? 6/9 TiTi's numbers PMPS +3 159, AMPS 114, +4 100, +5 93 , +6 111, + 10 89., PMPS 105, +1 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and TiTi

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-280-6-238-10-211-11-233.159167/#post-1697467

Last night her number seemed fine, but after scarfing down almost a whole can of Friskies around late afternoon, she had no appetite at 8pm. She was also licking her chops which is, for her, a sign of nausea, a dry mouth, or mouth pain.

So I gave her 100ml lactose ringers subq, and a 1/2 half dose of Mirtrazapine. 1 hour later she was eating well, and still is this morning - expected because that med lasts for half a week. However, I am thinking to vet her to check out her left maxilla teeth , where she had a severe infection a few weeks ago.

I am wondering what these low numbers mean? The AMPS was taken after fasting all night.
 
It looks like TiTi is getting use to the lower numbers. I'd get a +1 & a +2 and be prepared to monitor today. Did you shoot last night? There's nothing in the Unit column on your SS.
 
The lower than usual numbers may mean that this dose is a good dose for TiTi, but we will need to see how she get's on in this cycle.

These blue numbers are good Kathy, much healthier for her.

With the 114 being lower than the +3 you got in the before bed test I am wondering if that 114 is her dropping at the end of the cycle, or whether she was coming up because she went lower some time in the night.

Get a +1
  • If it is the same or lower then you know that this is going to be an active cycle, and you may need to feed her to keep her numbers up, and monitor her more closely.
  • If on the other hand her number is showing a significant food spike then we can relax a bit, you may still want to monitor, but you won't need to be as vigilant.
 
The lower than usual numbers may mean that this dose is a good dose for TiTi, but we will need to see how she get's on in this cycle.

These blue numbers are good Kathy, much healthier for her.

With the 114 being lower than the +3 you got in the before bed test I am wondering if that 114 is her dropping at the end of the cycle, or whether she was coming up because she went lower some time in the night.

Get a +1
  • If it is the same or lower then you know that this is going to be an active cycle, and you may need to feed her to keep her numbers up, and monitor her more closely.
  • If on the other hand her number is showing a significant food spike then we can relax a bit, you may still want to monitor, but you won't need to be as vigilant.

+4 is 100, and the AMPS was after fasting. The +4 is about 2 hours after scarfing down a whole lot of food.
It looks like TiTi is getting use to the lower numbers. I'd get a +1 & a +2 and be prepared to monitor today. Did you shoot last night? There's nothing in the Unit column on your SS.

I shot AMPS, and bedtime, but I was sort of woozy from the day and night and half day before, so I just fell asleep. Entered them today
Afraid it's going to be a long day of monitoring. Would not be so bad, but this Contour Next requires a lot of blood and I usually need to lance TITi twice or even 3 times, and then I use up 2 to 3 strips. Bad for her ear, and takes time.
 
+4 is 100, and the AMPS was after fasting. The +4 is about 2 hours after scarfing down a whole lot of food.


I shot AMPS, and bedtime, but I was sort of woozy from the day and night and half day before, so I just fell asleep. Entered them today
Afraid it's going to be a long day of monitoring. Would not be so bad, but this Contour Next requires a lot of blood and I usually need to lance TITi twice or even 3 times, and then I use up 2 to 3 strips. Bad for her ear, and takes time.
 
Is the +3 of 159 today? It would be helpful to update your subject line to AMPS 114, +3 159, +4 100 etc. It's always OK to give some LC to keep Titi surfing and of course HC if below 50.
 
Is the +3 of 159 today? It would be helpful to update your subject line to AMPS 114, +3 159, +4 100 etc. It's always OK to give some LC to keep Titi surfing and of course HC if below 50.
the 153 is from last night. I am still confused about how to do the titles when dealing with early morning hours. The SS day begins with AMPS, so no way to do early morning hours in the title
 
Ok so you could put PMPS +3 159 AMPS 114 +4 100. At this point I'd just leave the reading from last night out as most will open your SS and see it. The reason it's good to keep the title updated is so we can scan and if there is a low number it grabs attention. Does this make sense? I don't mean to be picky or stress you out :)
 
This is not stresss - this is helpful

Stress is not knowing , "Where should I put this danged thing, so people can see and understand it in contest?"
Knowing how and where to put it, relieves stress. Especially when I am tired.

i always update the title, since someone said it makes it easier to help, if one can glance at the title and see exactly what is going on.
Should I be testing hourly now?
 
Sorry Kathy,
Had to nip out with my dogs, that +4 is nice.:cool::cool: she appears to be staying flat.

Good job feeding her some LC as Karen says giving LC to help them surf is a good idea.

I'm sorry you are still suffering from the exhaustion from the other day. :bighug::bighug:
You would probably be ok to test again at +6, but because we don't know TiTi patterns yet, I would be tempted to get a +5 which I am guessing would be round about now.

