6/20/18 Olive AMPS 354; +8.5=195; PMPS 291; +9=240

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Olive & Paula, Jun 20, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Yesterday

    I get text message from dental facility that Olive can't be fed 4 hrs prior to appt. As far as I know this is just for a consult. This would be at AMPS time. Do I skip AM dose, give 1/2 dose, give earlier so she can eat? It also means she won't get the +2 & 3 feedings. They are closed today so I won't hear from them in time. Appt is tomorrow.

    I will be able to use the Frio Insulin Cooler I got a few weeks ago. I will take insulin and food with me just in case as well as bottle of honey, meter and it's supplies. Will pack her stroller tonight.
     
  2. Judy and Boomer

    Judy and Boomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    That sounds like very strange instructions considering it's just supposed to be a consult. Maybe they are planning on going ahead with the procedure? I don't know what to suggest; it's unfortunate that they're closed today so that you can't clarify.
     
  3. Doodles & Karen

    Doodles & Karen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    The dentist had me fast Leo overnight before the consult in case of same day procedure....not just 4 hours. However that's what I'm assuming for the reason they said that. We indeed did do the procedure same day.

    - Question...are you prepared to do a same day procedure if that is their intent? Usually it's a cleaning until they go under and x-rays are taken. Then they call if extractions are needed. 1st cleaning/2 extractions was $970.00, second cleaning/ 8 extractions was $1,933.00 and the FME was $3000.00. I believe just a cleaning there was $900.00 but they gave me a discount knowing we'd be back . Dental specialists are not cheap which is why I'm asking if you're prepared to do anything tomorrow and could a difference in your dosing decision and fasting

    - She's been pretty safe on this dose since the reduction and actually looks like an increase to 6u is coming depending on what Olive thinks. Of course not until after your road trip tomorrow. I'm an advocate of just skipping and calling it a FS if needed. Once cycle of with out is not going to hurt her and then you don't have to worry. The alternative is a 1/2 dose. If you're not planning to do any procedure tomorrow, no fasting is needed and you could probably give the full dose.

    Just my 2 cents.
     
  4. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    I didn't think they would do anything but exam her tomorrow. Been leaning towards no shot tomorrow as it would just be easier than adjusting times and meals. I'm prepared for some procedures like cleaning or even 1 or 2 extractions if needed. Not mentally prepared for more or the cost. But that's why I have charge cards and cat bank account. I guess I better also prepare to spend the day there. I certainly won't have the funds to hit the nearby casino to wait it out.
     
    Judy and Boomer likes this.
  5. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    It sounds like skipping may be the best thing. Sending prayers everything goes well tomorrow.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page