6/13: Sammy - AMPS 152; +5 144; Still questioning Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

I did go ahead and stick with the .9 unit dose (1.05 mm) this morning. However, I am still concerned that we increased too quickly. Everything was going fairly well until we switched methods of measuring. When I switched the using the calipers I did not measure the units on the syringe first, I just measured the dose that I had been getting, not thinking that the markings on the syringe could have been off. It wasn't for a couple of days, but then his numbers went way up, then I increased again. So I am wondering if the increase was too much.

I am just nervous that he will continue to have these higher numbers because he is getting too much insulin and I will end up just wanting to increase more. I am very tempted to return to a .25 dose, measured with the calipers. I guess the worst that could happen is that I end up having to go back up again.

I know time is usually critical for getting the kitty to return to OJT once they are out of remission, but it has now been more than 6 months that he has been back on insulin and I guess I am trying to come to the realization that he might never return to remission.
 
It looks like Sammy is having another flat morning cycle, I am really hoping that he will, at the very least, surf the 140 for the entire cycle, but I would expect to see some rising at the next test time.

I am still thinking about reducing the dose tonight to see how he does with less insulin. I guess if I reduce the dose and his numbers just rise again then I will have my answer, but based on the last couple of days it just seems like this might be the best option. @Jill & Alex (GA) can you take a look at Sammy's spreadsheet and let me know what you think. Understand that we just started using calipers last week, and I didn't use the proper measurements in setting the initial dosing.
 
I am still thinking about reducing the dose tonight to see how he does with less insulin. I guess if I reduce the dose and his numbers just rise again then I will have my answer, but based on the last couple of days it just seems like this might be the best option. @Jill & Alex (GA) can you take a look at Sammy's spreadsheet and let me know what you think. Understand that we just started using calipers last week, and I didn't use the proper measurements in setting the initial dosing.
If I were in your shoes, I would hold the dose through tonight to see what happens because of any possible problems associated with "not using the proper measurements in setting the initial dosing". That would give Sammy 8 full cycles on the 0.9u/1.05 mm dose. I think that's plenty of time to see if this dose can do the job.

I am not seeing a need for a dose reduction nor am I concerned about Sammy receiving "too much insulin" at this point in time. Sammy could prove me wrong by dropping into BG numbers under 100 overall (your goal). If he does drop today or tonight... wonderful! :D

If he doesn't drop... I wouldn't hesitate to increase the dose tomorrow morning (unless his numbers tell you differently between now and then), but that's just me. I don't believe in messing around with kitties who have returned from the Falls. If at all possible, you want to get them back to numbers under 100 overall as soon as safely possible like I did with Alex. You're an experienced caregiver who tests a lot. I'd be looking to get those greens back by increasing the dose, but as always, it's your decision.



FWIW, my thoughts...
 
Last edited:
I'm not seeing too much insulin either, if I was going to adjust I'd be going up - although I'm also interested to see what tonight will bring, he's one flat kitty today...

Hopefully those patience pants arrive this afternoon ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top