4/26 Silver AMPS 203 PMPS 166 Ketones 4.7 :-( plus diarrhea

Status
Not open for further replies.

Juliet

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-25-silver-home-pmps-247.194660/

Silver seems fine today. Not too worse for wear after the dental. Quiet squeak of a meow this morning instead of his usual yowling for breakfast so maybe a little out of sorts. His sister has been sneezing lately which was my tell tell sign Silver was diabetic so I hope she's not gonna be sick too. Will test her at the weekend for my own piece of mind.
 
I'm glad Silver is doing good this morning and ate for you last night. I hope the sneezing for his sister clears up and it's nothing serious. Sending prayers.
 
I'm glad Silver is doing good this morning and ate for you last night. I hope the sneezing for his sister clears up and it's nothing serious. Sending prayers.
Thanks. Am hoping we start to see his numbers coming down a bit now. Curve at the weekend so that should be enough time to have stabilized the depot from yesterday.
 
So glad the dental is done and over with. I know how relieved you must be. Can’t wait to see what Silver does now. Hope the sneezing is just a fluke and not the sign of anything concerning. :bighug:
 
Okay so why are the ketones now higher than they were a day or two ago?? :arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh:

Also came back to a present of diarrhea on the floor which I presume is Silver. Is this something to do with the dental meds? or anesthesia? Should I be worried?

Nice blue PMPS though....
 
I don't know what is up with the ketones, maybe because he went without insulin for the dental? You're doing what you can to beat them back, I hope it's just their final battle cry and now that the dental is done, numbers may come down, and ketones will be easier to control.

Asia gets softer post vet visit stress poops and her numbers get wacky for a couple days post vet. I hope that's all that is going on with Silver. I think you can relax a bit right now and worry if it persists. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I don't know what is up with the ketones, maybe because he went without insulin for the dental? You're doing what you can to beat them back, I hope it's just their final battle cry and now that the dental is done, numbers may come down, and ketones will be easier to control.

Asia gets softer post vet visit stress poops and her numbers get wacky for a couple days post vet. I hope that's all that is going on with Silver. I think you can relax a bit right now and worry if it persists. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Sounds good. Worrying is exhausting. He was only a few hours late with his insulin the day of the dental tho. I'll test again at the weekend. Ketone testing is upsetting. He is fine so not rushing to vet no matter what number I see.
 
Hi Juliet, I am glad the dental is over and that the bad tooth was removed. Hopefully his numbers will start to come down. Also glad that the blue pre shot is in the PM so you can monitor him and I hope that he gives you a green number tonight and earns a reduction.

Ketones: Bubba started throwing ketones after his eye surgery. Surgery stress can cause them to throw them. As long as he is eating for you, and you are hydrating him well by putting water in his food, they can come and go. I did treat Bubba's ketones at home. But, if he starts to go higher ketones and stops eating, time for a vet visit.

ETA: Or if he seems "off" to you in any way. DKA can come on quickly, so be vigilant. ( not trying to cause you more anxiety, just giving information.)
 
Last edited:
Hi Juliet, I am glad the dental is over and that the bad tooth was removed. Hopefully his numbers will start to come down. Also glad that the blue pre shot is in the PM so you can monitor him and I hope that he gives you a green number tonight and earns a reduction.

Ketones: Bubba started throwing ketones after his eye surgery. Surgery stress can cause them to throw them. As long as he is eating for you, and you are hydrating him well by putting water in his food, they can come and go. I did treat Bubba's ketones at home. But, if he starts to go higher ketones and stops eating, time for a vet visit.

ETA: Or if he seems "off" to you in any way. DKA can come on quickly, so be vigilant. ( not trying to cause you more anxiety, just giving information.)
Thanks. Am being super vigilant. His meals are very soupy these days. Green would be nice but not expecting it. He is still doing reverse curves on me and his preshots are still his lowest numbers. Weird. Even vet couldn't explain.
 
He's just so darn cute if I say so myself. Two shaved paws now.
D30E9A89-A092-456E-B245-CB5A15DAFDF8.jpeg
5A797765-4CAB-4C5C-9040-01259ED21B18.jpeg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top