4.27 Bella amps127,+1 121,+2 86, +2:20 88,+4:20 98,+6 140,+8:15 244,pmps 283,+4 229, Friday nite pic

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Bellasmom, Apr 27, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
  2. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I shot 1.25 will get a +1 and +2 to determine what kind of food to leave down, does that sound like a plan?
     
  3. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Well, look at that PS!! :eek::cool:

    I swear theses kitties text each other and conspire against us :smuggrin:
     
  4. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    They do! I hope he is safe today can only get +1 and +2 before work, at what number should I leave down MC
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  5. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    And they also laugh at us, let’s mess with our beans this am and it makes us :confused::confused::confused::confused:
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  6. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    You just don't have much data - understandable. Did you have to give any MC or additional food on 04/22 AM cycle? (similar AMPS #)

    I think you are just going to have to see if he is dropping at +2. Are you using a feeder? I think it has been asked/answered but I don't remember.
     
  7. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    No I didn’t give anything, should I have not shot him? I have feeder on the way, should be here today
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  8. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    The similar amps is what I based on giving shot, you are right now a lot of that kind of info to go by, i onlymgave 1 drop,the other am and see what it caused his numbers went terrible all because of that I didn’t want to set him back but I don’t want to kill him either
     
  9. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Now I’m worried that I shouldn’t have
     
  10. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I think shooting was fine.
    Lets see what +2 says.
     
    Bellasmom and LizzieInTexas like this.
  11. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    He has only went hypo 2x since dx, first was the day I brought him home on Novolin N and second time was on Novolin, never on lantus
     
  12. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    If the number is the same or lower, think about giving something that is higher in carb.
    MC if the same and perhaps HC if he has dropped at +2

    Will he graze if you leave food out? or will he scarf it all in an instant.
     
  13. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    He will graze he is not a scarfer, well I say that but he hasn’t had high carb for in a very long time so he may scarf lol lol
     
  14. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    +2 is in 45min
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  15. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Is he food driven? Will he eat without you there?

    Here is Gizmo getting used to his feeder. He was hearing the motor turning and was running to eat. Lol


     
  16. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Lantus is much gentler, so you have time to carb him up should you need to.

    Well that can work, if the +2 suggests activity (if number is same or lower than PS) then give MC or HC (the lower that +2 the higher the carb) and leave some LC food out for him to snack on for the rest of the cycle. It doesn't matter if this aborts the cycle, better to high for a day than too low for an instant, and he will get back to business soon enough (depot won't have been depleted)
     
  17. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I will be on my way to work. @Gill & George will you be around?
     
  18. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Cute guy, just like BFG when he hears his go off.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  19. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Yes I will. I've been out already this morning and done some my chores.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  20. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Now he just sits/lays in front of it waiting :rolleyes:
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  21. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Sure have missed you :bighug:

    You are a God send for us US early birds :smuggrin:
     
    Gill & George and Bellasmom like this.
  22. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    That’s so cute, well Bella’s feeder will open if he goes near it, it’s a chip he wears, hope those are ok, someone on here sent it to me
     
  23. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Love that they are around this early makes me sleep better at night knowing someone angel is watching us this early and you to @LizzieInTexas
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  24. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Silly kitty lol
     
  25. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    How many hours ahead of us are u I know u told me, what time is it there it’s 630 am here
     
  26. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I will have to get Bella a collar today lol he’s never had one on lol should be interesting I should video tape it lol
     
  27. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    :bighug:

    For a long time Carla was the only one around this early and she and I post about the same time. Shooting (early in this dance) was scary because I just had to go on my gut. I have only had to "call in sick" or be late a handful of times because of dropping #'s.

    It is one of the reasons I get the +11, It gives me an idea what I am going to do.
     
    Bellasmom and Gill & George like this.
  28. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Good idea, I will set my alarms from now on, I did the other night but will make it a habit now
     
  29. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    What does the +11 mean to morning stuff, yeah dumb question lol
     
  30. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I think I'm 6 hours ahead. so when you shoot at 5 it's 11 am here.

    LOL George sometimes wonders up to it hopefully looks in the compartment even when it hasn't turned hoping there will be some food there as if by magic.
     
