Erica & Carter
Very Active Member
Hello everyone!
Carter started his Lantus today and I have high hopes this will be better regulation than the Vetsulin.
Carter is acting completely normal today, and every day since he started insulin, so you'd really never know his BS has been so high every AMPS the past two weeks. Last night, however, his PMPS was 79, his first green number, which is ironic as I'm about to now switch insulins! I skipped last night's Vetsulin dose as even stalling didn't bring him up over 100, not sure if that will have a carry-over or bounce affect today... he seems to be the king of bouncing, at least on Vetsulin.
The needles and 1/2 unit markings are making me be extra cautious, as well as drawing insulin out of the pen properly so it provides maximum use.
He is eating all of his portions, drinking but not OVER drinking, urination normal (slightly larger amounts, but only 2-3 times a day) and I've been testing him for ketones for the past 5 days. No history, just wanted to try and grab a sample whenever I saw him go in, as I learned a few days ago hovering over him does not make him want to use the litterbox any faster and is a huge waste of a day. Barely caught him in the box today with just a few dribbles on a spoon, haha! All tests have been negative.
Sorry if I post with a lot of seemingly silly questions over the next week, I just have to adapt in the mindset of Lantus versus Vetsulin. I'm currently in between jobs so the next week or two is when I'm going to try to gather as much data as possible so I'm more prepared and aware of the dosing.
I also just ordered 3 automatic feeders and a pet fountain (to encourage more drinking from all the cats, since they like drinking out of the tap/the toliet)
Here we go! Hope everyone has a good Tuesday! Mine will be job applications and BG tests!!
Carter started his Lantus today and I have high hopes this will be better regulation than the Vetsulin.
Carter is acting completely normal today, and every day since he started insulin, so you'd really never know his BS has been so high every AMPS the past two weeks. Last night, however, his PMPS was 79, his first green number, which is ironic as I'm about to now switch insulins! I skipped last night's Vetsulin dose as even stalling didn't bring him up over 100, not sure if that will have a carry-over or bounce affect today... he seems to be the king of bouncing, at least on Vetsulin.
The needles and 1/2 unit markings are making me be extra cautious, as well as drawing insulin out of the pen properly so it provides maximum use.
He is eating all of his portions, drinking but not OVER drinking, urination normal (slightly larger amounts, but only 2-3 times a day) and I've been testing him for ketones for the past 5 days. No history, just wanted to try and grab a sample whenever I saw him go in, as I learned a few days ago hovering over him does not make him want to use the litterbox any faster and is a huge waste of a day. Barely caught him in the box today with just a few dribbles on a spoon, haha! All tests have been negative.
Sorry if I post with a lot of seemingly silly questions over the next week, I just have to adapt in the mindset of Lantus versus Vetsulin. I'm currently in between jobs so the next week or two is when I'm going to try to gather as much data as possible so I'm more prepared and aware of the dosing.
I also just ordered 3 automatic feeders and a pet fountain (to encourage more drinking from all the cats, since they like drinking out of the tap/the toliet)
Here we go! Hope everyone has a good Tuesday! Mine will be job applications and BG tests!!
Attachments
Last edited: