5/1 Walter AMPS 259, +2.5 294, +5 341, +8 356 - dosecrease tonight?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Walter's numbers continue to baffle me. But, since it's been 6 cycles since his last green, I am considering a dosecrease for tonight. Unless he decides to head towards the lagoon today...
 
Tough call with Walter so hopefully he'll tell you if he needs a dosecrease or not. It is looking that way but he does like to surprise you. Hope you have a nice Sunday!
 
He is mysterious! The only thing that would worry me about an increase is that 47 AMPS on 28 April and the fact that he hit that jolly 37 somewhat suddenly on 2u just a week ago. That's just me thinking out loud. I imagine you have a better feeling for what Walter needs than I do!
 
He is mysterious! The only thing that would worry me about an increase is that 47 AMPS on 28 April and the fact that he hit that jolly 37 somewhat suddenly on 2u just a week ago. That's just me thinking out loud.

The same thought has crossed my mind too... but, looking at his numbers for the last few days, it seems like he needs more juice. Today, in particular. :( It seems like he is bouncing - but the question is: from what? Did he drop super low early in the cycle last night? Or between +6 and +10? I just don't get it... And since anything sounds like more fun than grading final paper, I'd rather obsess about his mysterious numbers. :rolleyes:
 
from the Tight Reg sticky:
INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
I think you stalled that morning, so that restarts your "consecutive" cycle count. He's got 7 cycles now on the 1.75u and he got into the 40's on it. I'd probably apply the part I highlighted in blue to his situation at the moment.

When you reduced from 2.0 to 1.75u, it was on the 7th cycle that he got to 47 at amps. That also would make me interested in holding the dose longer to see if he can get back into the 40's again on it.

Hmm, just thinking maybe that 4.5 is actually a +14.5 . . . if so, next time, I'd try to shoot a little sooner if you have a +12 in the 40's. If you take a look at the sticky on handling low numbers, specifically at the "what to do with a low preshot?" section, it has some guidelines on how to take advantage of a low preshot.
 
Thank you for all of your input! Maybe Walter still isn't used to lower numbers and bounces around even after he spends some time in the 100s (e.g the 4-29 PM cycle and the 4-30 AM cycle were finally blue for a longer period of time, but then he immediately went up again for a bit). I will hold for another 3 cycles and see where that takes us.

Hmm, just thinking maybe that 4.5 is actually a +14.5 . . . if so, next time, I'd try to shoot a little sooner if you have a +12 in the 40's. If you take a look at the sticky on handling low numbers, specifically at the "what to do with a low preshot?" section, it has some guidelines on how to take advantage of a low preshot.

Yes, it is a 14.5 So what happened was that I saw the 47 at his regular shot time and I had to leave right away. So I decided to feed and come back 2.5 hours late (+14.5) to reassess and I gave him a shot then.
 
ah, that makes sense! Sometimes people want to wait til the cat is over 150 or 200 to shoot, and it can help to shoot as soon as the kitty is high enough - I mean that advice only for you because you are experienced, not for a new member who is reading.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top