4/27 Ella pm 109

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by tpr, Apr 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
  2. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella

    am 212...in all honesty I'm really nervous. We got a sunny yellow the next cycle after the no shot and she dove big time. Lucky I was here to catch it. I can come at lunch but that would be at +6 and according to her ss on the 25th she started diving at +3.

    Not sure what to do
     
  3. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212

    Hi Tamara.

    Do you want to skip the shot?
    If it were me, I would shoot 0.50, but it's up to you.
     
  4. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212

    ok..maybe a .50 may be ok. I will get a +1.
     
  5. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212

    She does seem to be coming down from a bounce.
     
  6. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212

    I bet you can't wait until the weekend comes, when you can monitor her all day, and not have to worry while you're gone.
     
  7. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212

    I can't wait for the weekend!!! I'm not excited that I will spend all my free time testing but atleast I know she will be safe. I'm blasting through strips so I'm going to need to get some more. It saddens me that they are so expensive.

    She jumped and ran when I gave the shot but I caught her and didn't feel any wet spots or smell insulin her fur so I think it went in! She's never done that before so maybe I hit a nerve?!
     
  8. Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

    Ann & Maggie11 (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212

    Morning, I hope you and Ella both got some good sleep last night. Sending vines for a good surf. I see you used to use the AlphaTrak meter. Are the Contour strips less expensive hopefully?
     
  9. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212

    Hi Ann:)

    Yes they are less expensive although I haven't had to buy them form the pharmacy yet. Lil, another member onthe board had extra after Kit wnet OTJ and I bought a bunch at a great deal from her. 50 strips on the AT cost $75! That's too much for my budget.
     
  10. Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

    Ann & Maggie11 (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212

    Hi and that's great with getting them from another Bean. I know with the AT strips. I've been buying two boxes at a time from American Diabetes Wholesale for $104.99 or approximate, still pricey. Have a good day at work and paws crossed for a good surf day for Ella.
     
  11. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212

    Well that's a good price. I wonder if they ship to Canada?
    Mnay of the discount places don't:(

    Hope you have a great day!
     
  12. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212

    OH NO +1= 104!!!!
    I'm going to have to stay for a +2...what am I going to do?
    I can't take the day off!
     
  13. PeterDevonMocha

    PeterDevonMocha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104

    Hi guys .. oh yikes, what a predicament you are in! Does Ella enjoy MC? Do you feel like if you left MC down she would eat it and surf along? That's quite a drop at +1 .. I hope others with more experienced eyes catch this .. On the strip note, we use the relion micro from wal mart, the strips were 20 for 50 .. do you have access to that? Have a great weekend guys!
     
  14. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104

    Tamara, I think that you just have to leave down lots of lc + syrup or mc and just trust Ella to eat it. Can you get back to check her during your lunch time again today?
    I wish I lived closer to you. I would come over to monitor her. But by the time I got there, you would be home for the evening. I hope that your day will be OK and that Ella will, too.

    Hugs from us,

    Ella & Rusty
     
  15. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104

    Greg had to come home from school. She's dropping like crazy. Her last bg was 28.8. Update: 46.
    He is pumping her full of syrup and hc. At what point must he take her to the vet? She is only at +3 and she is majorly low.
     
  16. Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

    Ann & Maggie11 (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Wow, there's not too many here right now; I'll try and pm someone. I think if it were my kitty and since no one can be home with her, better to be safe and take to Vet. Ant others here think the same?
     
  17. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Can you go in late?

    Please give Ella lots of HC. I'm heading off to work. I'll try to check back.

    Here are the instructions for handling low numbers.
     
  18. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    I'm here Tamara. Sienne had to go.

    Calm...ok..we want to stay calm. Pls retest 15 mins after the syrup and let me know where she is and then well decide.
     
  19. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    I'm not home..greg is...he is communicating to me and I can communicate to you.
     
  20. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Ok...did you see my post?
     
  21. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Update?
     
  22. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    last test 41.44...she's bobbling up and down. he's been feeding 5ml hc every 15
     
  23. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    he's got his own spread sheet going..how can i get you on it marje?
     
  24. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Is he not able to update the one in your condo? Can he just post the numbers for me in your condo? 5ml every 15 mins is way too much. How many times has he done that? You have to give her a chance to catch up.

