? 6/7 DIFFICULT SITUATION. 6/7 HUMAN METER +7 93, +8 83, +9 LOW, +10 102

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and TiTi

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...3-164-so-15-5-insl-8-272.159058/#post-1695930


DUNNO I THIS IS A 911 OR NOT:

ok. I have a small headache. at +9 I got a LOW on my MAX. means 20 or below? 2 1/2 mls pure organic honey, not in food, straight from syringe, 1/2 can of FF, and 100mls lactated ringer subq, I got a new reading BG 102, at +10.


Wondering if the drop is due to fancy feast. Well, also she had no food for 5 hours.

I am going to recheck her in 30 minutes. See if the drop continues.

Ok. TiTi has had no access to dry food for 24 hours now. She just ate 2/3rds of a can of Fancy Feast.

As I understand it, the insulin takes about 2 hours to start to register? So I'm following her closely today. According to yesterday's numbers, she will continue to go up, but this is her first 24 hours period with no dry food, so I am unsure the rise will continue.
 
Last edited:
That's quite a drop, hopefully she will be rising in 30min.

Are you going to be around this morning?

I work from home. Going to recheck her at 12:40 pm, and then , based on that, continue to check her. Yesterday her numbers rose continuously until early morn.
 
I see from your ss that you shot that 98.

How many hours is 12.40 from her shot?

I would get a +1 in and see what that tells you.
Great that you will be home to check.
She seems to be clearing that bounce from last night, she might be on her way up already, or she may not have finished dropping the +1 will give you that info.
 
I see from your ss that you shot that 98.

How many hours is 12.40 from her shot?

I would get a +1 in and see what that tells you.
Great that you will be home to check.
She seems to be clearing that bounce from last night, she might be on her way up already, or she may not have finished dropping the +1 will give you that info.

Well, not very much up. given the margin of error, but matches yesterday..
I don't think I could do this, if I did not work from home.
Very glad you're here on line now.
 
I'm really wondering if that meter coding was an issue with your meter. I'm definitely seeing a change and while it could be the insulin and she finally hitting a better dose......I think it is too coincidental with the meter coding issue. In that case, we might need to take the dose down a bit more but let's see how she does today.

Do you have a high carb food with gravy such as FF gravy lovers and some karo, syrup, or honey?
 
Fancy feast pate , and Friskies pate are all I have. I have honey, and I read the protocol.
So far she's doing better than I've seen for a while.
I have a feeling that the change to FF might have a lot to do with it. Also, the 98 is the 1st time I can say with assurance that this is a fasting result.
I checked the meter yesterday, or the day before, and it was within range.

It's close to 3pm now. The insulin should be kicking in. I'm going to retest.
 
Kathy:

When you refer to the time you're testing, can you refer to it in +time numbers. The members here are from all over the world. 3PM is meaningless if someone is in Australia or Europe and you're in the US. 3PM also doesn't tell us where the numbers fall in relation to when you shot. Telling us that TiTi was 123 at +1 tells us a great deal more.
 
Fancy feast pate , and Friskies pate are all I have. I have honey, and I read the protocol.
So far she's doing better than I've seen for a while.
I have a feeling that the change to FF might have a lot to do with it. Also, the 98 is the 1st time I can say with assurance that this is a fasting result.
I checked the meter yesterday, or the day before, and it was within range.

It's close to 3pm now. The insulin should be kicking in. I'm going to retest.
Okay. BG 80 at 3pm. In both FF and Frisk, protein is a "guaranteed minimum of 11%."
 
I would strongly encourage you to give TiTi some HC food. That's way too low on an AT meter at +3 especially for a cat with a depot the size of TiTi's. You are very likely going to have to work very hard to keep his numbers up given that you shot a dropping number.
 
That +3 is quite low so early in the cycle and with that bounce clearing, I think you need to monitor closely and give some HC food especially given that Titi is a high dose kitty. If you haven't got HC then add some honey/syrup to the LC.
 
I would strongly encourage you to give TiTi some HC food. That's way too low on an AT meter at +3 especially for a cat with a depot the size of TiTi's. You are very likely going to have to work very hard to keep his numbers up given that you shot a dropping number.

I gave her honey mixed with water. Retest soon. She is normal in appearance and behavior so far. Yesterday her pattern was low and then a rise. And in th AT2, my understanding was 60's was danger point.
Now she'll probably go for some FF .
 
That +3 is quite low so early in the cycle and with that bounce clearing, I think you need to monitor closely and give some HC food especially given that Titi is a high dose kitty. If you haven't got HC then add some honey/syrup to the LC.
Is FF low or high caloric?
 