I am not going to be around for much longer this evening, nearly 11pm hear:)

Hopefully some of the others will be around.:):bighug::bighug:
 
oh. OK. Well, TiTi,who ate a lot just now, is at +5 93. How should I handle this?
Ok Titi is staying flat which is good. Have you fed him recently? If not that's OK just curious. 2 days ago @ +9 you got that LOW reading. I think you might give a little LC if you haven't recently and then check at +7 to give you and Titi a break.

Your title looks good! Just keep that updated as you test...we'll be watching.
 
Ok Titi is staying flat which is good. Have you fed him recently? If not that's OK just curious. 2 days ago @ +9 you got that LOW reading. I think you might give a little LC if you haven't recently and then check at +7 to give you and Titi a break.

Your title looks good! Just keep that updated as you test...we'll be watching.
Yes, she ate a bunch right before the last test. I was a bit alarmed by the 93, but you are right, she's staying pretty flat. I guess after the other day, night, and day, I am sort of jumpy.

I need to complete some work at this point, but a nap sounds good , too.
 
Yes, she ate a bunch right before the last test. I was a bit alarmed by the 93, but you are right, she's staying pretty flat. I guess after the other day, night, and day, I am sort of jumpy.

I need to complete some work at this point, but a nap sounds good , too.
After a year plus I still get jumpy. Good you fed her (sorry about the "he" reference :banghead:) If you nap please set an alarm.
 
okay. +6 111

Eating well, happy as a clam. Well it must feel great to be out of those miserable high numbers. Go TiTi.
I am pretty impressed by what's happening since she stopped eating dried food.
 
okay. +6 111

Eating well, happy as a clam. Well it must feel great to be out of those miserable high numbers. Go TiTi.
I am pretty impressed by what's happening since she stopped eating dried food.

Great! Nice surfing. It is amazing what can happen when dry is removed. I'll be around here and there but a little less later on. Are you OK?
 
I would get a +9 next. Are you planning to shoot 13u at PMPS? Are you able to test tonight if needed? I'm not sure if you're following SLGS or TR.
 
SLGS
I can wait that long?
Yes, unless she starts to go down again. In fact I'll need to check in at PMPS to be sure. I don't have the knowledge y'all have. I'm feeling extremely careful.
Is it possible her nadir is somewhere around the numbers we're seeing?

I also intend to do a post PMPS, right before I go to bed.
 
I can wait that long?
Well probably better to keep testing especially being high dose and newer territory. If she goes below 90 you'll need to reduce. The question is to what. Be sure to keep posting and hopefully more eyes will be around soon. When is the last time you fed her something?
 
93 is a great number - in green, which is a healthy range for her body, but not too low. I think for the moment this dose is looking pretty good.
 
That's good to know. Well I'm about ready for a calm good period.
TiTi seems back to her old self from 2 years ago. She's started talking a lot, which was always her norm, and she's back to being very very active.
I think she's got some Siamese in her.
He pee is normal, her water drinking normal, it's great to see, not to mention that normal pee is gonna save ,me about 100 buck/month. Easier on my back, too.
So should I test hourly right up to PMPS, or can I skip one, or should I try one test at fasting, just to be safe?
 
I'm thinking you're close to +11 now, aren't you? I think I'd just wait til pmps to test again. You can always test sooner - it's very easy to get addicted to having the information. But realistically, you probably don't need to test again til shot time.
 
I'm thinking you're close to +11 now, aren't you? I think I'd just wait til pmps to test again. You can always test sooner - it's very easy to get addicted to having the information. But realistically, you probably don't need to test again til shot time.

I'm thinking you're close to +11 now, aren't you? I think I'd just wait til pmps to test again. You can always test sooner - it's very easy to get addicted to having the information. But realistically, you probably don't need to test again til shot time.

Oooo. Well, I just tested, fasting: +10 89
 
Last edited:
Oooo. Well, I just tested, fasting: +9 89

No. . 10:50am today
2 factors
6/8 I overslept right past 2 alarms, so I need to move back 15 minutes each cycle to get back on schedule
6/9 I used up 2 lances and 3 strips. I kept getting, "not enough blood", plus the strip kept going into the meter incorrectly. There's a special timing to the speed at which you insert it.
That ate up another 20 minutes. II slept to 10:30.
 
No. . 10:50am today
2 factors
6/8 I overslept right past 2 alarms, so I need to move back 15 minutes each cycle to get back on schedule
6/9 I used up 2 lances and 3 strips. I kept getting, "not enough blood", plus the strip kept going into the meter incorrectly. There's a special timing to the speed at which you insert it.
That ate up another 20 minutes. II slept to 10:30.

TIsn't an hour late in shooting like reducing my dose? Maybe my real dose is lower than 13 units?
 
TIsn't an hour late in shooting like reducing my dose? Maybe my real dose is lower than 13 units?
I wouldn't worry about that.

Thanks for explaining the shot times - it's amazing how easily the time creeps by when you're trying to test and shoot sometimes, especially if things go wrong.