    Pls send me numbers every 15 mins and you need to add a little food into the mix here so the syrup doesn't wear off and leave her back in the 30s. Just a tsp...maybe HC food ok?
     
  25. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    5 mls hc not syrup...sorry!

    i am trying to get him to attach the ss to my profile..otherwise I will post to the condo.
     
  26. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Ok...so he's syringing her food? If he hasn't given any syrup, have him put a drop or two in the food just for an extra boost. I'd like her up a wee bit more this early.

    Is everyone ok?
     
  27. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Tamara, can you get Greg to log on to the board (with your name and password)? And to put Ella's numbers in her Google SS? It seems to me that time is of the essence here.

    edited to say: please disregard the above. Greg is doing fine.
     
  28. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    10:45 = 3.1

    he was giving syrup for a while...let me see if I can transfer the info. I don't want to overwhelm him right now.
     
  29. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Ok...3.1 converts to 62. Alright...please tell him to breathe. Let's lay off the HC and syrup. Retest in 30 mins from the last time she ate. Post before he feeds more after the next test. Ok?
     
  30. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Time Action Reading mmol/l Reading mg/dl
    9:00:00 feed hc 5ml 2.2 39.64
    9:15:00 feed gravy 5ml + 5 drops syrup
    9:25:00 rub syrup 3 fingers 1.6 28.82
    9:35:00 feed 5ml hc
    9:45:00 feed 5ml hc 2 36.03
    10:00:00 2.6 46.84
    10:15:00 feed 5ml hc 2.2 39.64
    10:30:00 feed 5ml hc 2.3 41.44
    10:45:00 3.1 55.85
    11:15:00
     
  31. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    on my conversion hart 3.1= 55
     
  32. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Ok...well use yours as it is more conservative. Great job Greg!!!

    So just send me the number at 11:15 and then well decide what to feed. Time for :coffee: for Greg...maybe add some kahlua.
    ;-)
     
  33. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Thanks Marjorie :YMHUG:
     
  34. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
  35. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Thanks Greg. You are doing terrific. I'll be here for your next test. She will probably continue to wobble but YOU are in control. We are all here to help. If you get a lower number ...in the 30s on the next test, then go ahead and feed her a bit more HC with a drop of syrup and then post.

    If she's in the 50s or higher, then post so I can decide what we want to feed.
     
  36. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Excellent job, Greg. Just what we need. You are Ella's hero today.

    Ella & Rusty
     
  37. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    thanks!
     
  38. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    FYI: Greg may or may not post messages but he is updating the ss and he IS reading your advice:)

    Thanks everyone and Thanks Sweetie!

    edited to add: I was mistaken...there he is:)
     
  39. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Ok...Greg...if you have any questions, just let us know. I'm waiting for your next test.

    Also....sometimes we cross post so it's important that after you post anything to us or read anything, that you scroll back through the last several posts in the condo to be sure you don't miss anything.
     
  40. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    we're cheering you on greg!

    you're doing great. just remember that you are in control of her numbers and are steering them with the carbs.

    hang in there - i'm not going to clutter up the conversation with posting, but if marje or ella can't continue to help, i'm around all day and they'll flag me.
     
  41. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    ok two tests above 50. can he re-test in 30 minutes or should he still do 15?
     
  42. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    I want him to test every 30.....super number. I'm glad to see she is up to 66.

    And Greg..... \M/

    If possible, I'd like to get a little higher LC or lower MC food in her. We want to try and stabilize any wobbles caused by the syrup/HC with some food. If you have something in the 8% range, that would be perfect. I think you said the other night you had an 11 or 12%....if you don't have a 7 or 8%, you could give her the 11-12%. I'm trying to figure out quickly where we are in terms of her nadir.

    eta: looks like the half hour will be about +5...is that right?
     
  43. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Thanks guys.

    Marjorie: we are testing on the 45. I will feed again in 15 for the +6.

    :coffee:
     
  44. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    the 12% is labelled in the fridge. it's shredded,she hates that. does he want her to eat the gravy from it or should he blend it up so she can eat the solids?

    he can mix the blended part with the lc.
     
  45. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    If he's testing in 7 or so minutes any way, let's wait and see her number and then we'll decide. I don't want her to go back down but likewise, I would love to see a nice surf for her.

    Standing by. Thanks for the alternative SS!
     