    Bellasmom and LizzieInTexas like this.
  31. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    It is difficult. I get 6 hours of sleep and that is if I can get hubby to test +4 (and stay up at night if he is dropping).
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  32. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    I test @ 3:30a which is +11 from the PM cycle the night before. I then shower and get ready for work, get his feeder done and tfs (test/feed/shoot) by 4:30a. I can then get +1.5/+2 before I leave for work.
     
  33. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Dang you get up before I do lol I get up at 4:30, maybe I should do what you do so I can get more tests done
     
  34. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    We gotta green
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  35. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I think I would give some high carb now, because you have to leave, and have you got time to test in 20min/30min?
     
  36. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    two teaspoons perhaps.
     
  37. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    20 min as much as I can do
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  38. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    That will be good enough if the HC hasn't bumped him up much then you can put down some more.
     
  39. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    He’s eating
     
  40. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    What do I do if it hasn’t done anything
     
  41. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    If the when you get the next test he has come up into low blue then I would give some leave some MC down for him to snack on.


    If it has not bumped him up leave HC down for him to snack on.
     
  42. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    If he has dropped you could add a some syrup/honey to boost the carbs in the HC. ( a couple of drops only as too much can make them sick)

    He's not in the danger area, if you were able to stay home then you would handle this completely different.

    I know you talked about upping the dose, I think you need to hold this dose a little longer. Hopefully he will have a nice cycle at the weekend and you can see how low it is taking him and how he responds to using lower carbs.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  43. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    88
     
  44. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Agree
     
  45. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I left mc down
     
  46. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Did you give some more HC?
    I might have been tempted to give some HC now and leave a bowl of MC down.
     
  47. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Sorry I don't know why, but I only just got notification.
     
  48. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I left mc down
     
  49. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Did i do right thing should I worry
     
  50. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I'm just not sure if the MC would be enough. I would have expected the HC to have bumped him up, the fact he stayed level was OK, but ideally I would have liked to see him come up a bit more, because it is early in the cycle.
    So leaving HC down if he didn't come up to low blue(as I said above), would have been a more cautious approach. It may well have sent him to the moon, but with wet food their numbers would soon recover.(usually the very next cycle)
    Now I know you said he loves the MC so if you are more confident that he would eat that as needed then perhaps for Bella that would be the better choice.
    There is always the possibility that you wouldn't have seen the effect of the HC after 20min, some kitties take longer to process.
    There's a good chance that he will bounce of these numbers anyways, I hope the MC is enough to keep him safe.
    But to put it into perspective if you had been home with Bella, I would have suggested sticking with LC.
    I've just always been extra cautious when I can't be home to monitor.

    Stay safe Bella. No shenanigans please.
     
  51. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Jeez I was struggling to get the website to post the above.
     
  52. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Jeez I was struggling to get the website to post the above.
     
  53. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Is going to die? Or hypo, should I take off maybe at noon
     
  54. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I would hope that he would be OK.
    I can't say that he won't hypo, there is always the risk.
    Lantus is much gentler than the Novolin.
    So if you have left him plenty of MC down and you know he will happily munch on that, chances are he will be OK. He will probably bounce, and the extra carbs will probably inflate his numbers.

    I just think that when you can't be there then erring on the side of caution might be the best approach (it's what I did with George), I would just rather overcarb him than risk the hypo. I was less nervous leaving him that way.

    If the HC is not something he likes to eat as much as the MC then the MC is the better choice, you want to leave something down that you know he will happily eat.
     
  55. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
  56. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    The website was under maintenance earlier and I had the same issue.
     
  57. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
  58. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Surf it Bella.
     
  59. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Gosh, Bella! Guess he took that dosecrease threat seriously!

    I think he'll be fine, @Bellasmom, once the MC (and, as Gill and George says, possibly even the HC he got before the last test out the door) hits his system. Plus, he's not the most bouncy cat in the world, but he's bouncy enough that just hitting greens this morning will likely start him revving his own engines to counteract this morning's insulin. And again, his numbers this morning have been super-safe, and wouldn't have triggered anything other than LC food but for the fact that you weren't going to be around to monitor his surfing.

    I know (all too well!!!) how hard it is to be at work on days like this :nailbiting:, but you've done what you needed to to keep him safe. :bighug: :bighug:
     
    Kris & Teasel and Gill & George like this.
  60. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I’m going home
     
  61. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
    I hope I haven't caused you undue stress.
     