And in th AT2, my understanding was 60's
That is correct, but you also need to consider where she is in her cycle.

So 80 late on in the cycle say at +8 for example may not worry us as much as 80 at +3. Why? Well +8 the effect of the insulin is starting to wear off, whereas at +3 you haven't reached the full effect of the insulin yet, you are just about at onset and peak insulin will be around the +5/+6 mark.

In addition to that considering that the amps was falling and that Titi was clearing a bounce it could well make her numbers plummet. So rather than waiting for that to happen it is best to get some HC in early to try and slow it down before it really gets going.

Otherwise it can be like trying to stop a speeding train.
 
That is correct, but you also need to consider where she is in her cycle.

So 80 late on in the cycle say at +8 for example may not worry us as much as 80 at +3. Why? Well +8 the effect of the insulin is starting to wear off, whereas at +3 you haven't reached the full effect of the insulin yet, you are just about at onset and peak insulin will be around the +5/+6 mark.

In addition to that considering that the amps was falling and that Titi was clearing a bounce it could well make her numbers plummet. So rather than waiting for that to happen it is best to get some HC in early to try and slow it down before it really gets going.

Otherwise it can be like trying to stop a speeding train.

Makes sense.
How about cheese? She likes cheese a lot.

SHe just ate half a can of FF turky and giblets.
Dunno if she wold eat sardines packed in oil, but I have them.
I'm retesting at +4 and or +5.
 
It's not so much calories as carbs/sugars that you need to be able to get her numbers to come up.

So I would stick to the honey/syrup and you can mix it in with her regular food.
Try not to overfill her as you may need her to eat consistently for some time.
 
It's not so much calories as carbs/sugars that you need to be able to get her numbers to come up.

So I would stick to the honey/syrup and you can mix it in with her regular food.
Try not to overfill her as you may need her to eat consistently for some time.

+1 123, +3 80
3mls of half honey, half water, and FF turkey and gravy.
 
+4 156
Gave her 2ml half honey/half water. Used syringe.
Administered 100ml subq lactated ringer. Figured keeping her electrolyte balanced might help. and it keeps her tummy empty, so she'll eat more
 
You probably didn't need to give the honey with the 156, but don't worry about that now.
Get a test in at +5,
If she is still over 100 I would not give any food at that point and test again at +6.

Because the carbs can wear off, once they are in a safe range it's a good idea to confirm that their BG is staying in safe numbers without any help from extra carbs. Once they are staying in good numbers for two hours without food it usually means the drop is over. But up until that point the numbers can bobble about when the honey wears off.
 
You probably didn't need to give the honey with the 156, but don't worry about that now.
Get a test in at +5,
If she is still over 100 I would not give any food at that point and test again at +6.

Because the carbs can wear off, once they are in a safe range it's a good idea to confirm that their BG is staying in safe numbers without any help from extra carbs. Once they are staying in good numbers for two hours without food it usually means the drop is over. But up until that point the numbers can bobble about when the honey wears off.

Yes, I just read that in a sticky. With humans, sugars generally give a high, but then quickly wear off. I assume it is the same for cats?That is a concern.
 
Yes it can be true in cats, but no need to worry, just keep on testing and you will be able to take action to keep her safe.:)
 
All good, I would not feed now and check again at +6 to see if she is staying up of her own accord.

Night Night Kathy, it's gone midnight here so I'm off to bed, but I have sent a message out to some other members who will be stopping by just in case you need them.
 
Hi Kathy,

It's midnight for Gill in Spain and I'm just home from work, so I'll keep checking on you today.

One thought - stick with honey and the gravy or cat food. Don't dilute the honey - you want full strength if you need to use it. You don't need it now, however. For now, just hold off on food.

For now, would you recheck in another hour please? I'll watch for you to post.

Also, is that ketones measurement taken using urine or on a blood meter?
 
Hi Kathy,

It's midnight for Gill in Spain and I'm just home from work, so I'll keep checking on you today.

One thought - stick with honey and the gravy or cat food. Don't dilute the honey - you want full strength if you need to use it. You don't need it now, however. For now, just hold off on food.

For now, would you recheck in another hour please? I'll watch for you to post.

Also, is that ketones measurement taken using urine or on a blood meter?

Hi, Julie. Gil was great. Calm, firm, so, I did not panic at all. Actually I never panic when things get rough. Later, well, then I feel very very tired.

Ketones measurement was taken from a blood meter. A MAX, that checks both glucose and ketones.

Okay no dilution of honey. Time for +6 check.
 
Hi, Julie. Gil was great. Calm, firm, so, I did not panic at all. Actually I never panic when things get rough. Later, well, then I feel very very tired.