  46. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    I think he was planning on feeding her anyways..I'll text him to let you know the number first before feeding!
     
  47. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Just the gravy is fine. You don't want Ella to get too full.

    Great job!!
     
  48. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    He's not answering his phone..he must be blending! he may just feed with the test..what a champ!
     
  49. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Yes he is.
     
  50. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    FYI: he's force feeding her with the syringe. that's the only way she's eating right now.
     
  51. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Did he tell you her number?
     
  52. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    no..he must be doing something....perhpaps she's giving him trouble with the pokes. poor ella:(
     
  53. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    he just posted:) and fed...he 12%.

    grabbing lunch brb!
     
  54. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    She's at 73! YAY!!!!!

    I hate for Greg to keep poking her but I'd really like to get her past +6 and a little higher just to be sure the gravy and HC wearing off won't send her back down. Let's do another test in 30 mins and then give her a break
    if she is up.

    I've got to feed my little brown purry girl but I'll be back in ten minutes and that will be in between his test times. So see you at 15 after the hour. I hope she's doing ok with the testing.
     
  55. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    sorry for the wait. I like to remain calm about things and take my time. I have been feeding here with the syringe because it's easier and quicker. I blended the food but I understand the risk of getting too full.
    We'll see if all the feeding carries her too high.

    Hope not

    Greg
     
  56. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    calm is good, greg! you're doing great.
     
  57. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    I agree! And we are patient :D Ok...Julie is patient. I'm not :lol: :lol: even after all the time of wearing patience pants....it was only temporary.
     
  58. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    I'm here too.
    When fed the "shredded" canned food, my cats typically lick off the gravy and leave the shreds :roll: -- but in your case that's OK because that's where most of the carbs are.

    re: Contour strips: agree, the retail price is expensive. You gotta start trolling eBay. I have gotten them for as low as 20cents each.

    MJ
     
  59. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    YAY!! 85!! Great job Greg and you SO deserve that burger!!!

    How about a break and test in an hour? From Greg's SS, it's been about two hours since HC and longer since syrup. She should be coming up on +6 shortly.

    You have done wonderful today you two...and Ella of course. We need to stay vigilant, though, so I'll be checking back in an hour for another test, k? If she does act hungry, just let her have a little....tsp...of LC.

    Enjoy that burger...see you in an hour.

    And I also buy my strips off ebay!! Good suggestion, MJ.
     
  60. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Ella is at 108 based on Greg's created SS. Good job, Greg.

    Let's give her one more hour, test, and if she's still going up, let's give her more of a break....and you.

    We'll be discussing back channel a dose for this evening. I'm going to grab some breffis. :D
     
  61. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Everybody's hungry (except Ella!).
    I'll be back in an hour, too. Got to go to the post office.

    Great job Greg and Tamara and Ella!

    Ella & Rusty
     
  62. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    greg, my favorite part of your temporary ss was the "greg has a burger!" :lol: gotta keep up your strength for this!

    glad you're here too mj! i'm going to go do a couple of things - seems like everything's well covered.
     
  63. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Thanks Marjorie,

    In regards to the dose: Would it be beneficial to be conservative and then work our way up?
    I feel like Ella may b unique to the protocol rules:)
     
  64. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    We are definitely discussing that. We've got time and also want to see how she does this cycle.

    Eta...just saw the last test...133....I think you can give her a couple hours. I don't see any need for anyone to keep checking back in. IF she throws you a lower number like 80 or less, post and ask for someone to look at it. But please keep adding her test numbers and most importantly a +11 so we can get the dose for tonight to you .

    Great job...see you later today. But do keep checking every couple hours to be sure she is continuing up.
     
  65. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    She's still climbing. wouldn't the hc worn off by now? Is the 0.5 dose no match for the food?

    Greg
     
  66. Robert and Echo

    Robert and Echo Administrator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    I know that I am not a TR person but please be careful! A bit worrisome when your cat is a reliable eater among other things.

    Please keep us posted and please talk with your vet.

    _Rebecca
     
  67. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Greg...the HC should have worn off but I still think it is smart to be vigilant in testing. Ella is not playing by any rules.