  62. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Bella behave yourself. Mom has to work to afford all your stuff. The least you could do is cooperate.

    Smokey always new when I had to work or be out of house for extended time. He would do his cliff diving act the night before or morning I couldn't be home. He also new when shipment of test strips arrived, we would end up using a whole bottle of them the day they came.

    Olive seems to pick 1 am to do her act. She is good with 6% carb food. It bumps her right up. One little bit and off she goes. So I knew she was okay after her +7.5 last night and I could finally go to bed.

    I use the petsafe 2 compartment feeder at night. The others can get the food but I put in food they don't like. It makes no noise. Sometimes Olive will sit by it waiting for it to open. Smokey was always trying to break into it.
     
  63. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I'm on my way home
     
  64. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Not knowing is drivi g me crazy, get home test and will know next time
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  65. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I can relate. You be safe going home too, especially if you are driving.
     
  66. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    :joyful: :joyful: :joyful:

    Post as soon as you get a number!
     
  67. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Driving like NASCAR lol almost home 5 min
     
  68. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    The next time I will feel better with me texting him today
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  69. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Aaaaw, I remember this Paula. Sweet Smokey.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  70. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Testing him not texting lol
     
  71. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Please be careful!! We don't want you getting pulled over!!
     
  72. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    You work close to home. That is handy.
     
  73. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Bella cam help clean house and laundry
     
  74. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Use to joke on how he memorized my work schedule.
     
    Gill & George likes this.
  75. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Can't now school bus
     
  76. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    You have time to clean house and laundry???? Your amazing lol.
     
  77. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Bella too, couldn't wait till tomorrow
     
  78. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    No, about 45 min, I was driving like a nascar driver lol made it in record breaking time
    Not a bad number for HC food, it was orijen so I don’t know how much carbs, to me they are higher than his raw, gonna get some HC treats though
     
  79. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I’m a great multitasker
     
  80. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Dry or wet?
     
  81. Sharon14

    Sharon14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Glad you made it home safe! I was waiting to see Bella’s number before I left for work, now I’m late!:rolleyes: Glad all is well
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  82. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Good to see he is n nice green.
    Did he eat all of the MC you left down.
    Looks like you made the right choice.
     
  83. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    All is well in Bella Land. Bella you worried mom so, stop that.
     
  84. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    :bighug:

    I completely understand that.
     
  85. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    So what was his BG when you got home?
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  86. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    It was orijen cat food, it’s not real high as I don’t have real high in carb food, gonna stop and get some HC treats to day
     
  87. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    98
     
  88. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    How often should I check it
     
  89. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    LOVELY!! :D
     
  90. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    He only ate like 1 or 2T
     
  91. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Was that a +4? Try for +6?
     
  92. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    He's safe now. Looks like that small amount of medium carb food did the trick. Important info for the notes section on your SS.
     
  93. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    +4:20 and I checked orijen is 14% carbs
     
  94. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    That's medium carb. I think you can wait until +6 to test again.
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  95. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Ok now I feel better, next time I won’t be biting my finger nails off, I could never live with myself if I caused him harm or death
     
  96. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    And knowing that the 1 or 2T will do,the trick, but not skyrocket him, I don’t want that
     
  97. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    I ve had to panics this week, that is enough!!!!
     
  98. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    It was dry, I don’t have any wet HC food, didn’t think about it honestly, never had to worry about Bella being in lower numbers before, I will get some HC food
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  99. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Seems the MC works he’s very carb sensitive
     
  100. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
  101. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    I thought that orijen cat and kitten dry is more like 20% carb. Where did you get 13% from?

    As you are doing TR it is best to find a HC wet food that he will eat, then you can squeeze out the gravy (that's were most of the carbs are) when you need it. It was ok to use it today, but with TR it's important that there is no dry food in the picture, it is one of the prerequisites.

    In the absence of wet HC food you can add honey or syrup to his regular food, to increase the carbs load.

    Based on today's numbers I wouldn't describe him as being overly carb sensitive. I would have expected to see a hike in numbers if he were very carb sensitive.

    But enough of that.
    Lovely green run of numbers:D:D:D:D:D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page