? 6/28 Boo AMPS=73 No AM shot. +8=310; +10=331; +11=317; PMPS=321; +5=220; +9=193; +10=198

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have to leave for work, but below is from the sticky on shooting and handling low numbers. Consider if you'll be home to monitor today and if you have plenty of supplies. Sorry I can't be more help right now.

Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
** 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
  • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
  • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
    • --- Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.

Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.
 
It's almost an hour past normal shot time. She is now down to 61. No food. No shot. And so far, no rising. Now regretting the increase and second guessing the decision.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-184-3-189-5-193-7-5-198-pmps-211-288.159687/
here is my condo where i had problem with shooting (what I thought) low number. It was higher than Boo s. Maybe you can find some useful information. I have problems with low numbers at the end/beginning of the cycle but she allways went up after AMPS/PMPS except today when she went up at +2.
Acctually Boo is pretty flat last hour. If she eats I would give her food first and than shot. If i think Tačka is too low at AMPS/PMPS I give her small amount of MC beside usual LC food. But you must decide.
 
30 minutes later and still at 61.
Thank you for the condo links. I'll start reading and see if I can glean any info from them.
 
I am quite new at this situation as you see (anyway I am not scared to shoot low numbers if she feels good anymore) but I will be here if you will need help. If you will shot her you will need to test her frequently today so you need a lot of supplies and HC food and honey (Just in case)
 
No food. No shot. I'm trying to figure out how to manage this on a work day. I can work from home for part of it, but will need to go to the office at some point today. Only 15 minutes away, but still away. Hopefully my boss will once again understand that Boo is more important than my career. :rolleyes:
 
He's staying pretty flat right now, but if you have to go to work, you may need to skip the shot. If you shoot, you'll need to be able to test at +1 and +2 and then maybe feed the curve to keep him surfing. It may be best to skip to keep him safe.
 
You are allready 2 hours of schedule? Am I right? You must consider about that. You can go back only 30min a day. 15 on a cycle. So it will take time before you will be back on schedule. What about 2*18?
 
A lot of times when you shoot low, the cat will surf and not drop really low. Today may not be a good day to try if you have to work.
 
Sorry Jane I have one silly question for Carla: Can you go on 2*17 in this case? If you wanna be back on schedule and you are allready at +14?
 
2*18 means that you shot at +18 instead +12 and than you have 2 18 hours cycles and tomorrow you are back on schedule.
But if you must go to work I agree with Carla it is probably best thing to feed her, skip shot and test just before you go.
 
What time do you have to leave for work? How many hours after shot time?

I think Sara means an 18 hour shot cycle, but it you may not be able to if you have to work. You'd need to shoot at +18 (what would be +6 today if you shot this morning) and then skip tonight's shot and get back on track tomorrow morning (the next 18 hours).
 
Ok. I'll skip. Tonight, should I do the same dose that landed us here this morning or go back to the 1.0 unit that appeared to be keeping her too high?
 
If I'm not going to shoot, why test again in 30? Are we concerned that she will drop below 50?
The depot from last night can still affect today's cycle. She should be okay if you skip, but it's just an extra precaution to make sure. If you leave extra food out, she should be fine.
 
Yes you did ;)

I think It would be best if you post question about the dose hour or two before PMPS and we will consider together ;)

Will do. As for leaving food out. I hate to leave raw food out all day. I don't have any small frozen portions to leave out for a slow thaw. I'll figure something out.
 
I'm not really sure how to record the 20 min. tests. You can put them in the first cell where you would put the +1 and put commas between each test. Maybe like 76 @ +20 min., 68 @ +1, etc.
 
I'm at work now. I'm sure Boo was glad to see me go. From all of the ear pricks and injections she has endured since she came to live with me 6 months ago, she really hates me. :( I'll go home in a couple of hours to check on her and may end up staying home for the afternoon.

Thank you all for your advise this morning! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I'll get back in touch later today as we approach the PM shot time.
 
I'm about 1.5 hours away from needing to give Boo her PM dose. Don't know whether to try that 1.25 again, or step back to 1.0 Any thoughts?
 
@Gill & George i see you are here (you are only one i know) Can you help please. Should Jane and Boo stay on same dose or decrease. Jane is working so she cant test all the time. Boo (a girl) was too low at AMPS and even 2 hours later today so Carla (and i) sugested to skip dose because Jane had to go to work. But now we dont know what to do.
 
Last edited:
If you are following TR, Boo's numbers did not drop into dose reduction territory -- they would have had to drop below 50. Thus, you should shoot 1.25u.

Also, it's very helpful if you're asking for help with dosing that your SS is up to date.

 
I would have shot that 73 this morning if she had been on the rise, but the fact that she was still dropping is what stopped me. Of all the days for this to happen, it had to be a day when I just couldn't stay home from work. I'll have the same problem for the next couple of days too. Later in the week, Thursday thru Monday, I'm not working and can monitor all but a couple of hours here and there because of Dr. appointments.
 
Hi there,
I haven't visited before :bighug:

Just been looking back through your condos.

Looking at the ss I don't see any Numbers below 50 today so I would hold the dose.

There's no way of knowing what would have happened if you would have shot, boo may well have surfed often when we shoot low we get a nice flat cycle. Though skipping is a good choice if you are not able to monitor. No doubt you will get another chance to shoot low.


He will let you know soon enough if he wants a reduction.
 
No it should be ok. I was little bit confused for a second because in Slovenia is 29.06.2016 allready. But I think everything is ok.
 
I could have sworn the pink numbers weren't there. I'm just a little tired. Sorry.

Don't beat up on yourself over not having shot this morning. If you've noticed, any time someone asks about shooting low, we always ask if you have the necessary supplies and whether you'll be home to monitor. If you can't keep an eye on your cat, then the best thing to do is opt for the safest route and that's exactly what you did.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top