? 6/15 TiTi AMP 324...+6 205 +7.5 207 +8.5 185 +9 192 +11.25 164 +12.75 125 +17.5 180 +19 197

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and TiTi

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ps-365-2-370-4-258-8-347.159481/#post-1701853

Good grief, I slept thru my alarm. ok, well. +17.5 280 is present value. Some of that is due to the honey, probably not all. Dunno if anyone is awake, but I am puzzled. Just fed MC to TiTi, who continues tom seem completely normal - all 5 Ps

I guess I'll monitor one more test, then sleep to +24 and do AMPS 10. I didn't sleep thru my alarm after all - I forgot to hit the check mark to activate my alarm. I cannot believe I forgot to activate it.
I had to erase some of the values in my title toe able to fit the new test results into the title. All results are on my SS.

Need some advice on shooting, skipping or doing 18 hr shifts.
Am already past PMPS by almost 1 hr. Numbers steadily declined thru blue-now at 125. Skipping shoot is possible. How about 18 hr cycle.

Looks like nadir at maybe +8

Only 2 hrs from PMPS at 8:30pm, and I really don't feel like I have enough data to make a good call on whether or not to dose her at 10u, or skip, or go to 18 hour.


I went up to 10, because I believe, still, that the numbers indicate a place between 9 and 11 as her correct number at this time. I'll get some syringes calibrated for half and quarter measurements today.

If I don't get much sleep, well, at least I've made up my sleep loss in the last 24 hours.
My bottom line was, I simply could not risk more pancreatic/kidney damage in the higher numbers. I know this is hard on her liver, but at least her liver has some small ability to regenerate.

I'm going to check her every 60-90 minutes at this point..
 
Last edited:
Hi there,

Being that there is a chance the high numbers are because she may have visited the lowlands during the bottom half of the PM cycle on 6/13, I would have given the 9u a couple cycles to settle.

My $0.02. I could be wrong. ;)
Time will tell.

You are doing a great job monitoring so no worries. :cool:

By the way, what's the WCR?
All Ps in place?
 
As always Kathy you hold the needle the decision is yours. We can all relate to not liking the seeing the pinks and the blacks, but in the scheme of things 24hrs more or less in that range is ulikely to make a difference to TiTi well being overall.

I see Sandy has just posted.
I too was wondering if maybe she went lower than we thought on the pm cycle 6/13 resulting in a bounce and the high numbers. Personally I would have waited it out with the 9u too.
Lets see what happens next.

I hope TiTi is feeling well and is comfortable.
 
Hi there,

Being that there is a chance the high numbers are because she may have visited the lowlands during the bottom half of the PM cycle on 6/13, I would have given the 9u a couple cycles to settle.

My $0.02. I could be wrong. ;)
Time will tell.

You are doing a great job monitoring so no worries. :cool:

By the way, what's the WCR?
All Ps in place?

What does WCR stand for? All Ps in place means what?
 
As always Kathy you hold the needle the decision is yours. We can all relate to not liking the seeing the pinks and the blacks, but in the scheme of things 24hrs more or less in that range is ulikely to make a difference to TiTi well being overall.

I see Sandy has just posted.
I too was wondering if maybe she went lower than we thought on the pm cycle 6/13 resulting in a bounce and the high numbers. Personally I would have waited it out with the 9u too.
Lets see what happens next.

I hope TiTi is feeling well and is comfortable.

TiTi is doing her whole cat happy and healthy thing.

Maybe I should have waited. The question for me was, Am I seeing a bounce, or a settling into pink.

I thought that changing a big move down, to a smaller move down might be better, especially since I had not seen pink for a long time. I was looking for a less precipitous trip down.

Good to know that a few pink days does not do much. I did not know that.
 
What does WCR stand for? All Ps in place means what?
WCR = Whole Cat Report
the Five p's
Peeing
Pooping
Preening
Playing

OMG I've forgotten the fifth one!! It's like the Snow White's seven dwarfs I can never remember the seventh LOL
Someone help me.....

The question for me was, Am I seeing a bounce, or a settling into pink.
That's a good question, personally I was seeing bounce from a possible low pm 6/13 we'll just to see how it plays out.
 
WCR = Whole Cat Report
the Five p's
Peeing
Pooping
Preening
Playing

OMG I've forgotten the fifth one!! It's like the Snow White's seven dwarfs I can never remember the seventh LOL
Someone help me.....


That's a good question, personally I was seeing bounce from a possible low pm 6/13 we'll just to see how it plays out.
Happy, no just kidding, it's Purring. ;)
 
Sorry to jump on the bandwagon but I'm definitely seeing a bounce

Patience, Greasshopper :) think of lantus as a big ship. You can turn the wheel but it takes time to change course.
 
Sorry to jump on the bandwagon but I'm definitely seeing a bounce

Patience, Greasshopper :) think of lantus as a big ship. You can turn the wheel but it takes time to change course.

This is a well honored bandwagon. Welcome.

