5/27 Rosie AMPS:97 +4:79 +6:87 PMPS:76 +3:87 +4.5:81

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA, May 27, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Yesterday

    Rosie is still in the beautiful sea of green. Her appetite is good--when she approves the menu. She seems to prefer the new foods or foods she hasn't had in a long time. Wellness Grain Free is a particualr favorite at the moment and she even is happy with Wellness Core Turkey&Duck and Beef, Venison&Lamb. I just hope it isn't too much fat, but she will eat only pate foods and if you try to lower the phosphorus, something has to give!

    We have a new appointment for her ultra sound. I spoke with the vet and she agreed that their system (they have a traveling ultrasound person who comes in once or twice a week) was not good for Rosie because Rosie would bave to be brought in early in the morning, after fasting, and they have no control over what time the person arrives. So, she gave us a referral to a specialist she really likes and works with. She recommended him very highly and we are going in Tuesday. I called them and they were great. Very helpful. I explained that Rosie's age and diabetes made me concerned about fasting any longer than necessary and they agreed. So we can feed her PM+9 the night before and she will only be fasted for 8 hours before the scan.

    On a related note, we go to a vet practice that is very much the old style, which I prefer to the higher tech, more "corporate" practices that seem on the rise. Our vet has cared for every one of our last five pets since they were kittens or puppies. He is a tall, slender, most gentle man--Cornell Vet School but with a great bedside manner. He clearly loves animals, was very supposrtive of our using FDMB and TR. He's in favor of owner particiaption and not threatened by it. When we found the blood in Rosie's urine last month, we called for the first appointment next day and he was not in so we are working with one of his newer partners. I just got a letter that he is retiring after 40 years there. When we first went to him, he was still caring for horses and goats (he is located in a horsey area) but in the last 15 to 30 years, he has done only pets and pigs! He is an unusual guy and we will miss him. But it turns out that on Tuesday, the radiologist will phone the results to the vet's office and the new vet is off for the day so he will be the one calling us.

    I'm sending many vines to the kitties and their beans who are in troublesome times. It seems like there is a lot of that around here these days.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2016
    Chrys & Stomper likes this.
  2. Chrys & Stomper

    Chrys & Stomper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Glad to see her appetite is good and you were able to get things settled nicely for the ultrasound on Tuesday. Keeping you both in my thoughts :bighug:
     
  3. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Very nice story about your vet and sorry he's retiring! Glad you're getting Rosie in a little sooner and she'll only go 4 hours or so without food. They do need to take consideration for diabetic kitties. I understand what you're saying about "something has to give" when it comes to food choices. Glad her appy is good even if it means a different menu. Keeping you both in our thoughts and sending vines and prayers your way.
     
  4. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Yeah Rosie in the lagoon and eating is all good. It is always so sad to see a beloved caregiver retiring. Hope the new one will do just as well for you and Rosie.

    Also, glad you got in with a specialist to do the ultrasound. At my old vet's practice, it was the same, a traveling ultrasound and the pet was there for the whole day! Not good with our sugar babies and I don't even like it for our non-sugar pets; it's too stressful.

    Keeping great thoughts for you on Tuesday! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  5. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Still green at +6. :)
     
    Bobbie And Bubba likes this.
  6. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Lookin' good, Rosie! Surf safe!!

    Lydia, we are sending a lovely bouquet of vines for Rosie's U/S on Tuesday. I'm glad that she won't have to fast for too long. I'm sure your wonderful vet has picked a good vet to continue the practice. But it is hard to change vets when you have had one for so long. Paws and fingers crossed here.

    Hugs, scritches,

    Ella & Rusty
     
  7. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm glad you are able to get the ultrasound done so soon. It's good your old vet will be on duty that day to get the results. It's sad when someone like that retires. Hopefully the new vet will be a good one. Sending prayers.
     
  8. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
  9. Shoeskitty-GA

    Shoeskitty-GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Rosie looks good! I too am glad that you get the ultrasound on Tuesday! It will be hard to lose your regular vet, but I bet that he will be willing to be around to help out if you need him.
     
  10. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Good girl Rosie; still in the lagoon!
    Happy to hear the ultrasound was moved up a bit. Lots of vines headed Rosie's way and hugs to you:bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  11. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Rosie's had a great day today!! China appreciates having the help at the lagoon too....Holiday weekend you know...Lots of tourists!! ;)

    Rosie...watch out girlfriend!! These beens think dey are so clever and will try to take yur pikchur when dey shave yur belly for dat test on Tuesday!! Dey tink it's "cute"!!
     
  12. Tara & Ivana (GA)

    Tara & Ivana (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Rosie is looking fantastic!! And your vet sounds wonderful, it will be sad to farewell him.
     
  13. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Well I'd call this a remarkably flat day for Miss Rosie! Green green green. I'd say she likes this reduction quite a bit.
     
    Tara & Ivana (GA) likes this.
  14. Marilyn and Polly

    Marilyn and Polly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Flat green! yes.

    Marilyn and Polly
     
  15. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Green with envy :D
     
  16. Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

    Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Beautiful day for Rosie, and the night's shaping up to look pretty good, too. I'm glad she's doing okay and eating. I wish Harvey would eat Wellness. Cinco and Sasha liked it, but he will only eat Fancy Feast or Friskies. My little furry junk food junkie. :rolleyes:

    I know how you feel about your regular vet retiring (he does sound like a rare gem). We had the same vet from the time we moved to Northern CA in 1990 until she had to retire due to health issues about 4 years ago. I liked the associate vets, who stayed on, but not as much as Dr. Parker. I was nervous about the vet that bought her practise, but it was love at first site. She totally rocks. I hope your new vet's replacement has learned a lot from his predecessor and has the same attitude about owner involvement!

    Our regular vet uses a traveling u/s vet, too. At UCD, they don't have you fast them first - they rarely sedate them. That's what I love about being able to take my cats there. If they need an ultrasound, they just work them into that day's schedule. No waiting.

    We're crossing our paws and sending vines for good results for Rosie.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page