    The shed or depot from one dose can affect several subsequent cycles but Ella is coming down the scale quickly and I, like Julie and Dyana, would rather be conservative and take her down more in dose to keep her safe. You can always go back up if need be. Sometimes we need to skip a shot to let the shed drain a little more. With additional tests this afternoon and the +11, we'll be able to see how much more she might need to come down in dose or if a skipped shot is warranted.

    Regarding your question about the .5u dose being no match for food.....I don't know the answer to that because there are too many variables involved here including the depot, the dose, the food, and Ella's own metabolism and what her pancreas might be doing. I believe she is probably producing her own insulin but how much? We don't know. Thus we want to err on the side of caution with a dose.
     
  68. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Greg --

    Do you think you could add whatever the +time is for the 2:00 test (the 133) to your subject line? That +3=36 has been sitting there for a while and I think some of the people that are attentive to the board are nervous. Unless they read through the entire (long) thread, there's no way to know you have a separate SS running right now and people are understandably concerned about Ella since they haven't seen the movement back to safer numbers.
     
  69. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Hi Greg,
    Great job! Where is Ella in her cycle? I figure she is at about +8, maybe +8.5. It is normal for numbers to rise in the latter part of the cycle. In any event, the 0.5 dose that Ella had this morning was her first on this amount of insulin. All doses need a few days to "settle in". Ella's cycles are all messed up now because of the skipping of shots, the earned reductions in amount of insulin, etc. And let's not forget the bounces. So your question:
    can't be answered adequately. There is more to it than food. Food is our main resource for bringing a cat's blood glucose up to safe levels. But there are many more things at work in Ella's body, most notably the liver releasing hormones and other stuff to counteract what the liver perceives as dangerously low numbers. So although the hc food may have worn off and may not still be having an effect on Ella's blood glucose, Ella's liver has finally decided to take over. A bounce will probably happen. Not to worry. She is in safe numbers now. Even if she bounces high, high numbers on a temporary basis are not dangerous. So let's see what she does the rest of the cycle. The experienced dosing people will put their heads together this afternoon and give you some recommendations on how to proceed over the weekend. TGIF indeed!

    You guys are doing a fabulous job!

    Ella & Rusty

    p.s. crossed with Marje's and Sienne's posts.
     
  70. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +2=133

    Hi Rebecca,

    Thanks for your message. Greg spoke to one of our vets this morning. He doesn't even feel that we need to be testing at these low numbers. He thinks that she would have been ok even if we weren't feeding her to bring her up as the human meters have a 20% variance from the AT. I usually deal with the other vet she wasn't available. Regardless, both of them recommend urine glucose testing and curves every few weeks. I'm going to send the data sheet to their office so that they can see the numbers but they don't seem concerned at this point which is concerning to me.

    Tamara
     
  71. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133

    Greg, I updated the subject line.
     
  72. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 major drops

    Hi Ella,

    Since her series of greens I don't think Ella has been bouncing from getting too low. It seems to me like her bg's have risen due to missed shots. Atleast that's what it seems to me:)

     
  73. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133

    I would agree that her high numbers are primarily from skipping shots but could have a bit of bounce in them.....Ella is right in that there has been so much going on that it's difficult to sort out.
     
  74. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133

    You're right..nobody knows for sure...except for Ella's liver and pancreas:)
     
  75. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133

    +9=158

    If the hc and syrup should have worn off than perhaps this is a bounce?!
     
  76. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    Just got home and Ella is a hungry muffin. She's beggin' hard.
    Thanks for all your support today:)
     
  77. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    Hi Tamara,
    I'm glad that Ella is higher and that she's ready to eat. I will be out for most of the evening (leaving in a half hour), but the experts will be talking among themselves and will help you out with your evening dose. I'll look in on you tonight. Good luck and please tell Greg that he did a fabulous job today.

    Ella & Rusty
     
  78. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    Tamara

    What time do you shoot and I'm assuming you are on East Coast time right?
     
  79. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    6:45pm. One hour and fifteen from now. We are Eastern time.
     
  80. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    Ok. Julie and I are watching the clock. It might be 6:30 your time before we get back to you on the dose but we will....ok?! :D And if you can get a test between now and then, that would help. I want to see if she's going to get a second dip or keep going up.
     
  81. Vyktors Mum

    Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    :shock: :shock: :shock:
     
  82. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    Are you shocked Serryn? :lol:

    It was a crazy day! Greg stepped up to the plate and hit a grand slam!
     
