some point one of these dose increases will move him though - every cat has a dose that will.

For tonight, I'm wondering if he might be clearing a bounce. Some cats will have a high number right before they clear a bounce, and he has dropped 100 points in the first 2.5 hours of this cycle. I'd try to get another test around +4.5 (ish) if you can, to see if he's going to get to blue tonight.
 
Slightly higher at +4.5 just now. It's just so frustrating. I feel like I'm not helping him even though I'm doing everything I'm supposed to. I want to feel like what I'm doing is actually working. And now I've got my Sphynx as a sickie too. It's all very overwhelming.

I just gave everyone a spoon of food. I'll let them rest for now and test Rudy again in 1.5-2 hours.
 
Sending some "be well" vines to Sphynx.

I don't think you need to test again tonight. He doesn't look like he's going down at this point. Take a break and regroup tomorrow. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top