4/24 Rex AMPS 261, 242 +10, 176 PMPS, 80 +3, 85 +4, 96 +5, 89 +5.5, 102 +6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandy & Rex (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Of course, of course... Rex was 261 this morning after I had to ask last night about what to do if he happened to be in the green. At least I had no issue about shooting and leaving.

In another condo, I read that a 12 hour curve is necessary with SLGS, but not with TR. Why not?

Good day to everyone!
 
In another condo, I read that a 12 hour curve is necessary with SLGS, but not with TR. Why not?
Its because the protocol for TR has you testing more often. Nothing is stopping you from doing curves though if you have time. It does give a good picture of what the cycles are doing.
 
I was just looking at you SS. Rex is looking good on this new dose! See the splattering of yellows and blues in a sea of red is nice. :)
 
I was just looking at you SS. Rex is looking good on this new dose! See the splattering of yellows and blues in a sea of red is nice. :)
Yes, Rex really likes being on 3u. It showed immediately. Now I just need to refill the depot so I can see what I should do next - increase 0.25u or wait a little longer because I got a green Saturday morning. It's so nice not seeing so many pinks and reds!
 
Hi there! If you haven't all ready give some LC food to help slow him down and help to surf And retest in 30 minutes. If he continues to drop you might need to bring out some MC food
 
And to answer your question about which test is best , I always got a +2 to see how active the cycle was going to be. Also one before I went to bed to know if I needed to continue testing.
 
Hi there! If you haven't all ready give some LC food to help slow him down and help to surf And retest in 30 minutes. If he continues to drop you might need to bring out some MC food
Ok, all the cats will be happy! I couldn't dare doing just Rex. Lol. Just a teensy bit?
And to answer your question about which test is best , I always got a +2 to see how active the cycle was going to be. Also one before I went to bed to know if I needed to continue testing.
Good to know. I go to bed after +3.
 
I just finished feeding the cats. They got a snack as I don't know if I want to make this a habit. I'm trying to figure out what to do during work because my smallest and oldest cat eats slow and he showed me today he didn't get enough this morning. The other cats hover around him, waiting for him to walk away, but he always comes back to an empty dish 3 minutes later. Although this may not be a bad thing... I have a dog to worry about during the day, too, with the wet food.
 
Before you go, since it is mid-cycle,
how much have you fed that LC?
Judging by the time of the cycle he can lower more.
Perhaps you may need t stay just a bit later...:)
 
The +3 of 80 is twice as less as his pre-shot of 176 this cycle is active and some more lowering around/close to nadir will take place.
How much was that LC snack at +4?
 
It was like 3-4 tsps wth a little water added. I don't measure. He used to dip at +2 and PMPS until I increased to 3u. Now he seems to have nadirs around +6.

I see Ducia went low today, too. Fun times!
 
I see Ducia went low today, too. Fun times!
How true!
Rex's BG 85 at +4 followed by the Tablespoon plus of LC is good move.
If his nadirs is around 6, well, if it was me I would test at +5.15-5.30.
But let's see what others think, maybe it IS all right for you to go to bed.:)
 
I don't see anyone online that was helping me earlier. I'll test again at +5 then decide. That's in half an hour. Will you be around?
 
Another person you get to help this week! I read that condo where you helped someone with their cat being too low.

I don't like coffee. I don't want to perk up if there's a possibility of me going to bed in 20 minutes. ;) Are you always up late? It's 10:30 PM here. My bedtime is by 9:30.
 
I it is for Ducia I would be worrying for about another hour and half .
If you said that you fed at +3.5 about Tablespoon plus LC and 90 min later is still rising all you need is to confirm he IS rising or stable for a bit longer. The insulin hasn't reached its strongest yet, the nadir.
Take a test at +5.5, post it here. Let's see what that number said.
If it is higher or about the same I would give another snack like that, make sure it is eaten in full, and maybe then go to bed.
Rex appears to be a good boy, not a dropper, and it is almost half cycle.
You r bed time is around :), just not not yet, sorry. :)
"It is better to be safe than sorry", isn't it?
 
:) I don't mean to torture you, God forbid, it is that the +5 reading is a food BG, not Rex alone.
It is better to make sure he is stable when food wears off. :):bighug:
 
I can do a +5.5 test. I think I might go into work a little late so I can catch up on some zzz's... unless Rex surprises me again in the morning! I didn't think of +5 test being food influenced. Good catch!

