? 5/22 Eleanor AMPS 273 +3 228 +5.5 112 +6.7 81 +7 140 Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...207-pmps-231-2-243-3-256.158149/#post-1682305.

Eleanor had several liquid to soft poops in the night. She finally passed a very hard furball. This could very well be the cause of the diarrhea and everything else.
She also vomited mucus. She is not eating on her own. I thought she felt hot at PS but I took her temp and it was 101.

I have Metronidazole liquid and am wondering if I should start her on that to try to sooth her bowels. Pumpkin and SEB don't seem to help with the diarrhea.

I also don't know what to do about her dose, she may have only dropped to 81 because of the diarrhea, in the past sometimes she has dropped with it, most often though she either goes higher or it makes no difference, who knows though.
And, when I got the 112, I fed her, and intended to test her again in 20 minutes but I fell asleep, sitting up, lights on, TV blasting. I feel really bad today, I don't know what's wrong with me. Point is, I do not know if I'm competent to nurse her along if I do not reduce the dose and she does a major drop. Any suggestions?

FYI I fed regular with honey at +6.7 when she was 81.
 
Last edited:
You can't take care of her if you aren't well. Since you are following SLGS she has earned a reduction whatever the cause. I hope the metronidazole stars working quickly. When I was given some I was told to stop when things return to normal and not to be surprised if Max was to skip a day. I'd take that reduction if she was mine.
 
Julie

I'm very sorry you are feeling even worse today as I know you already have a lot of bad days. :bighug::bighug:

I think Eleanor has had a chronic problem with her intestines. It's possible the hairball could have been plugging up the works a bit and because any stool could get around it, she had diarrhea. It's hard to know if the mucous vomit is from acid tummy or from not being able to move the hairball through.

I have to let you decide on the metronidazole because I am not a vet. When it comes to meds, you should have the vet involved unless he's given you specific instructions on when to give it too her. I don't think we should be advising on that.

I agree with Elise that you should drop the dose back if you are worried about being able to monitor her.

I'm not sure what to recommend about her intestinal issues. I know you've tried different foods and some make her vomit. I believe you've also just tried boiled chicken. I don't know if you are on Facebook, but if you are, you might want to join the IBD for kitties group. Lots of knowledge there about intestinal issues with kitties.
 
Thank you Elise and Marje. The vet has told me to start her on the Metronidazole any time she has diarrhea and continue it until the diarrhea stops. I can't tell if it makes a difference as the diarrhea eventually stops with or without it. I guess my pondering is because I have read that Metronidazole is a bowel anti inflammatory, which I think might be what she needs because of the furball. On the other hand, Metronidazole makes her vomit. I guess I'll see how she is this evening, if the diarrhea isn't resolved, go ahead and start the med.

I'll go ahead and reduce the dose, I guess.
 
I've just been reading quite a bit about hairballs, vomiting, constipation and diarrhea. hehe that sounds really bad, doesn't it? Doesn't make for great conversation anywhere but here on LLL!!!

My cats all seem to have trouble with constipation, and I have one tuxedo short hair, McGee, who vomits regularly. We've started them on probiotics because of what I've read. Look here on the Where Can I Find? thread for the threads on Hairballs/Chronic Vomiting and Probiotics in IBD (or other) cats. Hopefully I've linked it to show up at the right spot for you. Ours are getting Sacromyces Boulardii (sp?) for now and I'm just working up to a "theraputic" dose. Once I've had them on the full dose for 1 month, my plan is to switch to a general probiotic - probably the Renew, that has more varied bacteria in it. The S. Boulardii is only a form of yeast, but the info in the IBD kitties page is that it alone can treat C. Diff, so I wanted to start with it. And I had a bottle already. My naturopath had me take it when I had to take antibiotics for a dental surgery.

We've been at it for just over a week and I think there is already improvement.

See if that will help your sweet little girl.

Hope you feel better later today. Is the vertigo gone?
 
I've just been reading quite a bit about hairballs, vomiting, constipation and diarrhea. hehe that sounds really bad, doesn't it? Doesn't make for great conversation anywhere but here on LLL!!!

My cats all seem to have trouble with constipation, and I have one tuxedo short hair, McGee, who vomits regularly. We've started them on probiotics because of what I've read. Look here on the Where Can I Find? thread for the threads on Hairballs/Chronic Vomiting and Probiotics in IBD (or other) cats. Hopefully I've linked it to show up at the right spot for you. Ours are getting Sacromyces Boulardii (sp?) for now and I'm just working up to a "theraputic" dose. Once I've had them on the full dose for 1 month, my plan is to switch to a general probiotic - probably the Renew, that has more varied bacteria in it. The S. Boulardii is only a form of yeast, but the info in the IBD kitties page is that it alone can treat C. Diff, so I wanted to start with it. And I had a bottle already. My naturopath had me take it when I had to take antibiotics for a dental surgery.

We've been at it for just over a week and I think there is already improvement.

See if that will help your sweet little girl.

Hope you feel better later today. Is the vertigo gone?

I started her on S.Boulardi, but after a few days she started vomiting and the diarrhea seemed worse. I was going to try again but was hoping some of this other stuff would resolve. How much did you start out with?
Thank you for those links.
The vertigo is gone, still some dizziness.

Eleanor is feeling better than she was in the night.
 
Oh vertigo is awful. I have a friend that's been through it twice. :bighug::bighug:

Are you able to pill Eleanor? I know metro tastes awful even in pill form so I am very careful when I put it in a gel capsule.
 
I've got a bottle by Klaire Labs that has 3+ billion CFU per capsule. I started out with dividing one capsule between my 3 cats, once a day. So that would be about 1 billion CFUs per day to begin. Did that for about 4 days and they seemed ok with it. Then I went to the same thing twice a day (= 2 billion CFUs) for another 4 days. Still ok and seeming like the poop was better. McGee's poop is basically black & hard, and it can be incredibly small amounts. In spite of having short hair, he vomits every couple of days.

Today I doubled the amount - gave 2 capsules divided among all the kitties and I'll give the same amount tonight. That means they are getting 3 billion each per day right now, if I have the math right. The therapeutic dose seems to be about 5 billion per day. I'll work up to giving each of them that and continue for one month.

However, it says clearly in that link on probiotics that if it makes the diarrhea worse, not to give it. You could try it one more time - see if last time was a direct cause/effect or just a coincidence, and go from there. Or you could go to a probiotic that doesn't contain S. Boulardii and see if that works better.

I was kind of excited to see that post - @Wendy&Neko had found and shared it. Gut bacteria are fascinating and if I can help my kitties by using that, I'm all over it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top