5/31 Belle, AMPS 381, +2 265, +4 210, +6 181, +8.5 203, PMPS 233, +1 201

Status
Not open for further replies.
i am actually wondering if he needs more juice... cos his nadirs had been in the 300s... and his BG doesn't drop much after insulin ...
PM +2 was higher than PMPS last night
 
Without those night cycle tests, you can't tell if he's going too low. Marje seemed to think he was overdosed. Is there any way you can get some in? He could be just bouncing during the day and going low at night.
 
i have done a PM +2 last night, would that be helpful?
i probably won't be able to do more than that, cos he get his PM shot around 1030pm at night, n i had to wait until after midnight to test +2 already.
 
I know it is difficult for you to get any more night cycle tests, but I'm afraid if you raise the dose you'll be giving him too much insulin and he'll go too low at night. If that's true, he'll keep bouncing.

Here is what Marje suggested the other day.
Sorry to confuse you. There are a few ways to find out if he's overdosed:

  • Leave the dose and test more to see if he's dropping low at night and then bouncing up; you'd have to grab some tests more towards midcycle for 3-4 consecutive nights in case he is bouncing for six cycles and clearing at night
  • Reduce the dose slightly ....say to 0.25u; that way, he is still getting insulin but you'd also have to grab some nighttime tests
  • Stop insulin and give him a solid six cycles in case he's bouncing off ally low numbers
I, personally, think the first option is the best just in case he suddenly needs more insulin...it can happen. While I think the increases when he earned decreases has likely caused an overdose, I could be wrong and I'd hate to see him stay in high numbers if his insulin needs have suddenly changed.

Does that make more sense?
 
yes, i hv reduced his PM shot back to 0.25 as U & @Marje and Gracie suggested.

I know it is difficult for you to get any more night cycle tests, but I'm afraid if you raise the dose you'll be giving him too much insulin and he'll go too low at night. If that's true, he'll keep bouncing.

Here is what Marje suggested the other day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top