Does a cat need to go hypo 3x before the dose is decreased or are there exceptions?
 
Does a cat need to go hypo 3x before the dose is decreased or are there exceptions?
No. no, not HYPO, but below 50 on the human meters, it is big difference :).
For the long term diabetics, such as my Dusia is, it is necessary. That's how the creators of the TR protocol got their amazing remission rates.
I might be mistaken reading your signature, but if Rex is a newly Dx kitty, less than year, then no, he doesn't have to put his Mummy thru it three times before getting a reduction.
You do know, I am new to it, so it is best to discuss the details of the protocol with more experienced members.:)
 
If you get a chance maybe you can add the +5 reading of 96 to your title line? This way ppl who just log in know you are not in trouble any longer.
 
But I thought your kitty was dx'ed only 2 months ago? Rex has his one month anniversary with Lantus on Thursday.

I'll post about the reduction protocol tomorrow. I'll do the +5.5 test now then edit the title.
 
So much for going to bed. :(

+5.5 89. I'll wait and do a +6 before feeding. Sounds good? I want to give Rex the opportunity to do this on his own.
 
That's right, Ducia was Dx-ed on Feb 24th, but she lived with high BG for a long, long time, months perhaps, and I didn't now.
She used to be overweight, I switched her dry and wet to wet only but unwittingly choose the HC wet food, over 20% carbs and fed it on daily basis.
It is only when she got DKA, refused to eat, etc I acted :banghead::banghead::banghead:.
That's why I say she is long term diabetic - not by Dx, but by her symptoms.:(
 
I understand. I think Rex had symptoms for at least a month and half or 2 months before I took him in.

Rex is sick of me testing him because he wants to sleep. But I'm glad I could do this and see what I need to do when this happens.
 
+5.5 89. I'll wait and do a +6 before feeding. Sounds good? I want to give Rex the opportunity to do this on his own.
How about testing at +6 & posting here?
Normally it is 2 readings without food influence before you think you are done with falling. It is 2 hours since his last meal.
I think yo are all right, but just to be on the safe side because both of us a new here...
 
So much for going to bed
I am sorry about it, but now yo have priceless experience that will help Rex a lot one day - yo know how fast and to what amount of LC he reacts good enough to stay safe on the mid-large dose of insulin. I promise, nothing is more liberating/confidence building in the whole FD business as to know thy cat in this practical way.
Sorry you under sleep.:(
:bighug:
 
I am sorry about it, but now yo have priceless experience that will help Rex a lot one day - yo know how fast and to what amount of LC he reacts good enough to stay safe on the mid-large dose of insulin. I promise, nothing is more liberating/confidence building in the whole FD business as to know thy cat in this practical way.
VERY TRUE! I'm not complaining.. much. I missed out on this on Saturday and regretted not getting the experience.
 
He is fine.
Well done!!
Maybe a little reward for putting up with it all, a teaspoon of LC?
It is up to you, though.
2.5 hours without food = safe.
Great surf tonight, Rex. :cool:
The dose seems to be good, but do talk to someone.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Have a good rest, Mandy!
 
SLGS protocol says don't shoot under 200 unless you can monitor. If that goes well, then it drops to 150 for no shoot. I'm using TR so it's more aggressive.

Thank you so much, Tanya! Good night! Rex wants to sleep so I'll let him be.
 
I'm sure your kitty will be just fine but can someone explain to me why some people shoot under 200 BG and some don't?
It depends on which protocol you are following, and how much data you have, as well as your ability to monitor. On SLGS, once you have a fair amount of data (a month or two), we encourage you to lower that "no shoot" number. An experienced member doing SLGS will shoot anything over 90, if the cat is eating and they can monitor. On TR, experienced members will shoot anything over 50.

Mandy, great job tonight! I'm so sorry that you didn't get more responses, but Tanya is really getting good at helping out around here, so you were in good hands! I know it's tough to lose sleep like that, but a little sleep deprivation now can really pay off in the long term. The better you know your cat and his response to insulin and to food, the easier it will be to plan your schedule and know when to monitor more or not. Of course, always keep in mind that you are dealing with a cat, and it is the mission statement in their manual to keep their beans guessing! :rolleyes:;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top