4/6 Eleanor AMPS 286 +3 278 +6 288

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...9-5-5-295-pmps-309-3-324.155728/#post-1645364
I shoot at 3am and 3 pm. This am cycle is the 6th at 4u. So unless something miraculous happens, I need to increase her dose this pm, I think I should increase to 4.5 rather than 4.25, agreed?

Problem is, tomorrow I have a medical appointment I can't cancel and have to leave at what will be +5, I'm a bit nervous that by some chance dose two at 4.5 might bring her way down. I don't want to wait to increase though...oh my.....

She just threw up mucus. She started feeling better again when the house cooled down, it was 83 degrees in here all evening. I don't have the money to get the cooler turned on and the heat really affects us both and no doubt the stress is bringing her numbers up.
 
I agree with the half unit increase for Eleanor.

How long will you be gone for your appointment? And can you leave food out for her? If she'll just guts it down you might want to freeze some in advance. I have to dash but the next bean along will want the answers to those questions to help you work out what to do.

To keep my rabbit cool in summer I would freeze large fruit juice bottles for her to snuggle with.
 
I should be gone about 4 hours, it can be complicated though because I cannot drive now, I have been known to get stranded.
I have an auto feeder, but Eleanor still isn't eating well on her own and she has a history of not wanting to eat at all if she is low!!
 
Julie

If you are still following SLGS, doses are held for a week. I know you were following it due to your own health but since she is so high, you don't feed dry, and you test, are you switching to TR? If you are, i would increase. The TR protocol would have you increase by 0.25u but the dose is starting to get higher and she's just dipping her toes into yellow so if you'd like to increase to 4.5u, it's your call.
 
Just trying to do what is best and safest. Would really like to see these numbers come down so will do the increase to 4.50 and hope for the best in the morning. Can't cancel the appointment as it is at least a 6 week wait to reschedule and it is for heart problems.
 
I'll second that - I hope you're doing ok and the appointment goes well.

One possibility if she is dropping when you have to leave - you could open a can of gravy cat food and leave it right by her, or give it to her before you go to make sure she eats it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top