icesnow
Member Since 2015
yesterdays post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-9-belle-amps-382-3-329-6-360-pmps-262.159235/
AMPS @ 1115am, BG 344
0.25u + food
AMPS @ 1115am, BG 344
0.25u + food
The new formula of EVO's canned food is under 2% so still a good choice. One of the other members received an email from them. Hope that helps.
There was some agreement that Belle might still be getting too much insulin.
I am really not one to drop the dose back without a reason to do so but without more testing at night, we just aren’t able to tell you whether Belle is going low or not. I’m not talking about a lot of testing but just a +6 or +7 test for three nights. Without that information, I’m not comfortable telling you whether Belle is overdosed or not.
Whether he will come down into green and stay there with no insulin, I just don’t have a clue. On one hand, I hate for you to stop insulin if he really needs more; OTOH, if he’s getting too much, it’s causing him to bounce. Whether you take the dose up or down is going to have to be your decision because without some additional tests at night for just a few nights, I can’t tell you with confidence which is the best way to go.
I will tell you that on 5/2, he earned a reduction which would have had him starting an OTJ trial. Unfortunately, none of us were aware of it to advise you.
I don’t know if you saw my post from the other night but I’ll repost it here.
Insofar as food, I really like Ziwipeak. Chewy.com sells it for a great price (although it is expensive) but it is a really high quality food (more so than Evo) and the % carbs are fairly low. The beef is the highest at 10% but that never affected Gracie’s BG and I don’t believe it affects Karen’s Doodle’s BG.
Thank you for commenting. I did know he lives in th garage. I'm only asking but is there any chance to move his shots earlier just to get a later test but that would still allow you to get to bed and sleep?Thanks Marje,
I checked Ziwipeak on Chewy...but it is also out of the budget that i can afford.
i am looking for something similar price (and similar quality) as EVO... seems hard to find....
as for the night test, it's actually a bit difficult, the best i could do is a +2 at night, since he gets his PMPS pretty late, and he is not an indoor cat (he lives in the garage at night, and outside during the day)... a +6 or +7 would be like 4am or 5am in the morning... which would be much easier to do if he is an indoor cat...
i believe for the 5/2 reduction pt, i believe other members did noticed that, but they think he should stay on insulin a bit longer, cos otherwise it is not a strong remission, and remission is not going to last.
yes, now i m pretty confused if he needs more juice. or less... cos he had been constantly high for a while. but like u said he might be bouncing... so confused.... ... ...
Wellness may be a good option and believe comparable in price as Evo.i am looking for something similar price