So you're shooting in another hour. Be thinking about how low you feel comfortable shooting. He's been very flat today, which is nice, but it also may mean that you're shooting a number lower than you've shot before.
 
I wouldn't worry about that.

Thanks for explaining the shot times - it's amazing how easily the time creeps by when you're trying to test and shoot sometimes, especially if things go wrong.

So you're shooting in another hour. Be thinking about how low you feel comfortable shooting. He's been very flat today, which is nice, but it also may mean that you're shooting a number lower than you've shot before.

Well that's exactly my dilemma right now. I think maybe TiTi is doing so well, because the time delay decreased her dose. Seems like 13 U is not a great idea.
Considering that she was at a decreased dose today, what should a similarly decreased dose be tonight? Have you any idea what the evening shoot shoul\d be?
 
The amount of the "decrease" in the dose is because when a shot is later than 12 hours, the overlap between the ending of one shot and the beginning of the effectiveness in the next shot is less than it would've been. One is wearing off and the other hasn't begun to work yet.

It's not something we can measure and I wouldn't exactly call that a dose decrease.

If you shot 13u this morning, that's her dose. It may be too much because the dry food has gone away. We also have the issue of the different meters and the vet tech's error on the coding of the AT earlier.

If she's green at pmps, it might not be a bad idea to skip the shot again tonight and regroup tomorrow morning with a slightly lower dose so you're able to give it every 12 hours without having to skip.
 
I'm scared to skip. Scared to shoot. Won't she start bouncing if I skip the shot tonight?

On the other hand, I haven't got it in me to be upanother 24 hours of monitoring a too high shoot. I'm way tired.
 
You can look at what happened with your last skip and assume something similar will happen if you skip again.

If you really don't want to skip, you could give a significantly reduced dose, say something like 5u. However, that doesn't guarantee that you won't have low numbers tonight. I can't stay up with you to monitor that tonight. There are usually people online, but not always.

It's up to you, of course, as always.
 
You can look at what happened with your last skip and assume something similar will happen if you skip again.

If you really don't want to skip, you could give a significantly reduced dose, say something like 5u. However, that doesn't guarantee that you won't have low numbers tonight. I can't stay up with you to monitor that tonight. There are usually people online, but not always.

It's up to you, of course, as always.
105 at PMPS
Safe to shoot?
 
When did she last eat? how much?

Typically you don't want to feed a cat within at least the 2 hours prior to the shot because it can raise the blood sugar. When the food carbs wear off, the numbers may drop.
 
I was also thinking a half dose so 5u or 6u. But you still need to monitor because she's got such a large depot.

However, neither Julie nor I can stay up so you might want to consider whether you want to just skip.
 
Kathy, it doesn't have an amount in the dose column for last night. Did she get 13u then? Can you put whatever dose she got into that cell, please.

Oh ok, so she didn't just now eat.

If you shoot, you have to be prepared to monitor tonight. Do you have plenty of strips, high carb supplies and can you stay up? I can't stay with you - I was going to get offline a while ago.

I see Marje just posted. You could try the 5 or 6u - but if you shoot you still have to monitor until you're confident she won't head into low numbers.
 
I was also thinking a half dose so 5u or 6u. But you still need to monitor because she's got such a large depot.

However, neither Julie nor I can stay up so you might want to consider whether you want to just skip.

I thought the depot was ok by now.
I don't know if I can make it thru another one either.
 
It's up to you - if you'd worked up to this dose I'd be yelling SHOOOOOT. But I feel some uncertainty because of all the issues in the past few days and don't feel completely confident this dose is good. If this were a morning shot, I'd also be yelling SHOOOOOT, but you haven't dealt with low numbers before and it's late at night.

That's the reason for my uncertainty about shooting the regular dose. Her numbers are fantastic today. If you shot the 13u she might just continue on just like she did this morning. There's just no way to know for certain.
 
Kathy, it doesn't have an amount in the dose column for last night. Did she get 13u then? Can you put whatever dose she got into that cell, please.

Oh ok, so she didn't just now eat.

If you shoot, you have to be prepared to monitor tonight. Do you have plenty of strips, high carb supplies and can you stay up? I can't stay with you - I was going to get offline a while ago.

I see Marje just posted. You could try the 5 or 6u - but if you shoot you still have to monitor until you're confident she won't head into low numbers.

I have 20 strips, the honey, and pate wet food,
 
It's up to you - if you'd worked up to this dose I'd be yelling SHOOOOOT. But I feel some uncertainty because of all the issues in the past few days and don't feel completely confident this dose is good. If this were a morning shot, I'd also be yelling SHOOOOOT, but you haven't dealt with low numbers before and it's late at night.

That's the reason for my uncertainty about shooting the regular dose. Her numbers are fantastic today. If you shot the 13u she might just continue on just like she did this morning. There's just no way to know for certain.


So the depot from my shot error is still at work?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top