? 5/26 Radar - we successfully pilled him :) - dosing question??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan Radar (GA)

Member Since 2015
Wednesday
I want to begin by thanking you, @rhiannon and shadow (GA), your comments last night really helped us and instead of giving him the mirtazapine the vet prescribed we popped 1/4 of a pepcid into him instead. It took three tries but he was patient with us while we learned what to do and what not to do. We think that although he is not vomitting, he is most definitely nauseated. We know he's hungry and wants to eat but he just can't. We are hoping to break the cycle of stomach acid due to not eating which makes him feel sick and then he won't eat which just seems to go on and on and on.....
I also want to thank you, @Marje and Gracie and @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey for your reassurance that feeding him whenever he will eat is more important for his well being right now.
I'm so grateful for all the comments and words of encouragement last night as I was feeling sick with worry.:nailbiting:

I got up in the night to check on Radar and see if he would eat anything.... he wouldn't, but I did grab a test since I was up and it was a very pretty 102. I will probably test him again in the middle of the night tonight to see if he's tipping over into green yet or if he needs an increase?? Unless you think that I should just increase tonight based on that one test? Someone will most likely be home with him tomorrow to monitor and then we'll be able to monitor all weekend too so it's a good time to increase. I just don't know if I should increase based on just one middle of the night test??????

amps was 361 and was food influenced but he did eat and that's a great victory right now:woot::woot:
 
Pepcid has worked miracles for us, with dogs and cats both. I hope it does the trick for you.

Hopefully someone will come along and give you a more definitive take on it. I can only say if I saw this blues last cycle, and had a kitty who was not eating, I would probably wait another cycle before increasing. But do wait to see what others say.

I'm sorry if this is repeat of someone's advice but I didn't see it: Have ou tried sprinkng part of a packet of Fortiflora on top of the food. As of now, anyway, that can get Rosie to eat wood chips.
 
Pepcid works if the cause is stomach acid. It is very bitter so if you can put it in a gel cap I suggest you do that. Then chase it with a syringe of food or water if he won't eat on his own. If the Pepcid doesn't work I strongly recommend ondansetron. You would need a script from your vet and then can use Good RX to get the best price in your area.

Considering he's not feeling well I would hold the dose and hopefully get another test late tonight. See what others say.
 
I'm a bit of a maverick here, I think. If you use Pepcid AC (10 mg only and only 1/4 of a pill), seldom, it's ok. But keep in mind that cats, like people, need stomach acid to digest their food so if Pepcid is given frequently (see caveat below), then it doesn't just stop excess acid, it stops all acid production. It also then changes the pH of the gut. So I am more a fan of holistic remedies like slippery elm bark syrup.

If you want links to info on why using Pepcid is not a great idea, pls let me know. I don't want to overwhelm you right now. If you want to try slippery elm syrup, you can purchase pure slippery elm bark powder at the local holistic store; you only need a tiny amount...less than 1/8 cup. Then mix 1/4 tsp with enough filtered water to make a slurry. You can then syringe it a few times a day separating it from other meds by two hours.

Also, I am not a fan of fortiflora. They try to sell it as a probiotic but it really isn't. It's got animal digest in it which is not good for cats. If you need a flavor enhancer or topper, you are better off to use freeze dried chicken, lamb, wild boar, shrimp, etc or even Parmesan cheese.

Caveat on Pepcid: many people who have cats with chronic kidney disease use it twice daily due to the amount of acid CKD kitties produce. Using slippery elm syrup can help in lieu of Pepcid but it comes down to a personal choice at that point because the acid can make these kitties feel quite bad. Controlling phosphorus can help with the acid but many of them will need something additional to help with the acid.

I hope he feels better. He has room for a dose increase but I agree with Elise that you might want to be sure he's feeling a bit better and someone can be there to monitor him. If he perks up more, then I'd increase but know that he will likely come down into greens. Sending many vines for him and comfort hugs for you, Jan.
 
Jan, if your vet will give you Ondansetron, I recommend it, too. I have given it to every one of my cancer cats with great success. I do give Harvey Pepcid regularly, as he is borderline CKD and has those late night/early morning clear vomits that come from an empty tummy and too much acid without it. The first thing my vet prescribed when I went to her with kitty tummy issues was Pepcid. I had to ask for Ondansetron, but the vet had it in stock - I didn't have to buy it elsewhere. Some vets don't like to prescribe it, as it's a human medicine, but it is widely used for cats (especially here).

I'm so glad Radar ate for you!!!!:):):)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top