What hour after an insulin dose, is that dose at it's most effective? I know the other factors of the preceding depots, especially when dealing with high doses, and etc. are in play, but I am wondering about the most recent dose's level of effectiveness/power.
Oh, and is that called nadir?

I am indeed a grasshopper, and this dose belongs to a huge depot, with a big wheel.

I am beginning to wonder about an 18 hour turn of the wheel for this evening.
 
This is a well honored bandwagon. Welcome.

What hour after an insulin dose, is that dose at it's most effective? I know the other factors of the preceding depots, especially when dealing with high doses, and etc. are in play, but I am wondering about the most recent dose's level of effectiveness/power.
Oh, and is that called nadir?

I am indeed a grasshopper, and this dose belongs to a huge depot, with a big wheel.

I am beginning to wonder about an 18 hour turn of the wheel for this evening.
Yes, the lowest point of the cycle is the nadir. It varies from cat to cat but for most cat it is around +5-7 Someone correct me if I am wrong as I am dealing with an odd ball cat......
 
Yes, the lowest point of the cycle is the nadir. It varies from cat to cat but for most cat it is around +5-7 Someone correct me if I am wrong as I am dealing with an odd ball cat......

I have to agree that she is dealing with diabetes oddly. When I think of the last 2 years since hr diagnosis, and count in my memory all the changes in doses, missed doses, wildly fluctuating doses, all of which she has survived without any symptoms at all, other than drinking tons of water and peeing out tons of urine.
It is stunning.

She did have 2 really awful bouts of constipation that were probably related to all the variations in her treatment. Each one required anesthesia and manual digging out crap from her intestines. The last one created blockage in her urinating by pressing down on her urethra and closing it off. That was a narrow miss.

But the more normal signs - lethargy, loss of balance, staggering, all that? Nothing.
 
I have to agree that she is dealing with diabetes oddly. When I think of the last 2 years since hr diagnosis, and count in my memory all the changes in doses, missed doses, wildly fluctuating doses, all of which she has survived without any symptoms at all, other than drinking tons of water and peeing out tons of urine.
It is stunning.

She did have 2 really awful bouts of constipation that were probably related to all the variations in her treatment. Each one required anesthesia and manual digging out crap from her intestines. The last one created blockage in her urinating by pressing down on her urethra and closing it off. That was a narrow miss.

But the more normal signs - lethargy, loss of balance, staggering, all that? Nothing.


And it does look like she was at or near nadir on the +6 and +7 measurements.
 
Sorry to jump on the bandwagon but I'm definitely seeing a bounce

Patience, Greasshopper :) think of lantus as a big ship. You can turn the wheel but it takes time to change course.

My big ship has a PMPS coming up in 2 hrs, and I don't feel like I have enough data to make a good decision. I do have 2 more tests, but still.

If you're busy with Belle, just turn me over to someone who is not needed for Belle. I saw Belle's 911. :(
 
When making decisions about shooting and the dose, you're not only looking at the number the kitty is at, but how much it is changing. Today, Titi has been fairly flat for the past several hours. Little bit of movement but not much.

What time are you wanting to shoot? I can check back with you if it's within the next hour-ish. I'm going out this evening.

Meters are allowed by law to be off by as much as 20% - go figure. But what that means is that if she is at 200, the glucometer might read 160-240 from the exact same drop of blood. So you can't get too fixated on any particular number - you're looking at the overall picture. I basically ignored that and took all my tests at face value, however - it can make a person crazy if you start doubting all of your tests results. Still, it's important to know they are just ballpark numbers.

Unless, of course, they head into low numbers. Always take those seriously - I know you would, I'm just saying it for the lurkers who read posts.

That's good that she has survived all this diabetes as well as she has. And I do agree that most kitties can tolerate high numbers for a period of time without any problem. We basically have to take them (the high numbers) because most cats spend time intermittently in high numbers on their way to becoming tightly regulated.
 
When making decisions about shooting and the dose, you're not only looking at the number the kitty is at, but how much it is changing. Today, Titi has been fairly flat for the past several hours. Little bit of movement but not much.

What time are you wanting to shoot? I can check back with you if it's within the next hour-ish. I'm going out this evening.

Meters are allowed by law to be off by as much as 20% - go figure. But what that means is that if she is at 200, the glucometer might read 160-240 from the exact same drop of blood. So you can't get too fixated on any particular number - you're looking at the overall picture. I basically ignored that and took all my tests at face value, however - it can make a person crazy if you start doubting all of your tests results. Still, it's important to know they are just ballpark numbers.

Unless, of course, they head into low numbers. Always take those seriously - I know you would, I'm just saying it for the lurkers who read posts.

That's good that she has survived all this diabetes as well as she has. And I do agree that most kitties can tolerate high numbers for a period of time without any problem. We basically have to take them (the high numbers) because most cats spend time intermittently in high numbers on their way to becoming tightly regulated.

I'm 1 hr away from decision time.

Good fact about tolerating hi-numbers. I did not know that.
 
Hehehe. I understand. That is, sometimes, my 6th P

I have only 20 minutes to PMPS. Not seeing enough info in my SS to decide what to do. I could be bouncing, or settling into blue-green, or on a slow slide downward.

