? Dose Help! 4/8 Smudge AMPS 90 +1 130 +4 91 +5 65+6.5 62+8.5 56 PMPS 208 just at vet

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Astexcat, Apr 8, 2020.

  1. Astexcat

    Astexcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-7-smudge-amps-223.228002/

    So Smudge seems determined to make me a bit worried most mornings. I'm both thrilled and terrified of her number this morning.

    As long as she eats, I'll be giving a full dose and monitoring closely, and I have a fairly together hypo kit but I may go do the "touch each item" thing to make sure I can find it.

    Here goes to a hopefully boring day.
     
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Good job shooting. Make sure you get a +1 and a +2 to see where she's going today.
     
    Briere Fur Mom likes this.
  3. toomanycats

    toomanycats Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2020
    You'll do great :) Good luck to you both!!
     
    Tina and Salem likes this.
  4. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    How beautiful! Finally you get to shoot a green!! YEAH!!!

    Just monitor closely...let's hope Smudge just turned the corner! Looks like you've got a plan in place for today :)
     
    Tina and Salem likes this.
  5. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Keep it safe Smudge.
     
    Tina and Salem likes this.
  6. Astexcat

    Astexcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    Good heavens this is nerve racking....I know she onsets around +4/5 but still. We have a vet appt at around 11:30, so I'll grab a test before we leave for a +5.5 to make sure she's surfing and not still dropping. She came out for food right now (as usual) so will have some more food on board to help with surfing I hope.
     
    Tina and Salem likes this.
  7. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Good luck today & hang in there!!!....those low numbers sure are scary. (probably just as much as too high ones!)
     
  8. Astexcat

    Astexcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    I know 65 isn't quite hypo range, and I'm probably going to get a bump from the stress at the vet, but what would advice be at this point....re-test every hour to see if she stabilizes and surfs? What about this evening's dose? When does the application of M
     
  9. Astexcat

    Astexcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    At vet and alpha trek reading of 56, so will check as soon as I get home and apply some medium carb food.
     
  10. Astexcat

    Astexcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    Vet wants to cut her dose in half tonight, or at least down to 3 U.... Thoughts?
     
  11. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Hi Bridget. I would update your title for answers for tonight. I can't comment on the dose for tonight, but when needing assistance for a dose that always helped me.

    :bighug:
     
  12. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I would not change the dose unless Smudge has earned a reduction. Since the lower reading was at the vet on an AT2 meter, it's possible Smudge did earn a reduction...keep monitoring today...and if need be reduce by .25... That's what I'd do.
     
    LindyNova likes this.
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Look at all those pretty greens. :D If in spite of stress she registered at 56 on the AT at the vet, that means a dose reduction down to 4.75 units. Let's see what her numbers are closer to PMPS. Maybe get a +11 and post for help? For kitties on higher doses, there can be times you want to do a one time reduced dose to drain the depot. Maybe that's why the vet suggested 3.0 units just for tonight?

    I hope the rest of the vet visit went well.
     
    Sue and Luci and LindyNova like this.
  14. Astexcat

    Astexcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    So terribly nerve racking these low numbers, luckily I know she generally surfs after +6 but I'm still nervy. Would never be handling this as well if I weren't home.
     
    Sue and Luci and LindyNova like this.
  15. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    A tsp or two or LC with the tests, can help her surf along.
     
    LindyNova likes this.
  16. Astexcat

    Astexcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    Well her PMPS spiked, but we just got back from a 2 hour vet visit so I'm going to discard it as anywhere near accurate for what it would have been sans vet visit. I'm going to drop her dose as mentioned above.

    Anyone know how heart meds for end-stage heart failure interact with insulin/diabetes?
     
  17. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Which heart meds and what format? All too familiar with some of them. Does sweet Smudge have heart issues? :bighug:
     
  18. Astexcat

    Astexcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    Along with diabetes, apparently she's been hiding end stage heart failure from me. Terribly heartbroken, it's been one he** of a day. Furosemide(Lasix) and Vetmedin (Pimobendan). Apparently all four parts of her heart are damaged enough that they can't even guess at the underlying cause. She's my heart cat, I want more time with her and I suspect I don't have much of it left :(.
     
  19. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    :(:bighug::( I am so sorry to hear this. :bighug:
     
  20. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  21. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    :bighug:I am really sorry to hear this. I hope the medications will buy you more time with Smudge
     
  22. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Neko was on Vetmedin and Plavix (chlopidogrel) which thins the blood and helps prevent strokes. She was also on benazapril for her proteinuria, but also helps as a beta blocker. Later on when she got fluid on her lungs, she got Lasix. None of her meds impacted her blood sugar. Neko was fairly regulated, so I could notice when something impacted her blood sugar. I did notice that when she added a new drug, it might take her body a couple days to get used to it with higher numbers, but then she settled down again. @Olive & Paula Paula's first diabetic was on a number of heart meds, and she found a place to have them compounded into one, which makes the medicating easier

    What form is Smudge's Lasix? We had one member who was giving injections of Lasix and found it impacted the BG, but pills did not. Neko was on liquid.

    FYI - the Vetmedin made a huge difference/improvement for Neko. She went out of heart failure for a half a year. My issues were that she also had failing kidneys and the treatment for kidneys damaged the heart, and vice versa.

    I hope Smudge can improve and have some good quality time with you. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Are you counting her resting respiration rate now?
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2020
    Reason for edit: respiration rate, not heart rate
  23. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    My first sugar kitty was on those plus others. He went to ER for ultrasound for pancreatitis confirmation. They said he had enlarged heart and some chf. So echo was done a few days later. The cardiologist said sometime in the previous 6 months Smokey had a heart attack. Smokey didn't show any symptoms of heart issues. He was listed as guarded prognosis. Put on 5 meds. He had a repeat echo about 7-8 months later. I'm in the room and the cardiologist starts and says "holy sh*t". My jaw drops thinking this is it, Smokey is 18 1/2 yrs old. After I pick up my jaw, I say "it's that bad". Cardio looks at me , I think he forgot I was there. And he says "oh no, he is so much better, he improved greatly, I can't believe it". So I ask he will see his 19 birthday? Cardio said I think he will. He did some more stuff and yes, he improved. He crossed because of a thrombosis 1 month later.

    3 of Smokeys meds (vetmedin, benazepril, and another) were compounded in one liquid med. Lasix and aspirin were given separately. They were done from Stokes compounding pharmacy.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2020
  24. Astexcat

    Astexcat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2019
    Thank you all for the information. Right now it's both pills, and the Vetmedin is a huge "chewable" pill that I'm not sure she'll eat mixed into her food. I may just ask for a liquid form of that one right away and see. Thanks for all the input.
     
  25. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Ask your vet to check with Wedgewood. See if vetmedin can be done in gourmed chewable treat.

    Their site isn't easier to navigate but you might find what form they can make it in. They will only talk to vet regarding price though.
     
  26. Sonia & Leo

    Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    I'm so sorry Bridget, what a terrible diagnosis. :( We're sending a huge amount of health vines to your little Smudgie. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     

Share This Page