  83. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    took her bg at 6:05 and she's dipping =118

    she's hungry....
     
  84. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    working on it & watching the clock. haven't abandoned you. :D
     
  85. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    i'm nervous...just sayin'

    do you want me to take another test at 6:40pm. Would that influence your decision?

    she's biting on computer wires she's so hungry!
     
  86. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    Are you ready for another fun evening? :eek:
    Do you feel OK giving the 0.5U again? She seemed to respond to it very well today. Maybe too well...?

    MJ
     
  87. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    we'd like to give you some choices, tamara, with the pros and cons to help you and greg decide what to do. the bottom line here is that ella is making her own rules! did you read the protocol to her so she would know what she was supposed to do? because that might help all of us! ;-) :lol:

    we also know that you guys are the ones who are doing all the work. we might be sitting here cheering you on & trying to help you navigate . . . but you're the worker bees.

    ella wants to go off of insulin - that seems pretty clear. i know that's making you very, very sad, but she seems to want to do what she wants to do. :mrgreen:

    mj is right - that's one of the choices. i'll brb.
     
  88. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    do you need another test for pmps?
     
  89. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    Yes, please. Another test for PMPS, and we'll get right back to you with a dose suggestion.
     
  90. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    pm=109
     
  91. Barb & Checkers (GA)

    Barb & Checkers (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    Hi Tamara. I wanted to get this in, before tonight's excitement starts. :roll:
    There were a lot of us here today, rooting for you. Greg did a wonderful job!
    I'm sure lots of peeps will be watching again tonight, but we won't get in the way of those wonderful ladies helping you; Angels, for sure. o:) o:) o:)
    Good luck to you, Greg and Ella, tonight. :D

    Barb
     
  92. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    Thanks Barb!! I know I have some great angels by my side who are working hard to figure out my unique situation:)

    I'm very nervous to dose her these days..she's been giving us some crazy numbers!
     
  93. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    can i start feeding her..she's eating the pillows! for real!
     
  94. MJ+Donovan

    MJ+Donovan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    If you're gonna shoot really soon (just waiting for a consensus on 0.5U or lower), go ahead and feed her. She's clearly dropping, so I don't see the point in waiting for a rise.

    MJ
     
  95. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    You can go ahead and feed her, Tamara. I think we're going to suggest skipping tonight.
     
  96. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    the thing is that we don't have a crystal ball. ella is blazing her own trail.

    we want to suggest that you skip the dose tonight and start out tomorrow morning fresh with a 0.10 u dose, probably, depending on her numbers.

    this might send her high tonight, but we are factoring in the fact that lantus is a depot insulin and it can cause effects until it drains. we want to let the shed drain, let you guys sleep and see where we are in the morning.

    how does that sound to you?

    also, there's a lot of concern about why she might not be eating. this is huge and probably has influenced what's been going on the past few days. can you get her to the vet to see what's going on with that?
     
  97. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    if she's eating the pillows i want her to tell you why she won't eat her cat food!

    can you give us a guesstimate on how much cat food she's eaten today? not including the pillows. ;-) and refresh my memory - how much does she weigh?
     
  98. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    ok...will skip the shot. she's eating on her own now..she was starving.

    she hounds around the kibble and i know she would go to town so I personally think it's something to do with the soft food. She's not a huge fan. When I took her to the vet last week she said the same thing. She gave her a few nuggets and she gobbled it up no problem.

    How do I measure .10u?
     
  99. julie & punkin (ga)

    julie & punkin (ga) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    slide down this sticky about 1/2 way and you'll see photos. are you guys around all weekend with nothing to do except for sit and watch and poke ella? just kidding, but are you able to monitor tomorrow?

    edited to add the ohmygod_smile and the link: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139
     
  100. tpr

    tpr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    Re: 4/27 Ella am 212 +1=104+2 =55+3=36 +6=133+9=158

    yes we are able to monitor.

    so if I recall she is a bit over 11 lbs. she was eating a can (5.5oz) and 3/8 a day during the transition. Now she's eating about a can. She usually needs a kick start to get going and if she's really hungry she wll lap up a bit. If not, I need to put it on a spoon. Maybe she has princess syndrome?

    last week, the vet said she may be suffering from a mild uri. She is not sneezing. She sometimes makes a wheezy sound when she sighs in her sleep.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page