From +7, I have been declining, not alarmingly, but definitely lowering. Might be on a slow bounce, or lowering into nadir, but I can't tell.
 
It is basically a bounce-clearing cycle. She's declined since amps . .. but it's been pretty slow. If we knew this dose was a just right one, I'd be yelling shoot. Right now she's plenty high enough that ordinarily I'd also yell shoot.

But it's up to you. I suspect she's headed back into green numbers tonight, possibly whether you shoot or not.

The thing about frequent dose changes, including skipping, is that each of those is like rocking the boat. We need still waters to see what's going on and what a dose can do, but in Titi's case we have lots of boat-rocking events because of all the things in the past week, and so it's hard to know what to suggest. She is only 3 cycles past the 11u dose, so the depot from that dose is likely still involved.

If she were mine, I'd shoot and then monitor. It's completely up to you, though.

What would you like to do?
 
It is basically a bounce-clearing cycle. She's declined since amps . .. but it's been pretty slow. If we knew this dose was a just right one, I'd be yelling shoot. Right now she's plenty high enough that ordinarily I'd also yell shoot.

But it's up to you. I suspect she's headed back into green numbers tonight, possibly whether you shoot or not.

The thing about frequent dose changes, including skipping, is that each of those is like rocking the boat. We need still waters to see what's going on and what a dose can do, but in Titi's case we have lots of boat-rocking events because of all the things in the past week, and so it's hard to know what to suggest. She is only 3 cycles past the 11u dose, so the depot from that dose is likely still involved.

If she were mine, I'd shoot and then monitor. It's completely up to you, though.

What would you like to do?

I'd like to get some sleep. Lol.
 
hi there:cool:

i'm just home from the gym -
what did you decide to do?

I haven't decided. I thought the numbers would be clearer by now. Instead OI see a slow decline thru blue to 125 , and am considering, shoot late? By now I am at 1 full hour late anyway. Skip the shot - seems possible, but not quite right, somehow.
Go to 18 hour cycle? I wish the numbers were clearer - am I going to a low bounce? Am I dec;ining into green? Am I approaching nadir? I have no idea
The whole cat is great All 5 Ps in order.
 
I haven't decided. I thought the numbers would be clearer by now. Instead OI see a slow decline thru blue to 125 , and am considering, shoot late? By now I am at 1 full hour late anyway. Skip the shot - seems possible, but not quite right, somehow.
Go to 18 hour cycle? I wish the numbers were clearer - am I going to a low bounce? Am I dec;ining into green? Am I approaching nadir? I have no idea
The whole cat is great All 5 Ps in order.

By declining into green, I mean - after declining into green, do I continue to decline into low.
 
oh. Just that I may be hitting nadir,
I may be slow bouncing,
or
I may be steadily getting lower and lower, until I go too low for safety.


These are Julie's thoughts on all this.

It is basically a bounce-clearing cycle. She's declined since amps . .. but it's been pretty slow. If we knew this dose was a just right one, I'd be yelling shoot. Right now she's plenty high enough that ordinarily I'd also yell shoot.

But it's up to you. I suspect she's headed back into green numbers tonight, possibly whether you shoot or not.

The thing about frequent dose changes, including skipping, is that each of those is like rocking the boat. We need still waters to see what's going on and what a dose can do, but in Titi's case we have lots of boat-rocking events because of all the things in the past week, and so it's hard to know what to suggest. She is only 3 cycles past the 11u dose, so the depot from that dose is likely still involved.

If she were mine, I'd shoot and then monitor. It's completely up to you, though.

What would you like to do?
 
Good question. I'm 1.25 hours over PMPS time now. But only 30 minutes since the last test, so I'd want to see the next hour's test at least.

This may sound stupid, but I have one of those feelings one gets.
A "feeling" that I am so close to a good number I can taste it.
It's not really a "feeling", of course - this "feeling" is based on a whole lot of information about TiTi, and everything I've learned about this process.
My brain has not yet organized the reasons for my "feeling".

This is useless info' for you. I am just thinking aloud.
 
All things considered (sleeping, working), I'm thinking skip tonight.
Then get a +22, which will be close to your preferred shooting time, correct?
If it is a comfortable shooting number for you shoot 8u.

What do you think?
 
All things considered (sleeping, working), I'm thinking skip tonight.
Then get a +22, which will be close to your preferred shooting time, correct?
If it is a comfortable shooting number for you shoot 8u.

What do you think?

I think any shooting at all is not a great idea. I think TiTI is hiding her depots in invisible saddle bags.

Yes, skipping seems best, and then shooting at 24, which should be at8:30 am, seems best - did I do the math right?
 
I think any shooting at all is not a great idea. I think TiTI is hiding her depots in invisible saddle bags.

Yes, skipping seems best, and then shooting at 24, which should be at8:30 am, seems best - did I do the math right?

Sadly, I must still monitor. Even at this slow rate, things could get out of hand, slowly, but surely.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top