Ketones measurement was taken from a blood meter. A MAX, that checks both glucose and ketones.

Okay no dilution of honey. Time for +6 check.

I just ran out of AT2 strips. This reading is from a human meter, the MAX. I don't know what it means in regard to the AT2 readings.

BG 93
 
I just ran out of AT2 strips. This reading is from a human meter, the MAX. I don't know what it means in regard to the AT2 readings.

BG 93

t
I'm guessing it's more like +6.5 if you shot on the half hour.

@Gill & George is awesome, isn't she!?

She is! uhm, yes, I think that's correct, so a lower number is less alarming, because we are on the down-swing of the depot? But since she has such a high depot, more concern for the next 2 cycles is indicated. Is that correct?

Now where does this 93 stand, when compared to her AT2 numbers?
 
You can't really compare them. The two meters are like apples and oranges. We'll just look at this 93 as a stand-alone number.

Nice job on putting the "human meter" notation in the spreadsheet. Just saw it pop up there.

I'm trying to decide when you should test again. If you can stand it, I'd like to see at least one more test in an hour to see how she's doing. Especially now with the switch to the new glucometer, it would be good to know if she is holding flat or dropping. Can you do that?
 
Do you have another test yet? I just want to make sure she isn't wobbling around and her blood sugar isn't dropping back down.
YES, 93 ON A HUMAN METER, the MAX METER.

I guess you did not get my other message.

I have no idea what this human meter measurement, 93, means in relation to the AT2 meter.
 
You can't really compare them. The two meters are like apples and oranges. We'll just look at this 93 as a stand-alone number.

Nice job on putting the "human meter" notation in the spreadsheet. Just saw it pop up there.

I'm trying to decide when you should test again. If you can stand it, I'd like to see at least one more test in an hour to see how she's doing. Especially now with the switch to the new glucometer, it would be good to know if she is holding flat or dropping. Can you do that?

Sure I can.

Should I feed her now? And how much honey, if any?
 
Sorry, I thought I'd answered but I should've quoted you. I had to grab dinner.
YES, 93 ON A HUMAN METER, the MAX METER.

I guess you did not get my other message.

I have no idea what this human meter measurement, 93, means in relation to the AT2 meter.

You can't really compare them. The two meters are like apples and oranges. We'll just look at this 93 as a stand-alone number.

You don't need to give any honey at this point. Now that you're using a human meter, the reduction point if you are following Tight Reg, now that the dry food is gone, is going to be 50. So above 50, unless she's dropping really fast and you want to slow her down, you don't need to feed honey.

So for now, just get another test, one hour after the 93 on the human meter and we'll see how to go from there.

Just saw your new post. 83 is ok. Let's see another test in another hour. Sorry to keep you testing so much but we've got a changing situation. She isn't eating dry food now and the coding issue has been worked out. I just want to keep her safe.
 
Is she hungry? If she's hungry you could give her a couple of teaspoons of her regular low carb canned food now.

ok. I have a small headache. at 10:38 I got a LOW on my MAX. means 20 or below? 2 1/2 mls pure organic honey, not in food, straight from syringe, 1/2 can of FF, and 100mls lactated ringer subq, I got a new reading BG 102, at 11pm.
 
Hi there :cool:

102 is good.

If you ever see LOW again the first thing you want to do is re-test immediately to verify if it is true or a bad strip.
 
Last edited:
Hi there :cool:

102 is good.

If you ever see LOW again the first thing you want to do is re-test immediately.

I hope to never see LOW again, Thanks so much for answering.
Oh. Like maybe a contaminated strip?
This has been all day fighting off low numbers. I probably should have, but I thought getting her sugar levels up, and protecting her electrolyte level took precedence. I have another meter. I think I'll use it next.
 
Would you stick with the meter you've just started using please? I don't think there is something wrong with your meter. Once in a while a strip is bad - or she could've really been low. We have enough changes going on without adding another new meter to the mix.

Sandy & I and some others are talking about her dose right now. Please don't shoot yet.
 
Would you stick with the meter you've just started using please? I don't think there is something wrong with your meter. Once in a while a strip is bad - or she could've really been low. We have enough changes going on without adding another new meter to the mix.

Sandy & I and some others are talking about her dose right now. Please don't shoot yet.

Hell's afire. NO WAY
 
Ah, ok. Then DO switch over to the Bayer Contour. Save that Nova Max meter and strips for when you need to test for ketones. Don't use it for regular glucose testing unless you don't have another option. Sorry I didn't realize that was what you were using. Those strips are more expensive than regular glucose-only strips.

Set that one aside and use the Bayer Contour now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top